We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale, residential feel; excellent location”
Review of Phillips Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Phillips Club
Ranked #339 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2011

In planning for my recent NYC trip with three friends, the Phillips Club did not show up in my hotel searches. I wasn't even aware of it until a friend made a recommendation. I'm glad we ended up staying there! The apartment-style room (with kitchen and living room) provided plenty of space. The decor is classy and everything seemed to be of fairly good quality, though some things were showing wear & tear. I wasn't expecting much from the pull-out bed in the living room, but the one in this room was just awful. Hotel staff was generally helpful, though most were not especially friendly nor did they go out of their way to ensure a pleasant visit. What I liked most about the Phillips Club were the quiet environment & upscale residential feel... and, above all, the fantastic W 66th Street location.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 May 2016

Thank you for your Review! Since your review was written in 2011, we have undergone quite a renovation and if you return (which we hope you will soon), you will find many wonderful changes. The Phillips Club is unique in that rooms are more like Suites and have full kitchens. The location is absolutely superb (and this from someone who came from Midtown). I wish I had started my career here!

Hope to see you soon!

Regards,

DR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2011

I just love staying at the Phillips Club. The location is wonderful. Bus pick up right outside the door, subway 100 feet, grocery store next door, spa next door, health club across the street. What more can you ask for. I have been to NYC many times before and this is the best location by far. Close to everything and easy access. You will enjoy.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have a small balcony. You can face 66th which is nice or for a quiter view the inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pamba G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 May 2016

Truly! What more can you ask for? Thank you for your wonderful review. You mentioned most everything. I would add that the size of the rooms is truly a plus. Even if one is on his / her own, it is nice to feel like you are in an apartment and not a small hotel room.

Hope to see you again!

Regards,

DR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I have to first of all thank the doormen, they were so sweet and helpful. The location is fantastic, near Lincoln Center, grocery store, wonderful cafes and restaurants, and of course Central Park. We stayed in a one bedroom exec suite. It had all the amenities including a kitchen that had everything you would ever need. The apartment was huge. My husband is handicapped and has to use a powerchair so having a lot of room is important for him to maneouver. This apartment was perfect for him. Only issue was we had booked an accessible room and they put us in a regular room. Within half an hour they had corrected the problem and relocated us to a more suitable room. We throroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ifish222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 May 2016

Thank you so much! Even the Studios here are larger than many hotel suites! I am sorry about the mix up and am happy we were able to accommodate your husband. The kitchen does come in handy, especially late at night or early in the morning when you don't feel like getting dressed for breakfast!

Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

DR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Developed as condos, these suites are well equiped for a long stay, but perfectly reasonable for a brief visit as well. Nice staff. Grocery store right next door.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SactoTraveler95819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 May 2016

Thank you! You are exactly right! The large size of our rooms is a great asset whether you are here for one night or 100 nights! There is so much more space than a typical New York hotel room.

Hope to welcome you back soon!

Regards,

DR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

I've stayed twice, most recently in April, 2011. You can't beat the location in a terrific neighborhood right by Lincoln Center and the Subway. I stayed in a one-bedroom, which had more than generous space. There is a full kitchen, which helps save a bundle on food expenses in NYC, since you can eat breakfast and other meals in the apartment (there is a Food Emporium supermarket across the street and uptown a block or so and a gourmet deli next door). There is a coffee pot in the room - and a bag of ground coffee, which I thought was a nice touch. The staff was attentive. I stayed here on another occasion with my children and had a very pleasant stay. Guests have gym privileges at Club Reebok, across the street. I didn't have time to go, but heard it's nice. The Phillips Club subway stop (66th / Lincoln Center) is a few stops north of the theater district and Penn Station.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pugmeister2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 May 2016

Thank you for your kind review. You should see the local Gym now!!! It is a fully renovated Equinox and has everything anyone needs to work out, swim, relax on the sundeck, enjoy the sauna etc. I think it has to be one of the best in the City! Come back and give it a try - I think you will be even more pleased!

Kind regards and hope to see you soon!

DR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

I have never written a negative review of anything before and I had such a terrible experience at the Phillips Club that I felt compelled to write about it. I stayed there with my 2 children in January of this year and had several negative experiences. On one occasion the doorman refused to get me a taxi when I asked him and instead poitned out the door and told me to get one myself. On another occasion the porter refused to move my luggage until it was zipped to his satisfaction and when we reached my room he yelled at me for not having the key. And on yet another occasion the sofa bed was not made up for the kids our first evening and there were no sheets or pillows available in the room. When I called down I was admonished for not telling them I need the bed made and had to go downstairs and wait at the front desk for someone to get me sheets so I could make the bed myself. The worst part of all of this was that when I spoke to the manager about all of this he was nice and then did absolutely nothing to correct the problems. Even worse, when I wrote a review on Yelp, he had it "filtered" for negative content. It was bad enough that I paid luxury prices for terrible service, but that my concerns went unacknowledged and then surpressed make me incredibly furious and even more determined to let everyone know that this is aboslutely the last place on earth they should stay unless they want to pay a lot of money for hostile service.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
43  Thank HeatherRandall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 31 May 2016

Thank you for your review. As this was five years ago, I can honestly say that your review does not describe The Phillips Club I walked into three months ago as General Manager. I am not quite sure what happened during your stay or why, but I do apologize for it. Please rest assured that your experience would be quite different if you visited us today and I hope you will do so!

Kind regards,

DR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Manhattan is terrific, but very tough and can be daunting. Phillips Club provides a refuge where we can stock the kitchen with comfort foods from the Columbus Circle Whole Foods, nearby Food Emporium, downstairs Gourmet Garage and other take-outs we encounter. Then, relax and eat breakfast and perhaps some other meals in, and feel like real New Yorkers. Beds are comfy, with luxe linens. The East Side is just a pleasant stroll along Central Park South away. In moderate weather, we walk to the theater district. Just a few blocks south is busy midtown, which offers much, but we find too frantic and congested to call home. We are a real estate family, so we recognize that Phillips Club has location, location, location!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sevencousins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 June 2016

Thank you so much!!! I too find myself at home here - the area has so much more to offer than in Midtown where I worked for most of my career. I love the small boutiques in the area - there is even a charming French mustard shop! It is an outstanding location and you are right, The Phillips Club is part of the fabric of New York. You don't just 'stay' here, you live like a New Yorker!

Hope to welcome you back!

Regards,

DR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Inn New York City
Inn New York City
#355 of 471 in New York City
283 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#347 of 471 in New York City
6,318 reviews
Midtown
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
#340 of 471 in New York City
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#223 of 471 in New York City
199 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#80 of 471 in New York City
1,931 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#62 of 471 in New York City
3,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phillips Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phillips Club

Address: 155 W 66th St, New York City, NY 10023-6501
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in New York City
#189 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £305 - £381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phillips Club is a unique residential-style hotel in the heart of Lincoln Square - 1 block from Lincoln Center, 2 blocks from Central Park. We are surrounded by theaters, lovely boutiques and the area is a gourmet lovers paradise! Accommodations start at 400 square feet (twice the size of average hotel rooms) with full kitchens. Guests receive access to one of the best fitness locations in the city - Equinox, with a swimming pool, running track, outdoor lounge area and indoor cafe. The subway is half a block away and we are walking distance to many of New York's sights! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Phillips Club Hotel New York City
Phillips Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing