We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shabby, smelly, good location”
Review of The Milburn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Milburn Hotel
Ranked #212 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Shabby, smelly, good location”
Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights in November and I 100% will not be returning.

The rooms are shabby: kitchen cupboard doors broken, holes in walls badly patched up, just tired looking.

We had a 'suite' so had a sofa bed. This was okay, I managed to sleep on it. But NO duvet or quilt was provided and only 1 really manky pillow. I rang reception asking for a duvet and they said they couldn't provide one for the sofa bed. Instead they brought this gross green blanket which looked like cut up curtains. There were cigarette holes and stains on it!!! Not pleasant.

Breakfast was a joke. Cheap cereals and unappetising cakes. Certainly not the 'continental breakfast' I read about in the reviews.

Lastly, the hotel STANK when we were there. Smelt like moth balls. I since read another review which said the hotel had been fumigated. The hotel staff looked at me like I was mad when I asked what the smell was!

The only redeeming feature of the hotel is its proximity to central park.

Avoid this hotel, there are better alternatives in the same price bracket.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    497
    132
    39
    48
See reviews for
435
300
69
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
129 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Great location at the Milburn hotel.
Breakfast is basic.
They provide free WIFI for guests. Very good!
The room is okei size, and the bathroom is okei size.
Great staff that helps you with your needs.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holter-Nilsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We stayed at the Milburn recently for 10 days and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Close to subways (72nd/79th), a short walk to Central Park and a minute from Broadway it was extremely well located for our visit. All statf were helpful, the continental breakfast was great and filling, WiFi and email access was easy. Kitchenette attached was sufficient for our needs.
Thankyou

Room Tip: Rooms on 13 have a balcony with view across the Hudson
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phillip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keystone Heights, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Stayed at the Milburn Hotel on our first visit to New York over Thanksgiving Holiday and was very pleased with accomodations. Enjoyed the roomy suite with a party of five, thick mattress on beds and table to dine on with small kitchen. The morning continental breakfast with fresh belgiun waffles made while you wait was a treat. Picked this hotel for location to Macy's parade and only had to walk 2 blocks to grab front row viewing. Of course it is an older hotel but it is well preserved with antique furniture in lounge and charming old wood trim on ceiling, quite unique. This hotel was a lot better than I expected after reading some of the negative reviews, it's not the Hilton but it didn't have the price of a room at the Hilton either. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivyfromflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We have been staying at the Milburn on every visit to NYC for many years. It is reasonably priced (by NY standards), the staff is very friendly, they offer free breakfast and free Internet access, the rooms all include a small kitchenette (which comes in handy if you want a quick and/or cheap dinner with takeout from the many nearby restaurants or grocery stores), and the location can't be beat. We walk to the Lincoln Center, we go up to 79th St. to get the crosstown bus to the Metropolitan Museum of Art, we take a bus to midtown, and the subway is just 3 blocks away. They have rooms in various sizes and configurations, so several large groups of family members and friends have stayed there comfortably. And on our most recent visit, when we had to leave abruptly two days early to avoid Hurricane Sandy, they did not charge us for those two nights even though their usual policy requires more notice than we gave them.

Room Tip: Look at the photos on their website to help you decide what size room you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
162 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We received a recommendation for this hotel, as very convenient and well situated.
The general aspect of the hotel is not so pleasant. It looks old, but not in a good way. Some of the members of the personnel are quite nice, but others showed little interest in being helpful.
The hotel had been recently fumigated, and it had a very strong smell of naphthaline!
The "continental breakfast" that is included in the room price, is really shameful. First of all it is served with disposable dishes and cutlery. Second, the choice of food is very poor and low quality.
The room had good proportions. The bathroom was tiny.
We had to go somewhere else to have a decent breakfast. In a word, disappointing. I don't recommend it.

Room Tip: The suite is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lavivita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

The UWS is much less of a crowded tourist trap than midtown but just a short walk or subway, bus, or cab ride away from theatre, museums, restaurants, & shopping. Would suggest considering one of the other hotels in the area, however, as this one is quite run-down. With the exception of the breakfast attendant, who was responsive, the staff is at best indifferent to guest requests. Elevators reek of mothballs (at first we assumed a little old lady must have just stepped off, but they smelled that way all week). At these prices, we didn't expect Frette bathrobes, but the room lacked basics such as a notepad and pen. WiFi passwords were only good for 48 hours before expiring. For the first three nights of our stay, we were provided fewer towels than occupants. With better management and some updating, this would be a great base from which to explore NYC.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiredtravelerzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#124 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#236 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,534 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#57 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#174 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,704 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#251 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#302 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Milburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milburn Hotel

Property: The Milburn Hotel
Address: 242 W 76th St, New York City, NY 10023-8232
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#127 Family Hotel in New York City
#143 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#210 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Milburn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a tree-lined street on the Upper West Side, The Milburn Hotel offers a welcoming atmosphere within a lovely New York City neighborhood. From the traditional lobby to the spacious accommodations, our affordable NYC hotel is perfect for couples, families, and other groups of travelers seeking the comforts of home, right here in Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Milburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milburn Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing