We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staying at the Marmara” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marmara Manhattan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marmara Manhattan
Ranked #227 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Woodstock, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Staying at the Marmara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Marmara in the upper east side of Manhattan for several weeks this past year. As hard as it was to be away from home, the staff at the Marmara always made me like I was home with their professionalism, upbeat attitudes and willingness to always go that extra step to make my stay a delightful one. It actually felt like my second home. The apartments are great and our favorite part was sitting in the living room in the evening surrounded by New York City apartment lights. And it's always nice to have Hameed or Anthony or many of the others who greet you at the door with smiles on their faces. Although everyone is great, (Nestle and all the front desk staff), when it comes to customer service - there's Dennis Young who will always be there for you and is your lifeline to New York City. Dennis has to be the most positive, upbeat person you'll ever meet and a good one to know while staying at the Marmara. I miss my "family" at the Marmara. Hope you enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Your “family” misses you too, and were thrilled by your incredible review. With all the perks of our apartment style hotel suites, the sheer square footage, the stunning views and the Upper East side location, to have your fondest memories be of the “professional, upbeat, willing” staff is the greatest achievement of all. We cannot thank you enough to be considered “your second home” and are all eager to see you walk through the front doors again.

Thank you,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    312
    72
    28
    21
See reviews for
350
221
34
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Was absolutely impressed by all aspects of this hotel. The hotel staff was helpful in every way. They went out of their way, especially Rojiny and Vanessa. We reserved a three bedroom apartment and it was so clean, comfortable and spacious. We also had a view of the Empire State Building that made our stay perfect. I looked forward to going back to the hotel each evening to go out on the balcony and view the city.
The beds and the bedding were very comfortable and inviting. Loved the decor in the lobby. Very quite part of town and close to many restaurants.
If I had to find any downside to staying at the Marmara, it would be the distance to the subway station; however, I believe a closer stop is in the process of being built.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise 3 bedroom units are very spacious Ask for a corner unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Conventionlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
What an extreme honor to achieve the accolade “Everything was perfect”, you have truly made our day, thank you. Now, you have set the bar very high for your return trip, yet have full confidence our “helpful in every way staff” are up the task and looking forward the challenge.

Thank you,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We - a widely travelled German couple + baby - stayed at the Marmara in a 1 BR suite on one of the top floors of the building during a six week business trip.

Although there are newer and more stylish hotels in Manhattan, our well maintained, perfectly clean suite, looking as displayed on the website, had decent and pleasant design and furniture with kitchen and bathroom fully equipped for a long term stay.

We particularly liked the city views, the NY times delivered every morning to us and the professional and friendly Marmara staff. The room service was perfect. Dennis’ front desk team, the doormen and the handymen were at all times supportive, flexibly and – literally immediately - responding to our questions and needs.

The only downside: The subway construction works on 2nd Ave on weekdays and the all together not perfect noise shielding against the usual Manhattan background noise.

However, we can only recommend the Marmara !!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank UBB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kivanc O, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
A tremendous thank you from all the “supportive, professional and friendly staff”, having such an lengthy stay makes your wonderful review all the more poignant and gratifying. Thank you for your recommendation, and when the construction ends, the “flexible” staff and great views will still be here for your homecoming… hurry back.

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We spent the Thanksgiving holiday in beautiful NYC and stayed at the Marmara Manhattan. We are a family of four (2 teenagers.) Our accomodations were a deluxe one bedroom on a low floor. The apartment was spacious and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. Here are the downsides: the location is a bit out of the way so expect to walk a lot and/or take public transportation. We stayed in this location because it was close to family. Secondly, the 2nd Avenue subway project is in it's 2nd year of five (I believe) and this constuction is a nuisance. Many businesses in the area have closed. Lastly and more importantly the full bathroom for the bedroom was in need of renovation. Our sink was cracked in 5 places. The floor tiles were all loose. To be honest, we did not complain or ask to move because we knew the hotel was full for the holiday and after Thanksgiving day we did not want to move all our things to another room. I would suggest to the owners that they gut the bathroom. Our price was fair but high for this time of accomodation but the higher price was due to the holiday. I have stayed in several other suite type hotels in NYC, they cost a bit more but I think it's worth the money to stay in an environment that is more comfortable and relaxing. In the hotel's defense, I did see a deluxe two bedroom and the bathroom while not luxurious was in much more acceptable condition.

Room Tip: The higher floor the better. Not all rooms are in the same condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kivanc O, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for pointing out all the positive aspect… value, spacious, clean and best of all ”extraordinary” staff, high praise indeed! We are grateful you chose the Marmara Manhattan and hope to entice you back now that we know your family is so close. I am sorry your suite was showing signs of wear, we have great plans for our future and are eager for you to be part of it.

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We have stayed at the Marmara Manhattan multiple times and have always been pleased. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the location is great for seeing our family, shopping, and public transportation. There are several groceries nearby for extended stay needs and the bagel shop in the next block is great for breakfast. We especially like the roominess of the suites. Dennis and Vanessa on the front desk are exceptional hosts and have always been most helpful with our needs. We will stay there again!!!

Room Tip: The studio's are a little cramped for someone with claustrophobia so we always get a 1 bedroom s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tighegsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kivanc O, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
A telling barometer for hotels is the ability to please our valued guest over and over again, we count ourselves lucky we have you as our gauge. Thank you so much for your loyalty, and keep coming back, it keeps getting better.

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Stayed in a one bedroom unit on the 8th floor Wed and Thurs over Thanksgiving. The unit was perfect. Great view of the city. My husband cooked our Thanksgiving dinner and we had plenty of space for all our quests. On the down side, Friday morning we woke up to the sound of the construction outside. Being on a higher floor may have been quieter. That however is temporary. We will return !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kivanc O, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
What more could you ask for, “perfect unit”, “great view”, “space for all”, Oh.. and your husband cooking dinner (good for you). Thank you for the great review, when you come back with all luck that “temporary” sound will be a thing of the past.

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

The Marmara met all of our expectations. 1 bedroom condo was larger than many NYC apartments. Subway construction is still happening and there is a fair amount of general street noise, so bring earplugs to sleep. Got room on Hotwire so price couldn't be beat. If you are okay with taking subway/bus to get across/down town or have reason to be on upper east side. Do not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phreakphan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kivanc O, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
We are overjoyed to hear we “met all your expectations” and the “friendly helpful staff” was a large part of the equation, thank you. We want to offer you the same, “do not hesitate” when ready that “larger than many NYC apartments” will be there for your anticipated return.

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#266 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#281 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#364 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#161 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#65 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#250 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marmara Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara Manhattan

Property: The Marmara Manhattan
Address: 301 East 94th Street, New York City, NY 10128-4718
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#144 Family Hotel in New York City
#171 Business Hotel in New York City
#187 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marmara Manhattan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marmara Manhattan offers a combination of studio, one, two and three bedroom suites for your travel needs; whether it is for a few days of vacation or a few months of stay in the exclusive Upper East Side neighborhood. You will only be a short distance away from famous New York City attractions like the Central Park, the Museum Mile and Madison Avenue boutiques. Our suites provide for all your comfort needs during a stay at your 'home-away-home' with fully equipped kitchens and plenty of sunlight. Hotel featues: Complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour concierge, 24-hour exercise room, art gallery, pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your The Marmara Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing