We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hostel, definitely worth it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostelling International - New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostelling International - New York
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Hostel, definitely worth it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed here in late January and wasn't disappointed. Was there for three nights and had a nice stay. The rooms are pretty modern and have lockers. The bathrooms are also clean and modern. The location was really good, the subway is only across the street and takes around 10-15 minutes to get to Times Square. Probably on the pricey side in peak season. The hostel offered free tours and activities which was really good :) Overall was a good hostel, I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonzj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    767
    640
    155
    51
    33
See reviews for
50
44
934
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed here two times while visiting new york city and can say that I only just had an okay experience both times that I visited. The staff was pretty good, friendly, and helpful. The bathrooms and rooms were clean and I had no problems with the amenities. My stay included one free breakfast as well.

The first time I stayed in a co-ed dorm and got a pretty good night's sleep despite being a light sleeper but the second time I stayed in a female only dorm (which unfortunately they had changed my room from a smaller female dorm to a larger one). Girls in this room were chatting all night and it seems like quiet hours were not being enforced. Despite a no alcohol policy, this place felt like a party hostel. (especially with it's blaring music when you enter the place).

If you're looking for a party hostel or half quiet / half party hostel then this is your place. Overall I felt like the amenities were good, the hostel was clean and the price doesn't get much better in new york. (You'll be pressed to find something cheaper in the area). but if you're looking for a good night's sleep I don't think I can recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarrWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

great place to stay,clean rooms,good beds and great staff.
would be good if they had a bar there, but your not aloud to drink in the hostel.
good location it was nice to see other parts of new york and get out of the hustle and bussle.
i did a bar hop with the hostel which was a great way of meeting people.
i felt very safe in the hostel and the area was great aswell.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emily c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelD_13, Manager at Hostelling International - New York, responded to this review, 20 November 2014
Thanks very much for the recommendation. We know how much our hostel guests would appreciate a bar and one day we hope to provide one that's as fun as those we visit on our pub crawls. Be sure to visit our hostel again the next time you're in NYC to take part in all the new events and activities we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great place, felt nice and big, safe and each time I've been back they have improved it. Nice, large, clean rooms and it was always being cleaned by hostel staff. Good communal areas and reception staff. Right near the subway on 103rd st. A bit noisy staying in the rooms at the back of the building as it was nearer the outdoor communal area which had a lot of people smoking and talking late. It did feel a bit expensive however to stay there but would probably go back again as I know it well now.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kj1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is my second time staying at one of Hosteling International hostels. It's such a nice chain of hostels. prices vary depending on location. The staff were amazing at this hostel, very inviting and respectful also very very helpful, my experience in NY started in the right place with the right people. BTW great locker sizes!!

Room Tip: the 8 bed dorm is OK, just bring your own air freshener if you wish. Also the windows are operable w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaliaToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Good place to stay, nice and cheap food, friendly stuff and really cheap. Would reccomend for traveling alone or in couple..............................................................................

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomaznina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recife, PE
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

You can lear so much interacting with other roommates. Also, in order to save money, use the kitchen which is underground. You can buy food and fruits on small markets around and cook it and on your own.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eduardocrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#215 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,652 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#230 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#386 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#317 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#264 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#326 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International - New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - New York

Property: Hostelling International - New York
Address: 891 Amsterdam Ave., New York City, NY 10025-4403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 166 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostelling International - New York 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HI-New York is located in a landmark building on the Upper West Side. One block from Broadway and a main subway line. Minutes from glorious Central Park. Situated near Central Park and Columbia University, the hostel is in a historic Victorian Gothic-style building on the Upper West Side. It organizes walking tours, sporting events, group outings to concerts and more. There is capacity for 672 guests, and facilities include internet access, kitchen and laundry. From an all-day walking tour to a viewing of a New York movie in our cozy TV room to a quiet cup of coffee in our cafe, Hostelling International New York has everything you need to make your group happy. Play the latest games on Play Station 2. Check your email without leaving the hostel. Wash and dry your clothes in our new laundry room on the second floor. Pick up subway/bus MetroCards, sundries, NY souvenirs, calling cards, and more. The hostel is located steps from the subways and minutes from Times Square and other major NYC attractions. Ask our friendly staff what they can do for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Hostelling International - New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - New York Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing