We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location,”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Milburn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Milburn Hotel
Ranked #211 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the Milburn in May, we had a room with separate bedroom. The bathroom is tiny but managable, it had everything we needed ( had to ask for a hotplate to heat the kettle to make tea). The place is quiet and tidy. Staff are excellent and very helpful. Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwitrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    494
    131
    39
    48
See reviews for
434
296
67
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a decent hotel in a solid location at what for New York passes as a fair price. Rooms are small and corridors narrow and dark, but again it's New York. Front desk staff was surprisingly friendly and helpful and there is a free breakfast with a very small selection. Starbucks is a block away. Upper west side doesn't have as many restaurants but there are several within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAENVIRON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Recently my family and I rented two suites. We had a comfortable king bed in one and two singles in the other. Both had a lavish sitting room with a tiny kitchenette (refrigerator, sink, and coffee maker with supplies in the cupboards). The decor is a bit post-war era but well maintained and comfortable. There is no concierge or room service but a bustling continental breakfast comes with the room. The location on the Upper West Side is ideal for access to museums, Central Park and the theater, especially Lincoln Center; an easy walk away.
We stayed last year at a cramped hotel a block away for about the same price. Being able to have a meal or two in our room and comfortable lounging space after a day on our feet was so worth the slight additional cost.
I think the Milburn is going to become our go to hotel in NYC.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Milburn Hotel lived up to the reviews I read that assured the guest of clean rooms, great location, and exceptional value. I found all of this to be true. The only small issue was the continental breakfast area is very tiny and made for awkward seating and crowded and cramped buffet lines. Otherwise, the stay was comfortable and easy. The staff were very friendly and easy to reach. There is no car valet, but the garage is just up the street, and was $55/night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susiemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We travelled with two young kids, 1 and 5 years old. This hotel was very conveniently located in a safe neighborhood close to many amenities and attractions. Central park, natural history museum and the subway are close enough to walk with a stroller. The room while small, was pretty good and clean. The hotel does show it age though, and some of the appliances could use an upgrade. The microwave was probably from the 1960s. Also, don't book this place for the buffet, the food was just typical continental unwrap-and-eat kind of things which you will get sick in 2 days. I would much rather have gone out to some wonderful places around for breakfast . There are a lot of really good restaurants and café's around to explore. But do book it, if you want a central location, have kids that you want to take to central park or a reasonable place in Manhattan as your base while travelling around.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajoy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Milburn, on the recommendation of my aunt, who stays there regularly. We enjoyed the quiet neighborhood with easy transportation all over. We also ate at great restaurants just a block or two away. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Breakfast is nothing special (basic continental), but it's nice to have breakfast included. We also liked having a little kitchenette though we didn't use it much. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downers Grove, Illinouis
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Moderate, very clean upper west side hotel. Older furniture , comfortable bed and accommodating staff.

Well located a block off Broadway, near to shops and restaurants. Priced well for New York. Will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtc1043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#119 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,318 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#231 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,499 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#175 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,544 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#250 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#302 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Milburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milburn Hotel

Property: The Milburn Hotel
Address: 242 West 76th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#127 Family Hotel in New York City
#143 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#210 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Milburn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a tree-lined street on the Upper West Side, The Milburn Hotel offers a welcoming atmosphere within a lovely New York City neighborhood. From the traditional lobby to the spacious accommodations, our affordable NYC hotel is perfect for couples, families, and other groups of travelers seeking the comforts of home, right here in Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Milburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milburn Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing