We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cigar smoke comes through the air vents”
Review of AKA Sutton Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AKA Sutton Place
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We enjoyed our 10 nights stay at aka Sutton Place apart from the smell of cigar smoke coming into our apartment from a shared ventilation system.
We chose to stay at aka because they advertise the building as "SMOKE FREE" and one of our traveling companions suffers from very bad asthma. Unfortunately it took us 2 days to get any action to prevent our neighbors from smoking.
The staff at the front desk were not effective in stopping the problem and the night manager hung up on us when we rang down to complain..... His attitude was far from pleasant and not worthy of this position.
As management had no idea how to handle the problem, we had to intervene by thumping on the neighboring door and yelling out to stop the smoking. Eventually they got the message!
It took 2 days to get the rancid smell of stale cigars out of the apartment.
It's not a bad place to stay .... BUT check out if you have smokers on your floor before checking in.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gbsflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for AKA Sutton Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2010

Our family of 4 stayed at the AKA Sutton Place for 9 nights. For us it was like home away from home with the apartment style but the back up of the very helpful and charming concierge. Many of the guests were long term so felt fortunate to be accommodated. I do wonder if the previous tripadvisor comment reviewed the incorrect Sutton Place and suspect it is not the 'AKA' Sutton Place. We settled in very quickly after our long flight from Australia. Arriving at 1am we went straight to the corner store to stock up with the essentials. Our room was very comfortable, especially the king sized bed which is not standard with a lot of accommmodation. I had the pool to myself each morning and the complimentary coffee available near the lobby a nice touch for the morning or takeout. Wireless worked always in our room for our mini laptop and for printing documents a computer room was available. In room phone calls complimentary. Fitness centre available. I spent some time selecting accommodation and discovered it is very dificult to find all these fascilities/services in one. Aka did it for me. All in all a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sandgroperdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Tired of New York hotels? This is an excellent alternative. Their short stay apartments are comfortable, clean and spacious. The location, in the one of the quietest streets in Sutton Place, is excellent. The staff are fantastic - always friendly and helpful, as well as super efficient. Unlike staying in a hotel, there is no room service or laundry. But there is a perfectly adequate continental breakfast provided in the lobby every day, there is a diner down the street for a bigger breakfast and a laundry also in the same street. For a party like us with teenagers included, this couldn't have been better as a place to stay. And there is even a pool in the basement.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Charlie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

If you like an Upper East address and are looking for an apartment rather than a five star hotel then it is hard to beat AKA Sutton Place. Its hugely comfortable and well located for museums, shopping and Central Park. We stayed for ten days and arrived late at night to a small one bedroom suite. It was fine but had no aspect. The next morning ,for an additional amount ,we upgraded to a much larger one bedroom on an upper floor,with a balcony and a good view over the Manhattan. It was simply fabulous. We settled in and it felt as if we were living in New York. The indoor heated swimming pool is excellent ( although the hours were a little limited) The Sutton Place wine shop is above average and the local deli's have all you could need . The only clean and empty post office I have ever found in New York is just around the corner, which makes posting home a breeze. What also makes the AKA Sutton Place is the professionalism of the staff, who were highly efficient ,personable and not in your face. That is just the way we like it. AKA Sutton Place was stylish and understated, friendly, professional and well located.Just perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PFoggSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2009

This is my fifth stay at AKA Sutton Place.....we have just had the BEST Family reunion. The Staff was so friendly and knowledgeable, the Suite was huge and beautifully appointed, with a wonderful view... loads of sunlight. The Sutton Place location continues to offer a quiet area with easy access to the best that New York has to offer. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KAPTIVAUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2009

Amateur service, quality, and management is what you'll get here, but at Upper East Side prices. We had many problems during our 2-week stay, including confused staff, rude and unhelpful manager, inconsistent housekeeping, cheap kitchen amenities (some of which broke or were barely usable) and general poor quality of environment. Don't look too closely at the details: what you'll find is peeling wall paper, smears of paint over hardware, cheap materials, and bad overall construction. The fitness center was under repair (but we had to argue with the manager to be reimbursed for this unusable amenity), the "business center" was a printer and 2 computers shoved into what obviously used to be a closet, and internet access was spotty at best. The management of this place seems to think that you will be lured and fooled by brand names, including that of the neighborhood itself, and not notice that your actual experience is closer to Motel 6.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank surfacegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

I have stayed in a lot of NYC hotels are most are very disappointing. If you are looking for a hotel with a cool bar and restaurant scene, this is not the hotel for you. What it is, is a really cool apart hotel with really big, bright modern suites, great beds, trendy kitchens and a wonderful tranquil pool in the basement. There is free wifi and local calls and the staff are fantastic. Sutton Place is convenient to everything. It's not expensive and I would have no hesitation staying here again or recommending it to friends. I was really, really impressed.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Borisboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#236 of 468 in New York City
443 reviews
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#106 of 468 in New York City
594 reviews
Financial District
AKA Wall Street
AKA Wall Street
#295 of 468 in New York City
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sutton Court Hotel Residences
Sutton Court Hotel Residences
#375 of 468 in New York City
61 reviews
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#145 of 468 in New York City
206 reviews
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#25 of 468 in New York City
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA Sutton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA Sutton Place

Address: 330 E 56th St, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 163 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range: £264 - £424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA Sutton Place 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the City's most prestigious neighborhoods, AKA Sutton Place is steps from Madison Avenue shopping, world-class restaurants and cultural landmarks. Designed for stays of a month or longer, AKA Sutton Place offers sophisticated, fully-furnished spaces including recently redesigned one- and two-bedroom suites and penthouses with gourmet kitchens, spacious living and dining areas, and hardwood floors. Additional amenities include a private lounge with fireplace, marble bar for coffee and cocktails, private garden, fitness and business center, brand new private cinema, and a newly redesigned indoor swimming pool. Complimentary WiFi and local phone service with personal voicemail is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your AKA Sutton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka Sutton Place Hotel New York City
Sutton New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing