We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid choice”
Review of The Milburn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Milburn Hotel
Ranked #200 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Middletown, CT
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Solid choice”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Good hotel with lots of amenities for the price. Rooms are spacious with a sitting area and a separate bedroom. Beds were very comfortable as were the pillows. Fitness center was very nice with both cardio equipment and dumbbells. Staff was friendly and courteous. Breakfast was decent with cold cereals, bagels, pastries, and yogurt. Bottom line is if you are looking for a clean, comfortable and reasonably priced hotel in this area then this is a solid choice...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJDvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    500
    135
    39
    49
See reviews for
442
305
69
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I used to love the Milburn and stayed there numerous times over the years. Last time, I had to cancel my reservation which they would not let me do, even though I called in keeping with their stated cancellation policy. Person who answered the phone was rude, as was the "manager" I then spoke with. I had to go through my credit card to have them reverse the charge from the Milburn. Please avoid this hotel. There are many suites hotels in New York that respect their customers.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizzie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlburnhotel, Owner at The Milburn Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
We try to accommodate all guests who have a cancellation problem, but were unaware until we read your post. Your reservation was for 14 nights, which required a 7 prior day cancellation. It was cancelled only 3 days prior by phone to a desk clerk, so the system automatically generated a one night charge. Had you contacted or asked to speak with the management office, especially as a returning guest,.they would have been pleased to arrange a credit towards your next stay, and we look forward to your doing so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I have stayed at the Milburn many times over the past twenty years, just as I have at the Beacon Hotel over the road. Sometimes the one, sometimes the other, almost always in a two-room suite. Both have changed over the years, upgrading. (In the old days, these were "resident hotels' and there still are some permanent residents in both I think.) The Milburn is homier, a little cheaper usually, this last time I really enjoyed it: nice vibe in the lobby, room quiet, roomy, clean. Good to be able to eat breakfast in house without going out. Only problem was that the wifi was only rarely accessible from the eleventh floor, though management assures me that that is soon to be fixed. It wasn't much that of a big deal since it was easy to connect at the lobby.
Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank StretherMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The Milburn offers so much - an apartment in heart of NYC Upper West Side, within couple of blocks of fantastic markets and restaurants. very convenient to #1 subway, which connects you to just about anywhere in NYC. Staff is very friendly and helpful, and the hotel is quiet and peaceful. While it is older, it is VERY well maintained; baths have been upgraded. Rooms very large for any city, and certainly for NYC. Breakfast is included...oh yes, and beds are very comfortable. You WON'T regret it, and you can save a great deal of money having your small kitchen. Given it was NYC, we didn't cook, BUT leftovers and takeouts were so easily stored, we avoided having to eat out more than one meal a day. In a great neighborhood, with wonderful moderately priced restaurants, local shops, and just a really nice neighborhood feel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lrubyjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The Milburn is always a welcome place to come to after an overseas flight. The staff seems to have no turnover and are always friendly and helpful. We love the location on the upper Westside which has great restaurants in the area, is close to Central Park and the Hudson River.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitzany6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Staying at The Milburn is like having your own apartment in the heart of New York's Upper West Side. Each room has a kitchenette, and there are three great markets within two blocks. This saves a lot of money by avoiding expensive restaurants. Three blocks away is the 72nd/Broadway subway station with both local and express trains. The express goes to Times Square non-stop. The hotel is the same age as all of the other buildings in the neighborhood, which means it's old. But the rooms have been updated, and are truly comfortable. This has become my home in New York.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithG1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We have been staying at the Milburn for about 15 years and each time it only gets better. The hotel is older but well maintained and the staff is extraordinary. The breakfast is very good and the rooms are large and beds are very comfortable. The kitchenettes are great. The hotel is located on a quiet street just off Broadway and only a short walk from the subway.
I almost fear recommending this hotel for once the word gets out it will become too popular.

Room Tip: Most rooms are very quiet, On lower floors ask for a room in the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#129 of 466 in New York City
2,359 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#57 of 466 in New York City
3,506 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#234 of 466 in New York City
3,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#172 of 466 in New York City
4,954 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#248 of 466 in New York City
2,061 reviews
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#372 of 466 in New York City
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Milburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milburn Hotel

Property: The Milburn Hotel
Address: 242 W 76th St, New York City, NY 10023-8232
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#126 Family Hotel in New York City
#142 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#209 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Milburn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a tree-lined street on the Upper West Side, The Milburn Hotel offers a welcoming atmosphere within a lovely New York City neighborhood. From the traditional lobby to the spacious accommodations, our affordable NYC hotel is perfect for couples, families, and other groups of travelers seeking the comforts of home, right here in Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Milburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milburn Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing