We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A remarkable gem”
Review of The Milburn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Milburn Hotel
Ranked #204 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The Milburn was a real and remarkable value, even though the low price made it seem too good to be true. It has a great location - just a few steps from Broadway, with nice stores and wonderful restaurants, bakeries and coffee shops. A 5 minute walk to the subway station, and 10 minutes to Central Park. Our room was quiet and spacious, and the kitchenette made it nice to take advantage of the nearby gourmet markets.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LesPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

426 - 432 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

I noticed bad smell as I got to the hotel. I found a female staff at the desk very rude and not pleasant. She was not helpful. we booked a king bed but they gave as a queen bed. When i asked the front desk she said." your booking was through third party. We are not responsible". They refused to book a shuttle for me.They asked me to book their taxi or not at all.The hallways smell urine. The pillows were sooooo dirty that I could not sleep on. I put towel on my pillow. sheets were dirty. The toilet was broken.I took the pillow to the front desk 3 times to see how dirty they were.They sent a clean pillow. but I found the dirty pillows back on my bed the next day.dirtiest hotel i have ever been to. They don't have a swimming pool in the hotel. Guests have to walk 3 blocks to other place to use the pool. fami

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank fami0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I saw all the reviews saying that this was a good hotel. Everything seemed as though I'd be able to make the trip before my military orders were cut. When I made the reservation the lady told me that there wouldn't be any charge if I had to cancel since I was in the military. When my orders changed I had to cancel my trip a couple of days before we were supposed to leave. I was told I'd be charged for the first night. When I told the person on the phone that the lady said I would't be charged the man on the phone said he'd get back to me but never did. I had to write an e-mail to get any kind of response and was asked to provide proof of my military service. I sent my orders showing where and when i was to transfer. They said that they would get back to me but they never did. The thing that upset me was that I did everything on my end but received only a bill of 350 dollars from the Milburn. I hate to say it but feel compelled to do so. Don't trust anything they tell you on the phone. If they're willing to give false information to this nations military members they will do it to anyone else. Very disappointed in their service.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dante B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

If you want a budget priced room in NYC that is clean _ larger than most in the city & in a great neighborhood then the milburn is a good choice for a short stay or longer. Convenient to subway & good neighborhood pubs. Central Park is short walk. Rooms have a small kitchenette - a real bonus in NYC for the price. Staff very helpful& there is a continental breakfast- small but u can take up to room- again free coffee in the city is rare _ would have liked ice machines on all floors- in basement & had small bits of mud or something orange in the ice- but only complaint & I can live without the ice.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dixieb1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Giving it an excellent rating will just attract more people and make it more difficult for me to get a reservation when I want it, because we are definitely coming back. I'd like the Milburn to have enough guests to have a good robust business, but not so many that they are booked weeks /months in advance. Great value.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We travelled to New York in July. Great room for the price. We liked the location - Upper West Side . It was close to subway access, very close to Central Park, lots of restaurants, and great food markets. Staff were very friendly and helpful . Breakfast included, free wifi in room and a/c in the room make this a great choice. We'll book again next trip for sure.

Room Tip: Larger room than expected. We had a king suite and there was plenty of room. Tiny kitchen, but frid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KSD113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here for five nights in July and will definitely return. The main reason we chose this hotel (aside from the price fitting our budget and positive reviews on TA) was the location, which is near to our family -- the reason for our visit. But this quiet upper west side neighborhood is hard to beat for access to transit, parks, museums, shopping etc. As other reviewers have noted the rooms are roomy and comfortable and include a kitchenette. The bathrooms are very small however. On the plus side hotel guests can use a very nice health club--only two blocks away--which has a great pool and weight room, and luxurious showers. I ended up swimming and showering there almost every day. We are already planning - and looking forward to- our return in November!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor (if you want daylight).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EllenPortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#233 of 469 in New York City
3,707 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#131 of 469 in New York City
2,417 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#67 of 469 in New York City
3,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#180 of 469 in New York City
5,336 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#247 of 469 in New York City
2,112 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#302 of 469 in New York City
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Milburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milburn Hotel

Address: 242 W 76th St, New York City, NY 10023-8232
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#124 Family Hotel in New York City
#140 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#206 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £124 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Milburn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a tree-lined street on the Upper West Side, The Milburn Hotel offers a welcoming atmosphere within a lovely New York City neighborhood. From the traditional lobby to the spacious accommodations, our affordable NYC hotel is perfect for couples, families, and other groups of travelers seeking the comforts of home, right here in Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Milburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milburn Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing