We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marmara Manhattan
Ranked #184 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed here for 7 days in May 14. We have booked Superior 1 Bedroom Suite. Initially our trip started on sour note. We used GO! Airport Shuttle service to get from JFK to hotel. It took us 2+ hours to do this trip. We were driven around and waited on airports. Big no no for next time.

When we arrived at hotel we already were rather exhausted. The check-in went smooth, fast and efficient. Our room was ready. We were upgraded to 3 Bedroom Suite on upper floors. The apartment was great and specious. It had everything needed for a say. Kitchen was fully equipped. Cable TV in all rooms. Great deal of storage space. A washer and drier in entrance.

Location was ok. It was not as close to tourist spots or museums. But it was really close to metro and bus lines which take you there. There are number of grocery stores near the hotel, pizza place across the road, coffee places a block away.

All in all this is a great place to stay at if you are with family. We stayed here with our 5 year old and it really beats any hotel as you have enough place to run around and play with your children, and also have your own privacy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

New York is absolutely made of small village neighborhoods, each with their own charm and flavor. We are particularly pleased you discovered our charm here on the Upper East Side, not to mention the sheer square footage we have to offer. “All in all” we want you to remember this “great place” and hurry back, we’ll be expecting to see your name on our list.

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (893)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 893 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

My husband and i stayed at the Marmara Manhattan for two months (February and March, 2014) while we were having our Upper East Side apartment renovated. We were completely satisfied with our experience. Our one-bedroom suite was fully equipped with everything we needed for our stay. Most of the time, we had our meals in the suite, often purchasing take-out from the nearby restaurants and delis.

Importantly, the suite was extremely clean. The bed was very comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. Wifi was available.

We highly recommend the Marmara for anyone who is renovating their apartment in NYC! Of course, most of the guests were tourists, and the Marmara is well-located for exploring NYC.

Room Tip: Rooms that do not face Second Avenue are quieter. Higher floors are better for nice views and less n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

The tough thing about meeting great friends while they are encumbered with renovating is, contrary to popular belief, they actually do finish. Remember now that you are part of the family, at the least stop by on occasion to say hello. Actually, send all your friends and family, that will be even better yet, we will miss you.

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Nice, quiet Apartment Hotel at the Upper East Side New York. Middle of Central Park, near the big lake. Supermarket and shops around and only 15minutes with the subway to all the attractions of New York. (if you are in New York, buy a week ticket for the subway, it is the cheapest way to travel through the city) Do NOT use Tourist Big Busses ! (to expensive)
Hotel:
Not stylish BUT (and this is important for New York): quiet in the night !
Take a nice walk trough the central park in the morning and start your tour with this beautiful nature.
The Hotel have everything you need: sleeping room, kitchen, bathroom - perfect !

Room Tip: Book a room high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelMiles30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

You are 100% right about the Upper East Side, now that the long awaited Subway opening is winding down, and “quiet in the night” will once again reign supreme, what a joy for all. Thank you for the great review and pointing out just how centrally located we truly are to all the attractions, and we agree, nothing beats an early morning stroll through famed Central Park. We can’t wait until you return for another “perfect !” stay in New York.

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I stayed here recently for 10 days and enjoyed myself very much. The rooms are very spacious and quiet. My only complaint is that there was a smoker on my floor and it seemed as though the front desk staff was unable to stop them. Other than that, the staff was excellent and the room was comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suitcaseismycloset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

We are very pleased that you enjoyed yourself “very much” and found our Suites “very spacious and quite”, that makes us very happy. It makes us unhappy we were unable persuade your neighbor to follow the rules and inconvenienced you, we are confident we can make it up to you when you return, and enjoy a perfect stay.

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a 1 bedroom suite on the 5th. floor.
The room is huge, with separate bedroom, bathroom, living area, and a kitchen with all the amenities, even dryer and oven. Plenty of storage room also.
The bathroom is a bit small but functional with great lighting. The suite has large windows and a terrace.
This is a great location if you want to visit museums like the Metropolitan, Whitney, Frick, even American Museum of Natural History. Most are a 10-15 minutes walk, or a short cab drive away.
Central Park is also nearby.
There is no bar or restaurant in the Hotel (it's actually a apartment - hotel) but you have several mini markets nearby. Plenty of spots for breakfast also. Newark airport is about 38min or a $75 ride.
We had breakfast in our room. Every morning there are fresh packs of coffee and tea. There is a toaster, huge fridge, oven, microwave and a dishwasher.
The times we had breakfast outside we walked to Dtud or 5 little red hens, both of which I can recommend.
The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful. You have free desktops in the lobby and free wifi in the room.
If you are looking for a hotel to visit Times Square or Broadway this might be a bit of a far stay. The nearest subway is a 10 minutes walk and it takes you a 30 minute subway ride to Times Square. If you want more of New York this is a great place, since you have to ride the subway anyway.
I was told that a new subway would open very near the hotel at the end of 2014.
There are a few - minor letdowns. The curtains in bedroom en living room were a bit torn up (not a big issue but you pay more than $220 a night so it shouldn't be). Also the cables of the Tv's (you have 2 large led TV's) could be tucked away better.
Staying on the 5th. floor street noise in the morning will wake you up the first nights, so ask for a room higher up, you'll have a better view also.
They are going to open a new hotel on park av. Don't know the prices but I'll check it out when it opens.
Will I go back - yes, for the location (near central park), the huge comfortable room, free wifi and the great staff.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms higher up for the view and less street noise. Go to 5 little red hens or Dtud for coff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mightygreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Attention all Museum lovers, Marmara is a “great location” with “huge comfortable” rooms …..”(it’s actually an apartment)”. Thank you for sharing your experience for all to see, and how convenient our neighborhood is for anyone coming to New York. We all love the excitement of Time Square, however “If you want more of New York this is a great place” just a short subway ride away, we admire the way you put that. In addition, thank you for plugging the greatly anticipated opening of our state-of-the-art New York offering, Marmara Park Avenue coming very soon, we will see you there.

Best,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Our family of three stayed with you in March of this year. We were looking for a hotel with a little room to live instead of just a small hotel room, Marmara completely fit the bill. We had a spacious 2 bedroom suite which we loved! Our 8 year old loved being on the 18th floor, she would sit in the window ledge and just watch the people and traffic. We did all things a little girl could love in NYC, American Girl, The Plaza for Tea, Statue of Liberty, Dylans Candy Bar etc. It was not a problem that this hotel is not in Midtown, a short 2 block walk to the subway and you can be in the center of it all in 20-30 mins. It was nice to come back to a beautiful apartment after a long day of walking. We ordered groceries from Fresh Direct and had them delivered to our room the morning after we arrived, best decision since we didn't have to run out after getting in late at night. The front desk staff was incredibly polite and helpful with any questions we had. They have menus from the many ethnic restaurants in the area and we had lots of great meals delivered right to our door :) We enjoyed the walk to the subway every day, and truly miss our NYC neighborhood! We will be back :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amyrandyclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

We would love to announce that, “Marmara completely fit the bill”, what a wonderful start to a great review. What little girl would not love their first trip to New York packed with so many wonderful activities, and we’re grateful you brought to mind how conveniently located they were from your “beautiful apartment” with plenty of room with an awe inspiring view. We cannot tell you how delighted the “helpful” and “incredibly polite” staff received your acclaim, and our fantastic Upper East Side neighborhood restaurateurs will be in your debt for honorable mention. Please hurry back as we “truly miss” you too.

Best,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Positives: large, spacious rooms; big white fluffy towels; comfortable queen and sofa bed; full kitchen; laundry facilities; gym facilities; friendly service.

Negatives: noisy construction outside the hotel (not the hotel's fault)

Laundry is $1.50 per washing and drying load. You supply your own washing detergent. Laundry card can be purchased from the machine in the laundry room for $5 or you can use the one at front desk if they haven't lent it out to somebody else.

Friendly, superb and super-fast service. If you are staying longer than a week your room will only be serviced once. That wasn't a problem for us at all.

Nearest subway is uphill (not steep, more like a gradual incline) 96th street, only an 8-10 minutes walk, depending on how mobile you are. There is another subway on 86th street, but it is a bit of a walk. We didn't mind going to the 86th street station - we had a good look at the shops on the way.

Few convenience stores nearby: Rite Aid on corner of 2nd Ave and 96th street, Gristedes on 96th street. Ray's Pizza around the corner and Nick's (Italian restaurant)right across the road. There is also Nick's Bagels around the corner on 2nd Ave, worth checking out. Starbucks is nearby on 1st Ave (I think?) and 96th street opp. the subway.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. It is a short walk to Central Park and to Museum Mile. Make sure you have a map on hand to get your bearings. It is a little far from the midtown/downtown district but once you're on the subway you'll be at your destination in no time. If you are staying for more than 7 days, a metrocard is the way to go. You can purchase these at the station.

A great hotel, nice and warm. Air conditioning in our apartment, windows open a little to let in some fresh air. It'll be great once the 2nd Ave subway station is complete (in 2016?), then access to and from the hotel will be super, super easy.

Thank you to all the staff and especially the doorman (who was interested in NZ hip hop music), for your kindness and hospitality. We didn't even get to know your names but we are truly grateful. A great stay thanks to your hotel. We would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Due to the construction noise outside the hotel, ask for a room higher up. We were on the 16th floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

We really enjoyed your kind review. Thank you for emphasizing our unique housekeeping service options, having selected one of our customized plans. Once a week service was a great option, not only does this this increase the economic value, it is also a great help to our ecosystem in general. However, we offer an array of options, and of course customary daily service is offered for our traditionalist. “All the staff and especially the doorman” greatly appreciate your wonderful feedback, and “most definitely” will be eager to see you again.

Best,
The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#210 of 469 in New York City
784 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#282 of 469 in New York City
878 reviews
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#183 of 469 in New York City
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#393 of 469 in New York City
718 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#75 of 469 in New York City
1,896 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#90 of 469 in New York City
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marmara Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara Manhattan

Address: 301 East 94th Street, New York City, NY 10128-4718
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#139 Family Hotel in New York City
#166 Business Hotel in New York City
#182 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £133 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marmara Manhattan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marmara Manhattan offers a combination of studio, one, two and three bedroom suites for your travel needs; whether it is for a few days of vacation or a few months of stay in the exclusive Upper East Side neighborhood. You will only be a short distance away from famous New York City attractions like the Central Park, the Museum Mile and Madison Avenue boutiques. Our suites provide for all your comfort needs during a stay at your 'home-away-home' with fully equipped kitchens and plenty of sunlight. Hotel featues: Complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour concierge, 24-hour exercise room, art gallery, pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marmara Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing