We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay while in NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Marmara Manhattan
Ranked #181 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This is a great place for families. We had a one bedroom apt for the four of us with a sofa bed for the two teens. The living space was perfect - so much better than being holed up in a small hotel room although, if I'm honest, the sofa bed wasn't ideal - not that comfortable for long bodies but probably fine for smaller/younger children. Would book a two bed apt if we returned en famille. The lounge, kitchenette and bathrooms (both a very decent size) and bedroom were excellent - all clean, well equipped and spacious. They provide lots of toiletries and towels. The views from our high floor were stunning and we all really enjoyed our time here. The staff on reception are very friendly and efficient. Its location is very good - an easy walk to either Central Park (Upper east side) brings you in very close to the Guggenheim etc and also the apartment is pretty close to the subway - about 15 mins walk, if that. There are supermarkets in the local vicinity and a fantastic restaurant almost opposite - Nick's (pizza and pasta). If you can get a table there - they don't take bookings - it's a great night out, excellent food and super fast service. All in all - highly recommended. Not cheap but where is in NYC?

Room Tip: We asked for a high level and got it - great views of the city in the early morning and at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NomadGirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

We are so glad you were able to enjoy all the comforts of apartment living while you were here at the Marmara Manhattan. It is so nice to have the extra space, and as you pointed out the views truly are “stunning”. We are ideal for families as many point out, and hope to see you when you return and experience the incredible value of our Two and Three Bedroom accommodations, a rare find in New York. Thank you so much for your kind review.

Sincerely,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 891 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

The one bedroom apartment on the 6th floor was great for our family stay in New York. With a full kitchen it gave the option of self catering. The apartment was very comfortable and the staff of the hotel friendly and helpful. A real plus was the access to laundry facilities. We had two issues during our stay. One was that the sofa bed mechanism broke. The bed was replace that day. The other issue was with the heater in the room which was crackling and sparking. This was not repaired during our 12 day stay in which time it was getting very cold. There seemed to be a genuine lack of communication between reception and maintenance as to what was going on.

However the location is good, a couple of blocks from Central Park and close to two subway stops. As the apartment faced 2nd Ave the road noise and subway construction noise can be annoying at times. There is no noise from other apartments so these apartments would benefit from improved glazing.

Room Tip: Higher floors not facing 2nd Ave would be quieter. Good base for longer stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaviKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

One of our most cherished amenities is the option of self-catering, it is rare to find a such a user friendly full kitchen in New York, so glad you enjoyed yours. Thank you for pointing out that in addition to the size of our Suites, the full kitchen and “helpful friendly staff” there are laundry facilities available 24 hours a day conveniently located next to our Gym. Now you have no more excuses to get that workout in, the Gym is also open 24 hours… anytime there is time to kill two birds with one stone. Thank you for your great review and constructive criticism, we are sincerely sorry for any inconvenience regarding your noisy heater. The Marmara Manhattan is truly “Good for families” and we cannot wait to host yours again soon.

Sincerely,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at the Marmara for 8 days including Christmas, being the 2 of us plus our 3 grown "kids" we needed a 3 bedroom apartment. The apartment was great, clean and modern, great facilities, 3 bathrooms and wi-fi plus washer, dryer and kitchenette. The staff and their service and helpfulness were excellent. The larger aprtments are (I think) mainly on the upper floors, so we got views of the East River and across to the Empire State building. Ray's Pizza across the street, Bagel Express around the corner and plenty of eating spots within 2 blocks, 96th Street subway station only 2 blocks away, and Central Park and the Museums are are only a 10-15 min walk. Great hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WilkoSnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

“Great hotel in a great location”,…. guess there is nothing more to say, but we are so glad you did. Our 3 Bedroom Suites are truly a marvel couple that with “helpful and excellent” staff, NOW there truly nothing more to say. Thanks a million….no two million.

Best,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Our stay in The Marmara Manhattan for five full, but glorious days, in the first week of December 2013, was outstanding. Four girls travelling together, wanting to experience all of what N.Y had to offer,we could not have been happier with the service, helpfulness and hospitality. We stayed on the 22nd floor, with a double and twin spacious rooms, with breath taking views of the East River and the Empire State Building. The staff, especially Dennis and Tyler, could not have been more accommodating, with directions and recommendations to local diners for breakfasts or to the nearest subway, which we quickly mastered, and was soon venturing far and wide. As someone has already stated, we saw a little of the real New York, where we were situated, and because we were especially blessed with exceptional mild weather, for that time of year, we did a lot of walking. Central Park was very close by, to which we took advantage of, enjoyed all of what it had to offer, and then ended up Downtown amongst it all going on. Every evening we would arrive 'home' late, after our ventures, but always greeted with courteous and welcoming staff. The rooms were exceptionally clean, very spacious and very warm. A big, Thank You, to all the staff, as nothing was to much trouble, even when it came to keeping our luggage in a holding area, as we wanted to squeeze all we could out of our last day, before we had to venture home later that evening. A fabulous time had by us all!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

We get a warm fuzzy feeling every time one of our cherished guests refer to the Marmara Manhattan as their “home”. We could receive no greater compliment, thank you. “Four girls in N.Y.” sounds like a fantastic beginning to a great vacation, and sounds like you took full advantage. We are so glad you enjoyed the Upper East Side and chose to use the “real New York” as your jumping off point to all of New York. Thank you for your marvelous review.

Best,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Marmara Manhattan for 8 days over the Christmas New Year period in 2013/2014 and couldn't have been happier with our accommodation. We stayed in a fabulous 3 bedroom apartment on the 31st floor with sweeping views of the East River and the Empire State Buikding. What a beautiful way to start each day! The closest subway line was 4 blocks away although the 2nd Avenue subway currently under construction will mean there's one literally at the door. The staff were attentive but not obtrusive and were always ready with a warm greeting whenever you left or returned to the building. The doormen deserve a special mention for volunteering to get taxis when the temperature was -12 and for doing it with a smile. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Lynbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Christmas and New Year in New York, what a great trip! We could not be happier you were able to holiday with us, and even happier you enjoyed the “fabulous” 3 Bedroom Suite. Our doormen are very thankful for their “special mention” and are eager to be of service to those you would “definitely” recommend to us. Indeed you are correct, when you return we look forward to having our very own subway stop, what could be more convenient.

Best,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

As a party of 7 staying for 5 days we needed somewhere spacious and the three bed roomed suite ticked ALL the boxes ! On the 31st floor it was superb !! Plenty of room and all the facilities we required ! Staff were excellent too ! Eg our toaster developed a fault brand new one delivered to suite within the hour ! No problems with WI Fi as other reviewers have stated ! Worked fine ! And the building works going on outside did not affect us at all ! Plenty of takeaways , pubs and supermarkets nearby too ! Nice meal at Nico's just across the street ! Loved the location also ! You got to see the real New York with friendly people going about their daily business unlike the more touristy Downtown ! Disaster struck on our fourth night though ! Our Mother became seriously ill and had to be rushed to hospital ! A great big thank you to Denise who calmly called the emergency services while we were all in a state of panic ! Mum had to stay in hospital for a week ! Panic again ! What about accommodation ??? No problem ! We got to stay for the extra days in the suite ! So to Dennis , Robert , Tyler ,Vanessa, Ida thank you all so much ! Also the doorman ( never got his name !) who enquired about Mum daily! Your help and understanding at this difficult time was much appreciated ! ( hope you liked the flowers Denise !!! ) mum is back home and recovering well !
Will definitely return to the Marmara sometime in the future ! Cannot recommend it or the staff highly enough !!

Room Tip: If your a large party eg 7-8 people ask for room 3103 ! You won't be disappointed !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scotslad17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

We are very pleased that “Mum” is on the road to recovery, and all wish her a fast one. Some reviews speak for themselves and yours is a stand out, thank you for taking the time to mention so many staff members by name, you have made their day. We are thrilled that you have promised to return and look forward to that day, hope that day is soon.

Best,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We arrived late from LA- the check in was easy and the staff always courteous.The room was clean and comfortable and serviced daily.The hotel is located in the Upper East side.After we got our bearings we realised we were only a short walk to Central Park and also 96th St Subway station.Travel on the subway was inexpensive and easy.We enjoyed our New York holiday immensely and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank THEONLYONE_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

We are “immensely” happy we were able to host your first stay in New York here on the Upper East side, and appreciative of your kind review. Now that you have your bearings and a seasoned New Yorker we want to invite you back to enjoy all of them, hope to see you again in the spring.

Best,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#212 of 469 in New York City
779 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#282 of 469 in New York City
876 reviews
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#133 of 469 in New York City
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#395 of 469 in New York City
715 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#73 of 469 in New York City
1,893 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#93 of 469 in New York City
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marmara Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara Manhattan

Address: 301 East 94th Street, New York City, NY 10128-4718
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#139 Family Hotel in New York City
#166 Business Hotel in New York City
#182 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £137 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marmara Manhattan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marmara Manhattan offers a combination of studio, one, two and three bedroom suites for your travel needs; whether it is for a few days of vacation or a few months of stay in the exclusive Upper East Side neighborhood. You will only be a short distance away from famous New York City attractions like the Central Park, the Museum Mile and Madison Avenue boutiques. Our suites provide for all your comfort needs during a stay at your 'home-away-home' with fully equipped kitchens and plenty of sunlight. Hotel featues: Complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour concierge, 24-hour exercise room, art gallery, pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marmara Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing