We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great suites for extended stay and family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Marmara Manhattan
Ranked #170 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great suites for extended stay and family vacation”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We have just stayed at the Marmara Manhattan for a period of 6 weeks.

I am a nanny travelling with a family, and because of this we were looking for a 4-bedroom apartment/suite in New York City, and found it nearly impossible to find something suitable.

The three-bedroom suite was perfect for our needs - the queen bedroom with ensuite provided a private area for myself (the nanny) and the walk-in-robe in the master bedroom was the perfect size to put the baby's port-a-cot (you could even fit a rollaway bed in there if you wanted) so that he had his own "room" (which was one of our requirements) but was still close to his parents.

I've stayed in quite a few New York hotels, and I have to say that I didn't think it was even possible to get a suite of this size in the Manhattan area. The bedrooms are large and the beds are VERY comfortable, with nice white cotton linen and duvets/doonas.

The washer/dryer in the room worked well, and made doing laundry so convenient and easy. The kitchen has a dishwasher which they provide dishwasher liquid for in a big bottle, which was great.

The heating worked really well and we were in NYC at a very cold time. Water in the bathrooms was hot (which is a good thing).

There are computers (3?) in the lobby for guest use, and they have printers as well, so that you can print out tickets, boarding passes etc, for no charge. There is also a drink vending machine and a snack vending machine in the lobby.

Of course, there were some "not so good" things, but they didn't disturb our day-to-day life enough to be "negatives".

If you are planning on staying a long time and or doing any serious cooking you might need to pick up some extra utensils - what is provided is very basic, we had to buy a decent knife, a cutting board and an oven dish to be able to make basic meals. The standard provisions include steak knives, regular cutlery, plates/bowls/mugs/tea cups/glasses/wine glasses. Two saucepans (1 large, 1 small) and one small frying pan, and basic utensils (egg flip, spoon etc.)

Other reviews have mentioned the noise from the street in relation to the 2nd Avenue Subway project. We were on the 23rd floor and still heard noise from the street, including noise from the subway project starting from 7am. This is easily rectified with earplugs if you are a light sleeper, but be aware that the noise does exists and can be heard from quite high up - also sirens etc. are loud, and there is a hospital across the road so sirens are often frequent. However, I don't think there are many places in Manhattan that you can escape this day-to-day noise, and it didn't affect the children napping during the day so it didn't really bother us. This project is not supposed to finish until 2016.

The window blinds are white and have gaps around the edges, which means that they don't block out all the light, particularly on the northern/eastern side of the building where the sun rises. I struggled to sleep in past 6am on a lot of days due to this, and because the rooms are painted white and have white linen the light bounces around a lot.

The internet was frustrating as there are apparently numerous routers in the hotel and our computers/iPads continually disconnected and reconnected. We spoke to staff a couple of times about it, but in the end we just made do. It wasn't too bad, but frustrating when it would drop out in the middle of an important Skype call/meeting.

In general the property is showing signs of wear and tear, but is clean, comfortable and has very friendly staff.

The staff were wonderful - Dennis and his front-desk staff were always helpful and friendly. The doormen were always friendly and willing to go up to the corner to hail us a cab on cold days. For an extended stay housekeeping came once a week and were flexible with what time we wanted it done (due to children's sleeps). Requests to the front desk were responded to quickly.

Although a little out of the way, the area is safe and has the necessary amenities - there is a Rite Aid Pharmacy on 96th St, just a 2 minute walk away. There is a Key Foods Supermarket on 92nd St, 2 minutes in the other direction. Up on 94th and 3rd Avenue there is a Duane Read, and a CVS up on 91st and 3rd. About a 10 minute walk away there is a large strip of shops on 86th Street between 2nd Ave and Lexington, including Borders, Childrens Place, Foot Locker, Best Buy, Victoria's Secret, H&M etc. There is also a good grocery store called Fairway which sells lots of organic products and also has a good international section. Beware the crowds at Fairway on the weekends though - try and go on a weekday!

There is a good Italian place across the road (Nick's) and if you check out grubhub.com there are hundreds of restaurants locally within walking distance, or alternatively, who deliver.

The "6 local" subway is on 96th and Lexington (about a 10 minute walk - others have said that it is "uphill" but I just wanted to point out that this hill is quite slight, and very manageable). The 4 & 5 train are also on this line (the green line) but they go express and the closest stop is 86th St and Lexington (15-20 minute walk). The subway doesn't go directly to midtown/Times Square but you can change to the NQR (yellow) trains at 59th/Lexington stop. A taxi to 86th Street is only about $6 (plus tip) and a taxi to midtown/Times Square is about $15-20 (plus tip), depending on the traffic. Allow about half an hour to get to the Theatre District in busy times.

Overall I would definitely recommend the Marmara to families needing "space" in New York City, where it is hard to find, and to people not necessarily wanting to be in the busy-ness of Midtown and the tourist areas. The views from the higher floors are gorgeous, and I will miss being able to see the Empire State Building from my living room window!

Room Tip: Ask for a high room to try and get away from the street noise, but beware that even on the 23rd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We have thought about and all we can say is...WOW! So comprehensive, honest, fair and well just wonderful. Thank you for your gargantuan efforts, they are very Impressive, constructive, and taken to heart.

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    322
    75
    28
    21
See reviews for
370
232
34
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed four days in a suite. It was very comfortable. The welcoming is palatial. Very large and very clean suite. We had a great time despite the work of the metro just down that we were not disturbed at all.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank 665sli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
It would be remiss if we did not profusely thank you for the four word sentence that has made our week, “The welcoming is palatial” has left us humbled and honored. We are eternally grateful.

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille, France
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a week, it was great, clean, close to two subways and the staff were very friendly, the rooms were cleaned daily to a high standard. The views were fantastic and dont forget Rays Pizza over the road, great food. This is the only hotel we would stay in New York your hotel is a credit to all your hard working friendly staff, cant wait to return and try your new hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig00715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Many many thanks from the “hard working friendly staff”, for most, that makes all the difference. Now that we are the “only hotel” and have given such high credit, what date shall we make your next reservation? Soon we hope.

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The hotel is not to far from the centre of town nice large clean suits & friendly service, There are some restaurants & coffee bars close by along with some pizza takeaways, 24 hour convenience stores & a chemist, Very close to the tube line in Lexington Ave which will take you to all the way downtown without changing unless you want to go to Time SQ where you will have to change & are very safe to use cab fares to the hotel from Time SQ is appox $15 plus tips I would recommend this hotel suits to anyone who wants to go self catering.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your fine review. We are happy you were able to take full advantage of our great location here on the Upper East Side and let others know of its conveniences. Self-catering is definitely the wave of the future and glad to hear your endorsement of its virtues. We greatly appreciate your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Found this hotel in a pinch while caregiving at Mount Sinai. From phone call to reserve, late night arrival to accommodating arrangements with reception in a stressful situation, the Marmara Manhatten team delivered. Very comfortable and well appointed apartment-style suite. Concierge Dennis Young came through when we needed flexibility. I will return when I am in the 'hood.

Room Tip: Not the swiftest elevator but well worth it for the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAPTKAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Are you in a pinch and need a “well appointed” and “very comfortable” apartment-style Suite in New York City? Do not worry our valued guest say you have found it! Thank you for your great response, we can’t wait to see you again when you are in our “hood”.

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 10 nights well visiting New York. The hotel is nice throughout and rooms where cleaned every day. Rooms where big and small signs of wear and tare. Location was a bit out the way but subway is 5mins walk which takes u anywhere in Manhattan. There is a lot of works outside the hotel for the new subway which could be a bit noisy on the lower floors. Overall we enjoyed our stay in the hotel and where made to feel welcome by all staff.

Room Tip: Higher you are the less noise from road works Buy a unlimited subway pass to get about
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
We might be content if you were made to feel welcome by a team member, however not just one team member, but by “all”, now that’s thrilling. Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your enjoyable stay, and hurry back.

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Needed a hotel in the UES for a few days while I was at a conference at Mt. Sinai. They have discount rates through the hospital which was nice. I got a studio and was pleasantly surprised, the rooms are nicely appointed, quiet, stylish, and comfortable. I think it was about 180/night including a kitchen and comfy bed and nice bathroom, which is a steal in NYC terms! Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
With all the glory going to our extremely large spaces, thank you for sharing how “comfortable” and “nicely appointed” the ample Studio Suites are. We will offer a hint to all interested parties, book early they go fast!

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#239 of 467 in New York City
752 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#276 of 467 in New York City
847 reviews
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#126 of 467 in New York City
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#383 of 467 in New York City
704 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#73 of 467 in New York City
1,850 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#79 of 467 in New York City
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marmara Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara Manhattan

Property: The Marmara Manhattan
Address: 301 East 94th Street, New York City, NY 10128-4718
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#140 Family Hotel in New York City
#167 Business Hotel in New York City
#183 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marmara Manhattan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marmara Manhattan offers a combination of studio, one, two and three bedroom suites for your travel needs; whether it is for a few days of vacation or a few months of stay in the exclusive Upper East Side neighborhood. You will only be a short distance away from famous New York City attractions like the Central Park, the Museum Mile and Madison Avenue boutiques. Our suites provide for all your comfort needs during a stay at your 'home-away-home' with fully equipped kitchens and plenty of sunlight. Hotel featues: Complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour concierge, 24-hour exercise room, art gallery, pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Marmara Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing