We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Helpful Staff, Convenient Location”
Review of The Milburn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Milburn Hotel
Ranked #188 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Milburn Hotel lived up to the reviews I read that assured the guest of clean rooms, great location, and exceptional value. I found all of this to be true. The only small issue was the continental breakfast area is very tiny and made for awkward seating and crowded and cramped buffet lines. Otherwise, the stay was comfortable and easy. The staff were very friendly and easy to reach. There is no car valet, but the garage is just up the street, and was $55/night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susiemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

471 - 477 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

We travelled with two young kids, 1 and 5 years old. This hotel was very conveniently located in a safe neighborhood close to many amenities and attractions. Central park, natural history museum and the subway are close enough to walk with a stroller. The room while small, was pretty good and clean. The hotel does show it age though, and some of the appliances could use an upgrade. The microwave was probably from the 1960s. Also, don't book this place for the buffet, the food was just typical continental unwrap-and-eat kind of things which you will get sick in 2 days. I would much rather have gone out to some wonderful places around for breakfast . There are a lot of really good restaurants and café's around to explore. But do book it, if you want a central location, have kids that you want to take to central park or a reasonable place in Manhattan as your base while travelling around.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajoy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Milburn, on the recommendation of my aunt, who stays there regularly. We enjoyed the quiet neighborhood with easy transportation all over. We also ate at great restaurants just a block or two away. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Breakfast is nothing special (basic continental), but it's nice to have breakfast included. We also liked having a little kitchenette though we didn't use it much. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Moderate, very clean upper west side hotel. Older furniture , comfortable bed and accommodating staff.

Well located a block off Broadway, near to shops and restaurants. Priced well for New York. Will return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtc1043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at the Milburn for five nights in May 2014. We had a suite which consisted of a large and well-furnished lounge, a good-sized twin bedroom, excellent storage, a bathroom with bath/ shower and a small kitchenette with a microwave oven. The fridge compartment of the fridge/freezer in the kitchenette unfortunately froze everything that was put in it! Also, next time we visit we will bring a kettle so that we can make a decent cup of tea in our room.

The hotel doesn't pretend to be a glitzy five star luxury hotel but it does offer a reasonable range of facilities and by New York standards good value for money. It also offers a very adequate complimentary continental breakfast.

The hotel is located in the upper west side of New York just off Broadway and is close to restaurants, the subway, buses and, of course, yellow cabs. Staff are friendly and helpful and very willing to give advice about what to do, where to go and how to get there.

We very much enjoyed our stay but one disappointment was the quality of the cleaning of our room. We could, of course, have complained but decided on this occasion not to because we had only limited time in New York and we had a lot to do!

We would definitely stay here again but next time we'll complain about room cleaning if it's not up to standard.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikey077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have been coming to NYC for weekend visits for a long time and have never returned to the same hotel ... until now. It is in a great location on the Upper West Side, close to the American Museum of Natural History (and Central Park), the subway, restaurants and shops. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We could control the temperature in the room. The staff were helpful and accommodating. We liked the people that we met on the elevator for "nano-discussions". All in all -- a perfect place for us when visiting NYC.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelerWithOpinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The Milburn was a nice surprise to find in the pricey hotel market of NYC. Located in a quieter neighborhood, it still was close to the subway, buses, stores and restaurants. Very comfortable beds, a mini kitchenette, free wi-fi and breakfast made the studio room a steal compared to brand-name hotels in the area. The staff was very quick to help in any way possible if needed. Every room also had a dvd player and some dvds were available to use (limited and old - but you could bring your own to view). Video games were also available and a nice selection of books to borrow were there for the reading in the lounge. My only negative comment was that the showerhead spurted water, making the shower a bit of an adventure. All in all - I will be using the Milburn again whenever traveling to NYC.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FMulholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#231 of 469 in New York City
3,749 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#139 of 469 in New York City
2,440 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#63 of 469 in New York City
3,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#183 of 469 in New York City
5,470 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#323 of 469 in New York City
1,578 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#252 of 469 in New York City
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Milburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milburn Hotel

Address: 242 W 76th St, New York City, NY 10023-8232
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#124 Family Hotel in New York City
#140 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#206 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £100 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Milburn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a tree-lined street on the Upper West Side, The Milburn Hotel offers a welcoming atmosphere within a lovely New York City neighborhood. From the traditional lobby to the spacious accommodations, our affordable NYC hotel is perfect for couples, families, and other groups of travelers seeking the comforts of home, right here in Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Milburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milburn Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing