We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay”
Review of The Milburn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Milburn Hotel
Ranked #201 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Springfield, VA
15
Reviewed 4 January 2006

The Milburn was converted from an apartment building to a hotel, and some of the apartment features do show up in the rooms. Most notably, the bathroom had the smallest amount of floor space I've ever seen between the toilet, sink, and shower -- clearly a legacy of being an New York apartment. The rooms also have kitchenettes from their apartment days, and that's a definite plus. There are several wonderful markets -- Zabar's, Fairway, and others -- within a short walking distance on Broadway, and it's great to be able to pick up snacks and your own sodas to take back to the room. My husband and I both love to read at night, and the lighting in hotels is always problematic. Another legacy of the apartment days is that the rooms have overhead light fixtures, which seems to be a rarity in hotels, in addition to plenty of lamps. It's the best lit hotel room I've ever stayed in.

We had originally booked a junior suite, but were upgraded to a one-bedroom upon arrival. The rooms are nothing special in terms of decor, but are clean and pleasant. The staff was pleasant and helpful, despite the fact that there seemed to be a large tour group checking in at the same time we did which made things a little hectic.

The neighborhood is wonderful with plenty of great restaurants nearby. We especially enjoyed Niko's, the Greek restaurant on the corner of Broadway and 76th.

We're already talking about going about again. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

943 - 949 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2005

Excellent, this is a gem. Friendly staff. Clean. Great location. Heat can actually be turned off (this was a complaint by another reviewer who apparently didn't find the valve).

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NonanoN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2005

We stayed at The Milburn for 8 nights and found it was everything we needed. The staff are polite and helpful, I had asked a 101 questions via email before arrival and everyone was answered. The neighbourhood is great, not too many beeping taxi horns (you'll know what I mean when you get there!). Really easy to hail a cab, lots of shops, restaurants, etc in area. We stayed in a one bed suite with our two sons, we had a large bedroom and a large seperate lounge with a pull out double sofa bed, both rooms had a telly and video/dvd. Borrowed a playstation and games from reception. Has a small kitchenette with full sized fridge, microwave and you can ask for a hotplate so you can make a cup of tea. The bed in the bedroom was huge and very comfortable, the bathroom is small but adequate, lots of storage space in the hallway and bedroom. You may find a posher hotel, you won't find a more welcoming, unpretentious one then this, we weren't disappointed. Contact the hotel before booking as we got a good discount on the nightly rate because of the length of our stay. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Star015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Bicester, UK
13
Reviewed 15 December 2005

After reading some of the reviews i was a bit nervous especially with the staff supposedly being rude. But as in most cases staff respond to how you treat them. They were very friendly and helpful and I personnaly cannot fault them. The Rooms were clean but sometimes a little too hot for me but a good size and all you need. Bathrooms are small. Excellent location for Central Park with a Subway two blocks down.Breakfast at Nikos 50 yards from the hotel which has excellent food at a good price. Personally I was impressed by the staff and the Hotel. Good value for money.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2005

Based on the favourable reviews on TripAdvisor,we booked our room at the Milburn and were not disappointed at all.
Large,clean rooms, friendly service from the staff. We had a junior en-suite at the 12th floor, with fantastic views. The kitchenette,microwave,fridge were in the "living room", which further included dining table, couch and large TV.
In the bedroom, we had more than enough space, including a small walk in closet for clothing. Again a nice TV,so we could watch SpongeBob or CNBC in the morning. Bathroom wasn't large, but well maintained,clean soft towels every day.

Can't understand why people complain about this hotel; no there isnt a fancy lobby, or a hotel bar, but that's not the main reason for me to stay in a hotel anyways. Main thing is a place to stay, a good bed, decent shower,and good location. Well...guess what...The Milburn delivers on all fronts. Upper West side is just 10 minutes away from Time Square, with the 1 or 2. Subway is 4 blocks away (5 minute walk) on 72th street. Breakfast is available at Manhattan Diner, just across the street, $15 for 2 persons! Dinner is okay at Niko's, also across the street. Already mentionned in other reviews is Fairway market, large selection of fresh products; vegetables, meat,bread,take-away dinners.

We paid $215 a night, which I think is a steal, this timemof year, and considering the neighbourhood.
I compared many prices of similar hotels on the UWS or Midtown, and the Milburn was always the most attractive one,also based on the reviews.

Book the Milburn, you wont be disappointed!

Stefan Laszlo
The Nethelands

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elevation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2005

The Beacon was full, so we tried the Milburn. We won't be going back to the Beacon. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Our Jr. Suite had a queen bed, and I thought it was supposed to be a King. I took my reservation form to the front desk, where the man pointed out that it could be either a queen or king. He then offered to switch me to a King if I preferred! The Hotel was quiet, clean and secure. The neighborhood is great, and subway connections are three blocks north or four blocks south--short blocks. My wife and I both loved it, even the "very firm" bed was fine. This is a great choice! p.s., the creme puffs are to die for 1/2 block north at beard's papa.

4  Thank redwoodbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2005

The Milburn is NOT a luxury hotel. If you're looking for a place to sleep, take a shower and a friendly staff, then Milburn is a good hotel. My family of 4 visited NYC Nov 23-26. NYC is packed throughout Thanksgiving weekend so we were lucky to even have hotel accomodations. We stayed in a corner suite on the 3rd floor. Our 2 room suite with kitchenette was spacious, but the decor was very, very dated. The wallpaper was peeling, the paint was chipped on trim work and there were scuff marks on the walls. The rooms were very warm. We couldn't regulate the heat. In the front room the window A/C unit wasn't properly installed in the window. The small gaps around the A/C unit allowed outside air get into the room. Maybe that's why the heat was so high in the suite.
The Milburn is located on the upper west side of Manhattan. The nights were quiet so we could sleep peacefully. Good markets, the Natural History Museum and the Thanksgiving Ballon Blow-Up are very close.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cfpeyton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#234 of 469 in New York City
3,707 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#132 of 469 in New York City
2,417 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#67 of 469 in New York City
3,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#180 of 469 in New York City
5,330 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#246 of 469 in New York City
2,110 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#303 of 469 in New York City
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Milburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milburn Hotel

Address: 242 W 76th St, New York City, NY 10023-8232
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#124 Family Hotel in New York City
#140 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#206 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £120 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Milburn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a tree-lined street on the Upper West Side, The Milburn Hotel offers a welcoming atmosphere within a lovely New York City neighborhood. From the traditional lobby to the spacious accommodations, our affordable NYC hotel is perfect for couples, families, and other groups of travelers seeking the comforts of home, right here in Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Milburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milburn Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing