We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Incentra Village House
Ranked #17 of 75 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cool”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Just OK place where the location is in fact everything. Apart from that and the staff niceness, rooms are what you would expect for the value, packed with useless stuff, a bit noisy (depending on the room) but spacious and clean. If one can put that aside, location for the value is amazing!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    44
    9
    7
    7
See reviews for
24
45
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This is a very rustic property with lots of charm. The rooms are fine and feels like staying at grandmas! The kitchenettes and bathrooms are fine too.
The positives are the location. West Village is amazing and there is so much on your doorstep. It has such a nice feel compared to midtown. It is also good value when you compare to the rest of New York.
The negatives are the noise from the street, the stairs to get up to the rooms (we were on the top floor) and small rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigOzzieO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

On a recent vacation we made a quick two night side trip into the big city and stayed at Incentra Village House. My last visit was 12 years ago-- Many of the same staff operate the house. The staff went out of there way to be friendly and accommodating. I noticed many upgrades since our last visit and it is apparent that they are taking good care of this Gem. Incentra is in a great location close to 14th St. Subway. We stayed in the Garden Room and were very pleased. The room was clean, well laid out, and equipped with a kitchen, nice bathroom, and a charming outdoor garden area. We really enjoyed being able to walk the neighborhood to many great restaurants, shops, and theaters. We look forward to a future stay at Incentra.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kent0189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I have stayed here 3 times a year for about 10 years. I love this place! The rooms are clean, comfortable and safe. The fully equipped kitchenette is a lovely perk. The location is surrounded by wonderful restaurants and charming streets. You can stroll to the Meatpacking District and Highline or hop on the bus to Central Park and Theatre District. The best perk of all is the weekend manager Vincent. He welcomes you as a dear friend who makes your visit more enjoyable. He is a font of information and keeps the 150 year old building humming along. Incentra has a new owner and my fear is that he will raise the prices to more than I can afford.

Room Tip: Tv reception is limited. I prefer the rooms on the second and third floors of the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Teresa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

If you want a power shower, marble floors and a king size bed then its probably not for you but if you want rickety, dusty and quaint then its the place to stay at the centre of the place to be. A great team and great location near 8th/14th St subway.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem then go for one of the lower rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bay-back
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I had meetings in Chelsea and couldn't bring myself to pay $400/night for an impersonal hotel experience. However I didn't want to end up in a space that was run down. Incentra Village House was the perfect place for me! Very friendly and efficient staff - from booking all the way through my stay. I had the Dakota room at the back which was quiet and so comfortable. The room had a microwave, sink and fridge. It had an AC unit which worked great. The TV was small - really a computer monitor - but I don't watch TV so that was fine. Great area with tons of coffee shops, restaurants and stores. I was initially worried about it being on busy 8th Ave but it felt like walking into a sanctuary each evening. This will be my goto lodging every time I come to NY.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Toriat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme, NH
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Wonderful staff, great location, historic house, elegant rooms. Bed a little softer than I like, but fine.

We stayed in the Garden room, which had a couple of problems. A strong gas smell, which diminished (but didn’t go away) when the night clerk found out how to turn off the gas to the unit. Also, lights in the garden keep the room too light for me.

Wifi didn’t work at all. Staff said a repair person was coming.

I might try Incentra again, but a different room.

Room Tip: I wouldn’t choose the Garden room again unless they add a timer to the outdoor lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeMorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
picaphoto, Manager at Incentra Village House, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Upon being informed of a gas smell, the night man turned the stove off and it is scheduled for repair.

As always, I encourage guests to bring any concerns to the staff, at any time of the day or night. The light switch to the outside garden lights are in the Garden room, with a big sign that says "LIGHTS TO THE OUTSIDE GARDEN." I don't understand how people are so quick to criticize but so slow to help themselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#301 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#207 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#35 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#150 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Incentra Village House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Incentra Village House

Property: Incentra Village House
Address: 32 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10014-1803
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Incentra Village House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Incentra Village House, an Historic Inn, was built in 1841, and occupies two brick landmark townhouses in New York City's Greenwich Village Historic District. As an attractive alternative to Midtown's steel and glass, the Village House offers our guests a warm welcome in our cozy front office featuring a fireplace, antique furnishings and artwork. All of our guests are welcome to relax with our supply of newspapers, magazines, and books. To get to your room you'll wander down narrow halls and up charming old stairways to one of 11 unique rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Incentra Village House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Incentra Village House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing