We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in New York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Ranked #82 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in New York”
Reviewed 9 February 2011

We've just come back from 3 nights in a corner cityview room at the Hilton Garden Inn.

The manner of the check-in was professional and the desk staff are extremely friendly. We stayed in room 3009 on the 30th floor. There is a subway right outside the hotel but the hotal is located within easy walking distance of Times Square - via Broadway and the Empire State Building which you can see outside the front of the hotel, over the other buildings!

The room was a good enough size for the 2 of us. It had a separate bathroom with a walkin shower, microwave, fridge and a coffee maker. I made use of the free wi-fi to update my facebook and to keep my friends and family back home updated about our trip.

If you are planning a short trip, like we did, I would recommend creating an itinerary list of locations using the best methods to get there. On the first evening we walked to Times Square. Got the sub (1 line, $2.50 single fare to anywhere) to the ferry port and did liberty and ellis island on the second day. Used the sub (Q line i think) to central park the next day and walked to the Plaza hotel, Waldorf Astoria hotel, Grand Central Station before getting the sub back to Times Square. Please be aware that all subway lines don't necessarily connect so we made sure we went to a relevant station for relevant sub line.

As for round and about the hotel there are a couple of nice Irish bars to the left of the hotel entrance. We went to a diner on 38th street for our breakfasts in the mornings which did serve large portions and tended to eat out all the time. Although you can eat in the hotel we felt this wouldn't be the 'New York' way to do things.

Please get in touch if you have any questions about this hotel or any other facet of my trip.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jas0nLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelyoc, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this review, 14 February 2011
Thank you for sharing your great experience with us and I am so pleased that you enjoyed the 5* stay. I will be so happy to share your comments with our team.

We do so hope to be able to welcome you back on your next visit to NYC.

Regards

Hilda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,015
    1,639
    322
    66
    52
See reviews for
1,365
1,578
346
905
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,008)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, New York
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2011

The location was absolutely perfect and the price was fabulous. We have visited the City numerous times but have never stayed. This, being our first overnight vist was a great experience, sure to be repeated. Check in was quick and easy with cheerful and helpful staff. Our room was perfect - clean- neat- and comfrontable. Great having wireless in the room. Having a fridge and microwave in the room was a saver for sure. I had reviewed the Hilton Garden Inn prior to our visit and folks were right on with their fine reviews. We stayed two nights and filled those days and nights with as much fun as we could; visiting Rockerfeller Ctn, Times Sq, Central Park and St Patricks. All on foot and we enjoyed it. The Empire State Bldg was within "arms" reach. A very short walk to Penn Station and easy to find our train home. Will be sure to book the Hilton Garden Inn on 35th St again when we hope to be able to stay longer. NYC was friendly - the Hilton was great.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nrbqfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelyoc, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this review, 14 February 2011
When I read that we exceeded our guest's expectations that is music to my heart. I am so pleased that you had a 5* experience with your location, the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel. This is our day to day aim for all our guests.

Continue to spread the good news and we hope to see you on your return visit to Manhattan.

Regards

Hilda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2011

really friendly staff !!! we had an overnight flight from San Francisco to NYC and arrived in a really cold and wet morning. When we dropped our bag in the hotel , we asked if we could check in early, the staff who helped us, Ryan, said that the earliest check in would be around 12 and would call us as soon as the room was ready. He called us around 10 am !!!
Thanks a lot Ryan !!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debie_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelyoc, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this review, 14 February 2011
Thank you for your fantastic comments we so appreciate your 5* rating and I know that Ryan is thrilled with your great feedback about the service he provided.

Continue to spread the great news!

Regards

Hilda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

I've stayed at many Hilton properties, including a few Hilton Garden Inns. This hotel really was more than I expected. Everything was perfect. We checked in around 10pm on a Friday night. Check in was seamless and they even gave us a gift bag with two bottles of water. That was a nice touch because I was thirsty! The desk clerks were very helpful. Anything I asked, they had the answer. They were also very polite which was great.

The rooms were very nice as well. The bedding was plush. The room had a nice sized fridge and microwave. They also had Neutrogena products, which I love! Our view wasn't great, but that was all right, not the hotel's fault. I really have no complaints about this hotel whatsoever. I just wish their rate was that low $109 year round in NYC. I love going to visit the city, but due to the cost of most hotels it's nearly impossible at times. This hotel was one of the cheaper ones for January, but definitely one of the best. I stayed at another HGI in Manhattan (Chelsea) and although the hotel wasn't bad, the rooms were tiny and the location really sucked. This HGI was right on point....simply loved it!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miarjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelyoc, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this review, 14 February 2011
What a superb review. I am so delighted that you had a brilliant stay. We really appreciate the 5* feedback. I do so hope that we get an opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to NYC. i will be delighted to share your comments with our front office team.

Regards

Hilda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Stayed Feb 5 for one night. Cannot beat the location. On West 35th St., between 5th and 6th avenues. Closer to 6th ave end of the street. Parking garage directly across from the hotel. Subway less than a minute walk from the hotel entrance. Macy's just across 6th Ave.
Stayed on the 19th floor, two queen beds with a city view. Room size around 300 sq.ft. Very clean. Flat panel TV. Clean bathroom with the usual high quality Hilton amenities. Nice hot water. Room has small fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer, ironing board and iron.
Other family members ended up at hotels in New Jersey and other places in Manhatten. They ended up paying equal to or more than I paid to stay rignt in the middle of Manhatten.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chucklesdodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelyoc, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this review, 14 February 2011
Thank you for your 5* review. We really are glad you enjoyed the room cleanliness and the location of the hotel. Continue to spread the news.

Regards

Hilda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2011

This is a new to the area hotel with recent renovations, It is an excellent choice to stay near MSG, Times Sq or Javits Center. I am a New Yorker who has stayed overnight in NYC for business many times (as well as lived in Manhattan for 2 years) and this hotel is an excellent value.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveaGoodPub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelyoc, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this review, 14 February 2011
Delighted to read that you loved the hotel. Not only are we a new hotel but we are a totally new build also. We agree that we have one of the best locations in Manhattan.

I do hope that you will be a frequent guest at our hotel.

Regards
Hilda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut, USA
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2011

This hotel is located just off the Herald Square with Macy's, so the location is perfect for downtown area. The parking is across the hotel entrance at discounted rate of $35 (which is good one for afternoon arrivals).

The hotel has 6-7 rooms per floor, but quite tall. It has a small front desk area, a business center with free Internet and printers (for fax you need to ask the front desk).

They have a good size restaurant, which is opened for breakfast, but not for a dinner, and a bar. The breakfast is not bad: made-to-order omelet with meats, cheese, tomatoes, peppers, mushrooms; sausages, potatoes as well as pasties, fruits, but sadly no berries. Room service is available.

They have a fitness center, but no pool. The rooms are expectantly small, have very nice shower, bed, LCD TV, and the view is great - you can see Empire State Building right in the front of view. It was also quiet, so I had a good night sleep.

It is good hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOneWhoLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelyoc, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this review, 14 February 2011
Thank you for your great comments and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I have passed along your comments on the berries to our Food and Beverage manager and as soon as we have more berries in season we will add these to our buffet. Thank you for your great feedback and we hope you will return on your next visit to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#155 of 467 in New York City
7,006 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#110 of 467 in New York City
739 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#167 of 467 in New York City
5,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
11,219 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#105 of 467 in New York City
6,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Address: 63 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001-2202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Business Hotel in New York City
#70 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street 3*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal Midtown location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street was built in 2009 and is perfectly located in Midtown Manhattan just steps from some of New York's best attractions including the Empire State Building, world-famous Macy's at Herald Square, Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping and Madison Square Garden/Penn Station. Located on West 35th Street between 5th and 6th Avenues, this ultra-modern hotel is close to many restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and New York City’s best shopping. The hotel is walking distance to all major subway lines and is convenient to Jacob Javits Convention Center, Port Authority Bus Terminal, Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.The hotel features 298 newly built, contemporary guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include The Great American Grill (located in the hotel lobby and open daily for breakfast), lobby lounge with flat-screen television, evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing