We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great Find!”
Review of The Milburn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Milburn Hotel
Ranked #208 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My first visit to the Milburn was a winner. I arrived early on the redeye from California and they kindly got me into my room by 11am. The accommodations were spacious and the staff lovely. The location cannot be beat, within walking distance to everything you need in way of services and transportation. I hope that I will never have to look for another place to stay in Manhattan!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JBGall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

491 - 497 of 1,194 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

The purpose of our stay was to enjoy a few weekend shows at the Beacon Theatre. The hotel is located less than 2 blocks from the venue. It is close to multiple subway stations and other nearby attractions. For the price and location, this is the best option in the area. Then again, it helps when you are dividing the rate with 2 other people. The staff was very friendly and the hotel itself noticeably clean. We chose a suite that had two rooms, two double beds and a sofa with a pull out mattress. For a hotel in uptown NYC, we were impressed with the amount of space and comfort. There are so many options in this area and we would not hesitate to book here again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The Milburn Hotel is wonderfully located around the corner from the upscale Fairview Market and four short blocks along Broadway from the 72nd subway station (1 express stop from the 42nd St hub at Times Square). All the rooms we have stayed in had either a kitchenette or a full kitchen--which makes the Fairview Market a great place to pickup prepared meals or cooking ingredients when we decide not to eat out. The included breakfast on the main floor is satisfactory. WiFi is included, though not strong in all rooms (and wired computers are available to guests in the lobby, right near the comfortable lounge).

Room Tip: If either of these things matter to you, ask if it has a kitchen or just a kitchenette and how close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rik214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

For some reason I can't quite name, this is my favorite hotel in Manhattan. I'm partial to the Upper Westside and the Milburn is 1/2 block from Broadway and 4 blocks from Central Park. It's less than two blocks from the 72nd Street subway entrance--on an express train that means a direct trip to 42nd St and the theatre district. To the west 2 blocks to the river.
This is an old hotel that is slowly being remodeled. Rooms range in size from largish (for Manhattan) to very generous. Suites are available and last I knew, roll-away beds were provided free of charge. Each room/suite has a small kitchen with a fridge and microwave. With Zabar's, Fairway, and Trader Joe's within a few blocks, take out meals can substantially reduce the cost of food. Beds are great; the decor is nothing special but I've been staying there for 10 years or so and have yet to have a room in which there isn't a phone hanging on the wall by the toilet.
The staff is friendly and helpful. They don't wear badges but there are two very nice women who "man" the desk during the day. Two men, Michael and Romain, double as clerks and overseeing the breakfast. They are very friendly as is Adam, a night clerk. The included breakfast is nothing too special although Michael makes waffles on the weekend. Other breakfasts always include bagels, sweet rolls, cereal, yogurt, fruit, toast--another money saver. There are many restaurants nearby, my current favorite being Red Farm, a Chinese/dim sum fusion kind of place less than a block away. For the uninitiated, Fairway has a steak house on the second floor that has quite good meals; I've never had a steak there but they have fairly reasonably priced 3 course meals that include incredibly large desserts, enough to take home and put in your hotel refrigerator.
Prices are reasonable. I've never had trouble with noise nor felt a bit unsafe here (there are safes in every room as well). The front desk has a bunch of rather old DVDs that can be checked out free if it happens to be a dark and stormy night. There are also 3 cinemas within walking distance (the one on 83rd is the closest but the weakest).
If you have a car you can get a discount at a car park down the block but parking is relatively expensive all over Manhattan.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Marigene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stayed at the Milburn earlier in February during a trip planned around performances at the Metropolitan Opera. The location couldn't have been better -- three blocks from two subway stops and one block from a bus stop. This became important because the weather -- snow and sleet -- made it impossible to walk to Lincoln Center. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, the Continental breakfast was more than adequate, including delicious coffee, and the bedroom and bathroom spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The hotel is located on a very quiet side street, but steps to Broadway and many shops and restaurants. I hope to stay there again during any future trips to New York.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MillieColeman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is a belated review. Apologies. My wife & I stayed at The Milburn for a week in July 2013 [and prior to that, for a week in June 2011].

It is a great value for money hotel in an excellent location near Broadway on the upper West Side.

The staff are excellent, a great light breakfast is included in the tariff, and we've not had any issues with the dreaded 'bed bugs' which seem to affect many New York hotels.

The Milburn is close to the subway and many local shops & eateries.

We'll definitely be staying there on our next trip to New York City.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteeeeeeeeeeeeeVo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This was our second stay at the Milburn in the past 6 months. Great location on the upper west side, not too far from the museum of natural history, just a few blocks from the subway. Taxi ride to the theatre district was $15, including tip. The Milburn is a charming, older property, but it is well maintained and has clearly been recently renovated. Both the 1 bedroom suite and the studio suite we were given this time around came with a kitchenette, flat screen tv, table and chairs and other amenities that would make this hotel an excellent choice for families. There is a small breakfast room off the lobby which serves an included, basic continental breakfast. Though there is no restaurant or bar in the hotel, there are many in the area from which to choose. This is not a luxury property, but it is a very nice hotel with pleasant staff and good value for the money. The upper west side is a more residential area of the city, a little less manic than mid-town or lower Manhattan. I should mention that the bathroom in the studio suite we stayed in was extremely small. My husband said his shoulders were a tight fit in the sink area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#231 of 473 in New York City
3,866 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#139 of 473 in New York City
2,468 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#57 of 473 in New York City
3,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#245 of 473 in New York City
2,155 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#180 of 473 in New York City
5,737 reviews
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#331 of 473 in New York City
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Milburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milburn Hotel

Address: 242 W 76th St, New York City, NY 10023-8232
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#72 Family Hotel in New York City
#139 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#205 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £106 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Milburn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a tree-lined street on the Upper West Side, The Milburn Hotel offers a welcoming atmosphere within a lovely New York City neighborhood. From the traditional lobby to the spacious accommodations, our affordable NYC hotel is perfect for couples, families, and other groups of travelers seeking the comforts of home, right here in Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Milburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milburn Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing