We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Seton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seton Hotel
Ranked #200 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Good location near the Grand Central railway station. Friendly staff, spacious room and a nice clean bathroom. I read about recently renovated rooms but I don't think ours was one of them. The room had muddy-coloured walls and stale carpeting. At least compared to our room the pictures on the website are misleading! Door wasn't soundproof which we noticed particularly well because our room was located right next to the elevator and people passed by all the time. Overall, I would try another hotel next time but we did get our money's worth.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elina924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    323
    80
    14
    23
See reviews for
134
328
56
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I brought my daughter to NYC for her 21st birthday and booked a room at the Seton Hotel based on the reviews on Tripadvisor. At first my daughter and I were ambivalent about sharing a bathroom, but this was not a problem as the bathrooms were kept spotlessly clean at all times and we rarely had to wait to use one. The rooms are on the small side (as are most hotel rooms in NYC), but very comfortable. There is a separate lounge on the ground floor which is beautifully furnished and available for use by the guests. The location is also great, with Grand Central Station two streets away and Times Square within a comfortable walking distance.

However, the best part of this hotel is its staff. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they are polite to a fault. Thank you to Josh, Darell and the rest of the gang. They made our stay a memorable one and we hope to be back in the next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanneCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harbor city
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

First time staying in New York and so happy that we found the "Seton Hotel"!!! The decor was awesome. The staff was "outstanding" and so helpful. Room was comfortable and loved the bathroom. I have a cleaning issue and the room had met my cleaning expectations...cleanliness is very important to me! Only two things that I would recommend for people who book this hotel: 1. Don't get a room that's on the street because of all the noise. 2. Also don't get a room by the elevator because of the noise from the other guest or the people who work at the hotel. And just to be clear that my recommendations are mine and it's nothing negative against Seton...the hotel is awesome!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank islandlolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Small hotel about three blocks from Grand Central Station so an easy walk to Times Square but far enough away to be quite quiet and not too much traffic noise.

Booked through Expedia so when we arrived check in was no problem. I had requested a quiet room and that is what we got as the window faced out onto a back court yard. Being on the 4th floor helped too.

The air con was very noisy but it drowned out any of the traffic noise so a great nights sleep was had for the three nights we were there.

Our room had two double beds and a bathroom. Fine size, newly decorated and very clean. The beds were made every day when we were out and supplies replenished.

One small elevator which is old fashioned but worked fine.

We were happy to hand our key in everytime we left and it was good to have a wee chat with the staff when we came back to collect it.

Free coffee just off reception and a comfortable lounge to sit in if you don't want to go back up to your room.

Check out was at 11 am but they were happy to keep our luggage until we were ready to leave for the airport at 4pm.

My only complaint - which is minor is that there is no mirror in the bedroom, only in the bathroom. There is a dressing table area in the bedroom but there was a picture hanging where the mirror should really have been but maybe this will be remedied at a later date.

Location is brilliant as is Scotty's diner which is just a 5 minute walk away.

Definitely happy to recommend this hotel to anyone staying in NYC.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hill-run_bisom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Thanks Seton hotel for our great stay. We had a renovated room on the 3rd floor and yes it was small, but it's the same in European city's so we're used to it. The bed was comfy and the shower good. Our curtain wouldn't close, which was a problem, since the office across the street kept their bright lights on and we also wanted some privacy. Eventually the wire got cut for the night and the next day they fixed it. Still it won't shutt al the way, but we just put our coats in front of it.

The location is great, near Top of The Rock and Times Square and a 10 minute cab drive from Meatpacking and lower Manhattan.

No breakfast, but Scotty's Diner just around the corner is great.

Special thanks to Emanuelle! Who was so kind in giving us advice about some restaurants, making the resevration for us and arranged a transfer to the airport.

Oh, and it smells so good when entering the lobby... Scotch&Soda?

Room Tip: Ask for a room with private bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KelenRog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My friend and I recently had a long weekend in New York. This was our first visit and was all booked through Expedia. We really enjoyed our experience at the Seton Hotel. The rooms were perfectly big enough having 2 queen sized beds. The en suite bathroom was spotlessly clean and new by the look of things. Our room was on the fourth floor next to the elevator, but we never noticed any noise from it. The hotel is well placed and within easy walking distance of Grand Central which took approximately 5 minutes to walk to, Times Square was probably about 15 minutes walk. There is a great diner on Lexington called Scotty's which took about 2 minutes to walk to and the breakfasts were great. All in all I would recommend this hotel as it is far enough away that you are not bothered by too much noise at night, but as previously mentioned is well within walking distance of the major sights. The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

1) Claustrophobic. Even the "big rooms" have just a small window mostly facing a wall. Some of the 'good' rooms are painted in dark blue. Some genius decorator maybe wanted to make them feel smaller.
2) Bad maintenance. My wife got stuck in the elevator with our baby. It took some time until someone realized what was happening. The elevator hurt her arm.
3) More bad mainteinance. The air conditioner makes more noise than a war tank and it seems that they never changed its filter.
4) Family un-friendly. I've been reading reviews about the rude service and there is in fact a woman that seems to think that she's doing a favor to have you there. I did a reservation at the hotel through Booking.com and asked for a crib for my baby. Nobody replied so I thought it was fine, just like any other hotel. But they not only don't have cribs but also this receptionist woman with a bad attitude told me that: "it's not because you asked that we can do it". I asked why they never told me they don't have a crib. "ask to the manager at 4PM" was the answer. My baby slept in a mattress in the floor.
Conclusion: you can find something better, really. Keep looking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fseidl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leslee60, Owner at Seton Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
I am so sorry that your stay at the Seton Hotel did not meet your expectations. It does sound inconvenient that we could not offer you a crib when that was something you required. We will be taking that up with Booking.com since they made the reservation and they know this is something we don't provide. As far as "mechanical" elements are concerned, we take the utmost care and responsibility in the maintaining all the equipment in our building. We are fully compliant and up-to-date with all of the requirements of the New York City Department of Buildings. However, occasionally some things do malfunction and we handle these things as quickly as is humanly possible. I do hope you will accept our sincere apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#227 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,736 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#187 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#301 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#307 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#269 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seton Hotel

Property: Seton Hotel
Address: 144 East 40th Street, New York City, NY 10016-1762
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#119 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#145 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Seton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seton Hotel offers a variety of rooms catering to international and value conscious travelers. We offer beautifully restored accommodations at affordable prices, making us an ideal Midtown East choice. We have brought unique style and comfort to every guest room. There are several different room types including an economy option with shared bathrooms. The new lobby, fresh and unique in its design, presents a striking arrival experience. Our guest lounge is perfect for enjoying complimentary hot beverages, reading or relaxing in comfort and style. Close to the city's major shopping and entertainment venues, as well as Grand Central Station, the United Nations and many Park Avenue's corporate headquarters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seton Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing