We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great functional and comfortable place to stay”
Review of Seton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Seton Hotel
Ranked #185 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is a great place to make your base to explore the City of New York. Room was small but very comfortable. After a busy day exploring you need a good shower and good nights sleep. Our room delivered both and the hotel staff were very helpful and pleasant.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank brite44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (822)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

480 - 486 of 823 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

This place was perfect. I just needed a place to sleep while getting my son settled in college and i could not have asked for better. I had an economy room and it was clean, the bathroom that was shared was perfect, never dirty and i never had to wait. I would stay there again. The front desk was a big help and the staff very friendly. I have stayed in many hotels in NYC and paid crazy amounts but this one, located just a few blocks from grand central - perfect. Can't wait to go back and kudos to the staff for being so accomdating and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bkstar00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is a wonderful "Boutique" type hotel in mid-town New York City. The staff are very friendly and helpful and our room was small but stylishly furnished and spotlessly clean. We had a shared bathroom which was great - just a few steps away from the room with a lovely big shower, wash basin & toilet. This was also extremely clean. Our room had a very comfortable Queen size bed and a wash basin in the room with big fluffy towels and bathrobes. The hotel also has a very nice lounge to relax in after a hard day pounding the streets! Tea & coffee are available without charge. Lots of great places to eat & drink nearby too.

This was our second visit to New York and after having stayed at the Seton, I would recommend it in a heartbeat. Looking forward to staying here again in the near future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndrewJohnH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Great little hotel within walking distance of Grand Central station, 15 mins from Times Sq, Rockefeller Centre, Macy's, St Patricks Cathedral. Very helpful reception staff, coffee and tea 24 hours, transport arranged to Airport, price quoted 65$ to cover tips and tolls. We gave him a tip on top but he also claimed tolls on top even though he went through Queens and as far as I could make out did not go through any tolls. Check price with cabbie before you leave. Would go back there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

we stayed at the seton hotel in oct 13 for 5days and could not fault it the rooms were spotless .we had a shared bathroom but there was no problems it was just like having your own bathroom and it was spotless great location and the staff could not be more helpful would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to new York we have stayed in new York three times before and the hotels have been good but this was the best friendly welcome and has every think you need big thank you to all the staff at the seton hotel.

Room Tip: best budget hotel you will find in new York.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel was always clean and the staff where very friendly and helpful. We left one of our purses on the airport shuttle. Da'ryl at the front desk helped us get a hold of them and checked us into our room early. In a great location easy walking distance to loys of great attractions.

2  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at the end of Sept-start of Oct and have no complaints. Our room was small but lovely and had everything we needed, including a TV and hair dryer. Room was spotless, was cleaned everyday. Bathroom was perfect. Staff were always helpful. Free wifi in the room was a massive plus for us. You could also use in the lobby too as they provide a computer and iPad. Free tea and coffee was available in the lobby. They had a lounge (which we just happened not to use) but it looked very comfy. The hotel itself is very secure and the lift is cool! Lol!

Now the most important part, the location. This hotel is located in the best possible location in New York City. It's a 3 min walk to Grand Central Station (where you can get a train to anywhere!). Around a 15/20 walk to the Empire State, the Rockerfeller centre, Times Square, Central Park etc. There are a couple of small convenience stores which open 24 hours located on the corners (min walk).

Overall the perfect hotel for a perfect trip to NYC. I would recommend to all.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Happycamper12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#200 of 470 in New York City
3,456 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#232 of 470 in New York City
5,006 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#414 of 470 in New York City
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#222 of 470 in New York City
1,590 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#358 of 470 in New York City
4,449 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#303 of 470 in New York City
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seton Hotel

Address: 144 East 40th Street, New York City, NY 10016-1762
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#117 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#141 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £81 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seton Hotel offers a variety of rooms catering to international and value conscious travelers. We offer beautifully restored accommodations at affordable prices, making us an ideal Midtown East choice. We have brought unique style and comfort to every guest room. There are several different room types including an economy option with shared bathrooms. The new lobby, fresh and unique in its design, presents a striking arrival experience. Our guest lounge is perfect for enjoying complimentary hot beverages, reading or relaxing in comfort and style. Close to the city's major shopping and entertainment venues, as well as Grand Central Station, the United Nations and many Park Avenue's corporate headquarters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seton Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing