We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostelling International - New York
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jundiai, SP
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

The building is good and the rooms are clean. They have good lockers downstairs for $5 which are big enough for a 32kg luggage.
Staff was always courteous and correct, even when we had a little hiccup on a day.
Only thing i'd improve a little is the air quality, i thought the air conditioner was not very effective. But still, being in a room with other 7 guys... that is a but understandable LOL.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fyassko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelD_13, Manager at Hostelling International - New York, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our facilities and staff to be top-notch. The issue with the air quality is something that does come with the territory, but something that our team is constantly working to improve. Take care and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    774
    645
    156
    51
    35
See reviews for
50
45
945
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Very friendly environment! All guests and staff are super respectfull
The place is huge and beautiful, very clean. It's only one block away form the subway.
Only thing, the email I got said free breakfast and then it wasn't free.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estefania G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelD_13, Manager at Hostelling International - New York, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
We appreciate your feedback on your recent stay. It is nice to know that you found our hostel to be friendly and welcoming. Sorry to hear that you were misinformed about the breakfast. It is only available with the price of our 4 and 6 bed dorms. We will work on correcting any incorrect wording on our website and confirmation letters. Thank you for calling this to our attention. Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Very close to subway. Free breakfast coupons are brilliant and the breakfast is sufficient if a little sparce, we usually got a Bagel cream cheese and tea/coffee. Showers very clean and a brilliant pub crawl and clubbing night was had, clubbing night was amazing. Got to meet so many brilliant people on this trip through the hostel. Would recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Beeks873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelD_13, Manager at Hostelling International - New York, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Meeting new people is sometimes the best part of any experience and we are thrilled to hear that you got involved in our activities and did just that. We hope you plan on visiting us again soon. Be sure to tell your friends about us! Take care and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

This hostel is friendly, clean and, in my option, fairly quiet.
The location is ok, although if you want to be in the middle of things (i.e Times Sq) this probably isn't for you. Saying that, it's close to the subway (3-4mins walk) and a 10-15 ride to midtown. It's also only a ten min walk to the upper east corner of Central Park.
They had organised activities (pub crawls, tours BBQs etc) every day, although I didn't do any, I think they were good.
Overall a good, cheap place to stay in Manhattan.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Rae S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelD_13, Manager at Hostelling International - New York, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
We are glad to hear you enjoyed the hostel and had no trouble getting around the city. Thanks for offering this feedback to fellow travelers. Let us know if you're visiting NYC again and we'll be happy to help you out. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

This was the first hostel I have ever stayed in and have to say I was really surprised at how good it was.

The communal areas are kept tidy and nice to hang out in, the cafe has loads of different options of food and drinks. Bathrooms and toilets again are well maintained and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Have to say if you get a choice stay in a 6 or 8 bed dorm as these are nicer than the 12 bed ones, as my friend and I stayed in both.

They have around 2 or 3 activities on everyday which is really good!

Location wise it's a bit far out of downtown however there is a subway close by, which makes easy work of getting there...just get very hot whilst on subway though! However there are some good pubs close by and lots of places to eat too!

Would definitely recommend this place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshie_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelD_13, Manager at Hostelling International - New York, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
We appreciate your recommendation and we hope other travelers like you choose our hostel for their NYC experience. Take care and let us know when you're traveling back our way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostrava, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

This was the first hostel I ever stayed in. My boyfriend booked if for me at the end of our stay in America (he flew one day before me), based on his own good experience with it. I liked the safety of my locker, I liked the room which was quiet even though there were other girls, the common area is huge and is equipped with computers with internet. Staff were really helpful, showers and room clean. They even offer the paid lockers to store your luggage after you check out, which was just great. If you are choosing between several hostels, I would say book this one.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aichinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelD_13, Manager at Hostelling International - New York, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
It sounds like everything worked out for you during your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and we hope you have the opportunity to visit us again. Thank you for sharing your experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

My brother and I spent a week over NYE here and despite the hostel being at capacity and New York being at freezing temperatures, the hostel had a fantastic vibe, the bathrooms were amazingly clean, the staff were friendly and helpful and the social activities were fun! Only downside was that the heaters in the bedrooms were really really noisy, but that's only a small complaint. Great location, subway and supermarkets within 5 min walk.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theanita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelD_13, Manager at Hostelling International - New York, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
That is cool that you and your brother got to spend the New Year at our hostel. We are happy to hear it was a warm, safe place for you guys to relax and meet new people. Our heaters have been known to make noise when service is needed and we hope this issue has since been resolved. Please feel free to come back and visit us the next time you are staying in NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#389 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,737 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#227 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#309 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#268 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International - New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - New York

Property: Hostelling International - New York
Address: 891 Amsterdam Ave., New York City, NY 10025-4403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 163 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostelling International - New York 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HI-New York is located in a landmark building on the Upper West Side. One block from Broadway and a main subway line. Minutes from glorious Central Park. Situated near Central Park and Columbia University, the hostel is in a historic Victorian Gothic-style building on the Upper West Side. It organizes walking tours, sporting events, group outings to concerts and more. There is capacity for 672 guests, and facilities include internet access, kitchen and laundry. From an all-day walking tour to a viewing of a New York movie in our cozy TV room to a quiet cup of coffee in our cafe, Hostelling International New York has everything you need to make your group happy. Play the latest games on Play Station 2. Check your email without leaving the hostel. Wash and dry your clothes in our new laundry room on the second floor. Pick up subway/bus MetroCards, sundries, NY souvenirs, calling cards, and more. The hostel is located steps from the subways and minutes from Times Square and other major NYC attractions. Ask our friendly staff what they can do for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hostelling International - New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - New York Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing