We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but that's about it”
Review of The Milburn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Milburn Hotel
Ranked #209 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location but that's about it”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Stayed 6 nights. On the first night , I went to the bathroom in the middle of the night and when I walked in I fell. There was water seeping down from the ceiling and the floor had puddles of water all over it. Next morning I requested a room changed and was given a better room. The front desk staff , with 1 or 2 exceptions, needs lots of training in how to deal with clients. They were unfriendly. i had the impression of being a nuisance or interrupting. Room towels were old. No hangers in the room; had to ask. Breakfast is included . Nothing special. One of the breakfast attendants was very polite and friendly, but there were two of them, which seemed a poor use of personnel . Only one would have been sufficient . The hotel needs a good refresh and makeover , and the staff some serious inservice training. Loved the neighborhood.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank decsagit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlburnhotel, Owner at The Milburn Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Thank you for your comments. We were pleased that you stayed with us for 6 nites and found it to be a great location, but unfortunately the upstairs guest flooded the bathroom, causing a leak in the middle of the night. As soon as notified you were moved to another room for the remaining 5 days. We appreciate you comments about the breakfast room staff. We have two persons on duty to provide the best service when large numbers of guests arrive at one time for our complimentary continental breakfast, so they will not have to pay extra at neighborhood restaurants. The front desk is always ready to provide towels or other room amenities upon request. We look forward to having you stay with us on your next trip to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    503
    135
    39
    49
See reviews for
443
305
70
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I was supposed to stay here this past November for the NYC marathon. The race ended up being cancelled due to hurricane sandy. I attempted to enter the city on Friday afternoon by car due to the city having a mandatory 3 or more persons per car occupancy in order to enter the city. I was stopped at the GWB and told to find more people or ride in with someone else. Sine I was alone and not from the area doing either item was impossible. Soon after being turned away the news broke that the race was cancelled. I called the hotel to explain my situation that I could not get into the city, the trains were still out and my single passenger car was refused entry. I spoke to a person at the front desk and explained further my dilemma and concluded I might as well go home if I can't get into the city.net attendant did not care only to say you will be charged the full rate. So even though I was refused entry into the city by the police the hotel opted to take advantage of me and the situation by charging me the full rate, $337 dollars for one night. I called the hotel later that night to see if they had rooms. I was old the hotel was full. Very poor customer service. They ended up renting my room anyhow but still felt obligated to take advantage of someone during a state of emergency.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else, there are plenty of hotels in new York.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Camphorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlburnhotel, Owner at The Milburn Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
The Marathon weekend is the busiest of the year, and cancellation policies are observed strictly by most hotels, which require several days advance notice as do we because the entire weekend is usually booked. Though the hurricane disrupted traffic into New York the first few days, all bridges were open with no restrictions by Wednesday. Unfortunately your late Thursday cancellation of a next day arrival did not meet the cancellation guidelines, and access to the city was not blocked, with many other guests arriving that day, not all for the Marathon. Had you cancelled several days earlier, in view of the hurricane, the reservation system would have honored it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

This hotel was on 76th street which is on the Upper West side of Manhatten about 100m off Broadway. The hotel foyer is very nice with a cosy sitting room and the desk staff were very helpful and friendly. The room we stayed in was very spacious for a hotel in New York and had a microwave, sink, fridge. One had to ask for a cooktop if you wanted to actually cook something but that was not a problem. The room service is limited though the bed and towels are changed but forget any type of washing up of glasses, cutlery, plates etc. as apparently it is not in their award! Good coverage of channels for the TV. Bathroom very small so if one is somewhat large it would be difficult to move around in it. Lovely soft comfortable bed. Noise level was minimal, we were on the 13th floor. Heaps of shops around, good grocery stores which sell alcohol and very good restaurants nearby. The subway is either on 72nd or 79th street and very convenient to use with a metro card. IF you are relying on the breakfast well don't...firstly it is all served on disposable plates, cups, cutlery etc. which is so environmentally unfriendly. There is the typical bland American coffee, bagels, cakes, cereal and juice. Better fare at Nic's diner around the corner for $4.00!!! This hotel is in a great location and would bear that in mind when you book.

Room Tip: I think the lower floor rooms might be better as the two lifts are very slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rmp26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
syracuse, NY
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We have stayed at the Milburn several times in the past year. The hotel underwent major revisions and is much better than it had been several years ago. The hotel is still an old hotel and still needs work. In one stay, the shower could not be well adjusted and kept turning from hot to cold to hot to cold etc. One of the bethrooms had no heat, except for a ceiling heat lamp. The rooms and hotel is very clean. Our daughter and grandaughter slept is a ante-room of a one bedroom suite, and the mattress in the pull out couch was so thin that the springs came through the mattress. At our request they put a bed mattreess over the open bed, which was comfrotable, but the couch could not be closed.Although the front desk clerks are friendly the front desk manager ( who is almost always there) is surly and does his best to scowl. We will again stay at the hotel as its location on the upper west side is excellent, the price is moderate by NYC standards and the premises is clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAJSYR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amityville, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

My husband and I just stayed at the Milburn for the first time this past weekend and we’ll definitely be back! We are huge music fans so we frequent shows at the Beacon Theater. After missing the last train home one time too many we vowed never again! When it comes to bands with multiple date runs (i.e. The Allman Brothers, Gov't Mule) we realized that staying in town is key. You can enjoy a night out without missing a note, worrying who is going to be the designated driver, or being stuck with the lowest of the low in Penn Station as you wait 3+ hours for mass transit to resume. Over the past few years we have tried many hotels different upper west side hotels, but The Milburn is the first one we actually liked. The rates were extremely affordable considering the time of year, the beds were super comfy and the customer service was superb. The free room upgrade we received sweetened the experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jregino94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenox, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The good: The staff was friendly and helpful. Very good location.
The rest-- not so good. Very soft beds, I mean caved in mattress soft. We stayed in a King bed studio, very small and compact. Dirty linens, dirty mattress pad, stained comforters, stained carpets, stained chair. I wouldn't even recomend this for a place to crash when desperate. I expected a little more because of the location.
Overall, will not stay here again, ever. Even though the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Layla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlburnhotel, Owner at The Milburn Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
The Milburn prides itself on providing the best guest experience possible, as evidenced by the many positive reviews from our guests. This was a most unusual situation, and we were very concerned upon reading you review, but unable to contact you for the details or room number. Had you contacted the front desk at the time, this situation would have been immediately rectified.
It is possible from what you described, that during the heavy New Year's activity, a room was inadvertantly assigned that had not yet been serviced by the housekeeping staff, which has never happened before. Please call the hotel manager so we can explore this further and have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

I took my wife to NYC for her birthday. This hotel was recommended by a family member. The hotel itself was just fine. No surprises. The room was well appointed and very comfortable.About a third to half the price of staying in the Theater District. The upper west side feels more residential, for Manhattan. Don't be intimidated by the subways. The red line goes downtown, and then uptown. A straight shot. You walk a few blocks, get on the subway and in 10 minutes you are in Times Square! Felt totally safe and kind of cool. The neighborhood has lots of interesting restaurants. We had brunch at Sarabeths, dinner at the Citrus Grill, (fusion of Mexican and Asian). Birthday dinner at Boulud Sud. OMG! Also a $6.00 cab ride but definitely walkable. Central Park is only a few blocks away, The Hayden Planetarium, Strawberry Fields. And this for about a third to half the price of staying in the Theater District. Times Square was getting ready for New Years eve, and it was already packed with people. A rather joyful atmosphere, but it was nice to slip back to the Upper West Side and chill out.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#128 of 467 in New York City
2,364 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#234 of 467 in New York City
3,614 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#57 of 467 in New York City
3,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#247 of 467 in New York City
2,061 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#172 of 467 in New York City
4,980 reviews
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#370 of 467 in New York City
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Milburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milburn Hotel

Property: The Milburn Hotel
Address: 242 W 76th St, New York City, NY 10023-8232
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#125 Family Hotel in New York City
#141 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#208 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Milburn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a tree-lined street on the Upper West Side, The Milburn Hotel offers a welcoming atmosphere within a lovely New York City neighborhood. From the traditional lobby to the spacious accommodations, our affordable NYC hotel is perfect for couples, families, and other groups of travelers seeking the comforts of home, right here in Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Milburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milburn Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing