We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Marmara Manhattan
Ranked #159 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We found The Marmara a really great place to stay in. It was really clean and tidy. Staff were very helpful. Rooms are really spacious. It is a bit of a distance from the main centre however you can get a taxi for quite cheap so it is in a handy enough location. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niamholeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    322
    74
    28
    21
See reviews for
369
232
34
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dianesenteney@aol.com
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We had booked a studio at this apartment hotel and got a one bedroom suite. It was very roomy, clean and comftorable. There is alot of construction going on outside but that did not really bother us. It is probably as far north as you want to go but we did feel safe. There is an all night pizza place and a little grocery right across the street. It is just a short walk to Lexington where there are at least a million restaurants! You are close to bus and subway stops. On the subway you are not more than 15 minutes to most places including Times Square and the Theatre District. Otherwise you can walk to Central Park , alot ol the museums, restaurants and some shopping. The staff was very nice. All that said we will look for another location. It is a little out of the way and as I said earlier the location is not the best but, if you are looking for alot of room in a clean space this is great.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckywhentraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

I stayed in this hotel with my wife and two young children (6 & 4) in one bedroom apartment, this is not a hotel, it is a self catering serviced apartment and the building is refurbished from being a residential apartment building.

Location:
good in upper east side but not central if you are looking to be in Midtown or near attractions like times square or 5th ave. , the area is abit residential but there are nearby grocery, restaurants and shops outside the hotel in 2nd Ave.,

Room:
it is in a good shape and the kids where sleep in the sofa bed in the living room, it has a full stocked kitchen open to the living and a dining table, it fits our need perfectly. the apartment is spacious and serviced daily and kept clean. it was in 5th floor overlooking the 2nd avenue and i was afraid of the noise from construction of the new subway station but I slept well and the noise was minimal.

Services:
there is no room service or restaurants in hotel (as I think!!) however you can order from the nearby restaurants who deliver it to your apartment.

wirless internet is available for free and there are 3 PCs in the lobby to access internet.

the hotel is really excellent for anyone looking for extra space and feel like home and reasonable price (comparing to other hotels in NYC at least during my stay), those who are looking for service or best location this is NOT for you.

finally the I liked the complementry Ice tea in the lobby, nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AboFaisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Public Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, 6 December 2010
Dear AboFaisal,

Thank you so much for your review on your stay in September. Any feedback provided is taken very seriously used as a tool to improve ourselves.
We look forward to welcoming you again,

The Marmara Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

I stayed with a friend for 4 nights and so we got one of the Superior One Bedroom suites. It was really spacious and the full kitchen was great. The room we had (15D) had an ensuite off the bedroom and another toilet in off the hallway, plenty of closet space, a dining room and a huge flatscreen and DVD player in the sitting room as well as a smaller flatscreenTV in the bedroom. The printer/scanner/fax was a great addition as having a boarding pass printed was a huge help. There is a wireless router for each suite. Only thing missing from the room was a full length mirror.

The reception staff were very nice, they made a couple of small errors with credit card authorisation but nothing major.

The location is great - about 3 blocks from the subway, grocery stores, wine/liquor shops, delis, ATMs and a few takeaways all in the surrounding few blocks. Getting a taxi on 2nd was never a problem and the hotel itself is very easy to find as it is almost on the corner.

Compared to the last time I stayed in Manhattan in a short term let apartment this has definite advantages - mainly space and service.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Pictures are very deceiving compared to the real room, Room itself was not very well taken care of.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly4571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2010

the hotel was perfect for us-grandparents, parents and 3 young children. we had a gorgeous view of the city down to the empire state building. lots of room for the kids and us to stretch out and not be on top of each other. highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skibeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, 6 December 2010
Thank you for your review on your stay in October. We look forward to welcoming you again with your family.

Happy Holidays,

The Marmara Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goshen, New York
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2010

My husband had open heart surgery and we came to the Marmara at the suggestion of the Cardiothoracic Surgery Department at Mt. Sinai. The hotel was clean and quiet, even though we were on the 4th floor and there's ongoing construction on the 2nd Avenue subway. The bed was comfortable, the free Internet (wireless and plugged) was a nice touch, and the bathroom was well appointed. Check the dishwasher for utensils, as the housekeeping staff runs the dishwasher each night with whatever dishes/utensils are used. Takes 20-30 minutes to walk to Mt. Sinai.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Upstate_NY_people
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, 6 December 2010
Thank you so much for your review on your stay in October. We hope that you are felling better and looking forward to welcoming you again for vacation trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#234 of 467 in New York City
750 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#273 of 467 in New York City
844 reviews
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#131 of 467 in New York City
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#383 of 467 in New York City
704 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#73 of 467 in New York City
1,849 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#79 of 467 in New York City
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marmara Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara Manhattan

Property: The Marmara Manhattan
Address: 301 East 94th Street, New York City, NY 10128-4718
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#140 Family Hotel in New York City
#167 Business Hotel in New York City
#183 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marmara Manhattan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marmara Manhattan offers a combination of studio, one, two and three bedroom suites for your travel needs; whether it is for a few days of vacation or a few months of stay in the exclusive Upper East Side neighborhood. You will only be a short distance away from famous New York City attractions like the Central Park, the Museum Mile and Madison Avenue boutiques. Our suites provide for all your comfort needs during a stay at your 'home-away-home' with fully equipped kitchens and plenty of sunlight. Hotel featues: Complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour concierge, 24-hour exercise room, art gallery, pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marmara Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing