We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay in NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Ranked #81 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Torrance, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my stay in NYC”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The Hotel was nice and location was great. Quite expensive but I guess that's NYC.
Just wanted to put in a good word for Dwayne, the concierge who helped my wife and I order a birthday cake for my brother from Crumbs bakery. He was very helpful and very nice.

Pillows could be a little better. They're too soft.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philfourthirteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKwon, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear philfourthirteen,

Thank you for the review! I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am also thrilled to hear that our Concierge, Dwayne, was able to help your wife order a birthday cake for your brother. I hope the birthday celebration went well while you were in NYC. I will pass along your generous words to him.

Our goal is to provide exceptional service to each guest and a perfect FIVE STARS stay. Please reach out to me directly should your travels return to NYC as I will personally ensure that your stay will be perfect. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Andrew Kwon
Front Office Manager
Hilton Garden Inn New York / West 35th Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,011
    1,637
    322
    66
    52
See reviews for
1,362
1,578
346
904
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,008)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville,Fl., United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I'm not sure of nyc rating system. By some "experts" this hotel was only given a 2 or 3 star ranking. Boy were they WRONG. I would stay there despite the number of hotels in the area. Everything was superb!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank Julian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKwon, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Julian M,

Thank you for the great review! It was a pleasure having you with us. I am delighted to hear that you had a perfect FIVE STAR stay. We take great pride in providing a perfect experience and I am happy that we were able to achieve that with you.

We sincerely appreciate your wonderful feedback and thank you for choosing us for your lodging needs. Please reach out to me directly should your travels return to New York City as I will personally ensure that your stay will be perfect again. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Andrew Kwon
Front Office Manager
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My first time staying at a Hilton Garden Inn, but certainly won't be my last. The room was clean and more spacious than I expected considering this is Manhattan !

The in-room coffee making facilities were great, but not as nice as the one in the lobby :-)

Overall no complaints at all :-)

Room Tip: Pay extra for the city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HatNailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKwon, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Michael S,

Thank you for excellent review! I am delighted to hear that the room was clean and spacious to your satisfaction. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed our in-room Keurig coffee machines.

Our goal is to provide a perfect FIVE STAR experience for every guest and I am glad that we were able to achieve that with you. Thank you for being our guest and choosing us when travelling to NYC.

Please reach out to me directly should your travels return to NYC as I will personally ensure that your stay will be perfect as your last. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Andrew Kwon
Front Office Manager
Hilton Garden Inn New York/ West 35th Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is a great hotel my stay is nothing less than fantastic; From the first sit in to the hotel I received the best service from the door man asking if I need any help with my bag and by being a personal guide to help you navigate through the hotel. The front desk attended Dajuan catered to my ever need and made me feel like I was the most important visitor, He was "great". It was hard for me to believe that he is like this all the time but I have been watching him for the past few day and he treats all of the customers this way, he greets with a smile, binds over backwards to ensure complete satisfaction, and as you come in contact with him throughout the day he ask if you need anything. I will come to this hotel every time I come to NYC.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Plainfield, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed here again, and would stay here forever if I could. The two of us stayed on the 31st floor last time and had a great view of the city. This time we stayed on the 24th with a view of the biggest and the most beautiful nightlight, the Empire State Building! One night we just laid down in front of the window and fell asleep staring at it. We would recommend this great place to everyone. Alex and the great staff at the desk can make anyone feel at home, while they're away from home. We needed to make a rehearsal at Lincoln Center and we were running late and did not have time to grab something to eat. Luckily the Hilton had their Pavilion pantry Market were we could grab one of their Snack bags that have an apple,yogurt,water, apple juice and a granola bar in it. It was a life saver. We also had a chance to use the Business Ctr.
for work that needed to get done while we were away.Everyone was so helpful and nice. This is the place to stay!

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms offer the best views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoryJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKwon, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear LoryJA,

Thank you for the fabulous review! It was a pleasure to see you again. I am glad that your performance at Lincoln Center went exceptionally well! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your room which was overlooking Empire State Building. I agree that the view is spectacular from there and I would happily fall asleep gazing at it as well.

We sincerely appreciate your gracious feedback about our team, particularly, Alex who made your stay memorable. I will certainly pass along your praise to him. We understand that you have a choice when travelling and we thank you for choosing us to be your home away from home.

Please reach out to me directly should your travels return to NYC as I will personally ensure that your stay will be perfect again. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Andrew Kwon
Front Office Manager
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Recently stayed at this HGI for a weekend getaway and I was very impressed by the conscientious service received. It started with an advance email welcoming us to the hotel, and providing a contact should we have any questions or issues. When making the online reservation, we opted to upgrade to a larger room if available for a bargain price of $15/night. When we arrived at check in time, the room was not ready, and we had to wait a bit less than an hour (which we did in Macy’s just steps away). When we returned, we were greeted with not only a sincere apology, but a free breakfast voucher for two to compensate for the inconvenience (which was actually worth more than the upgrade charge). This accommodating attitude extended to the wait staff in the restaurant, as well as the luggage attendant. Its clear management has established service as a priority here, and it’s always re-assuring (and a great way to build customer loyalty) when an organization does the right thing without having to ask! We were given a spacious (by NYC standards) top floor room with a nice city view. Being a newer property, the overall condition of both the room and common areas is very good, and housekeeping definitely has its act together, as our room was spotlessly clean. The only negative we experienced is some mechanical noise from the elevator (our room was adjacent to the shaft). While it was not enough to be bothersome, it was definitely noticeable and could have been an issue for light sleepers. That aside, overall it was a very positive experience at a competitive price, and I’ll be back on my next trip to NYC.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room away from the elevator shaft
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan339g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKwon, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear dan339g,

Thank you for the great review! It was a pleasure having you with us. I am thrilled to hear that our team was able to provide you with a friendly and attentive service during your stay. I am truly sorry about your experience at check-in but I am happy to hear that our Front Office team was able to compensate you with breakfast for the inconvenience. Furthermore, thank you for bringing the elevator noise to our attention. I have addressed the issue to our Engineering team and we are currently finding solutions to minimize it.

Our goal is to provide a FIVE STAR experience to every guest and I am glad that we were able to achieve that with you. We understand that you have a choice when travelling and we thank you for choosing us to be your home away from home.

Please reach out to me directly should your travels return to NYC as I will personally ensure that your stay will be perfect! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Andrew Kwon
Front Office Manager
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, SC
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

There were mostly positives. First I commend Élan for giving me exactly what I asked for in room location. My five year old is obsessed with the Empire State Building and he gave us a room looking directly at it! Each night my son could see the lights twinkle. It was wonderful. The location is perfect. You are walking distance to so many things and a great central location for the whole area. Also there is a subway entrance right outside the hotel which is nice. Breakfast is good and front desk staff very nice. The maids seem on top of things so the rooms are clean. Of course the rooms aren't big, but no hotel room in New York really is. The only two things I had were first our room key had to be re-keyed five times in three days. Literally. Twice in one day. Just sort of a pain to get to the 29th floor and find out once again it doesn't work. Second the concierge could work on her people skills. Seems knowledgable but isn't as personable as what I normally expect from Hilton. Otherwise a nice stay.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CH0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKwon, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Brannonc,

Thank you for the review! I am delighted to hear that your five year old son enjoyed the Empire State Building view room. Also it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our location as it was easily accessible to your needs and that breakfast met to your satisfaction. In addition it is pleasant to hear that our Front Desk team were friendly and accomodating to your needs.
However, I am truly sorry to hear about your experience with the conceirge and the room keys which were not working properly. We sincerely appreciate your feedback as we continue to improve our guest experience.

Please reach out to me directly should your travels return to New York City as I will personally ensure to pay a special attention to your reservation and provide a perfect FIVE STARS stay. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Andrew Kwon
Front Office Manager
Hilton Garden Inn New York/ West 35th Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#156 of 466 in New York City
6,999 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#110 of 466 in New York City
738 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#168 of 466 in New York City
5,323 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 466 in New York City
11,203 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#70 of 466 in New York City
5,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Address: 63 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001-2202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Business Hotel in New York City
#70 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street 3*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal Midtown location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street was built in 2009 and is perfectly located in Midtown Manhattan just steps from some of New York's best attractions including the Empire State Building, world-famous Macy's at Herald Square, Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping and Madison Square Garden/Penn Station. Located on West 35th Street between 5th and 6th Avenues, this ultra-modern hotel is close to many restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and New York City’s best shopping. The hotel is walking distance to all major subway lines and is convenient to Jacob Javits Convention Center, Port Authority Bus Terminal, Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.The hotel features 298 newly built, contemporary guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include The Great American Grill (located in the hotel lobby and open daily for breakfast), lobby lounge with flat-screen television, evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing