We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love staying they”
Review of Phillips Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Phillips Club
Ranked #342 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love staying they”
Reviewed 26 July 2004

My parents and I love staying at the Phillips Club. We stay there almost everytime we go up. We usually take a 1 bedroom and I sleep on the couch. We like the fact that we don't step over each other in 1 room. Also we like the fact that there are two televisions and a kitchen. It helps especially in the mornings since we don't like big breakfast.

Helpful?
13 Thank minnie868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Phillips Club, responded to this review, 9 June 2016
Thank you so much for your review! Yes - space really does make a difference! I too like a quick small breakfast and just having a toaster and coffee machine really helps.

Do come back soon!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    23
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
21
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 June 2004

We have stayed at the Phillips Club twice in the last couple of years. I have stayed at a lot of places in NYC and this is by far the best yet. It's extremely clean and in great condition, the staff is very friendly and eager to help. The kitchen is wonderful; we were very surprised to find full sized appliances and everything we needed. There are a lot of restaurants in NYC but sometimes it's nice just to relax at "home" and be able to fix a meal even if it's only breakfast. The hotel is in a very quiet location. You have to travel a little to get to most of the touristy attractions but a subway entrance on the corner makes it very easy. In comparison to most of the hotels in the same price range, this one is far superior! I would recommend it to anyone and often do.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Phillips Club, responded to this review, 10 June 2016
Thank you! And so far in my career it is my favorite place to work!

It is true that we offer something unique in accommodation in NYC - full sized apartments ranging from Studios to Two Bedroom units - all have full kitchens! The fact that for the same price you can get so much more room and access to one of the best fitness centers in town really sets us apart!

Hope you will return soon!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2003

Without question, the finest lodging experience I have evr had. Two tiny children, spouse, and I enjoyed the subway being right across the street, as was Lincoln Center. Nearby parking garage. Staff was beyond comparison - superbly cared for at desk, housekeeping, and door. If you have the means, live here.

Helpful?
7 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Phillips Club, responded to this review, 13 June 2016
I love that you feel we are second to none! Thank you so much for your kind review! I often say if you are visiting New York, why not experience the city like a true New Yorker?

Our 'rooms' are actual apartments - from Studios to Two Bedroom Suites with full kitchens. The area is teaming with people who actually live around here - not touristy but still filled with entertainment, performances, the arts, restaurants, shops etc.

Hope we will see you soon!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 October 2003

The Phillips Club is first rate in every respect. I had to laugh when I read the above review. That "Italian grocery store" is Balducci's.
Arguably the finest gourmet shop in NYC. Their flagship store is attached to the Phillips Club lobby. Many Manhattanites travel a good distance to shop there. Do not miss the many varieties of smoked salmon, btw. Best selection in North America, IMHO.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Phillips Club, responded to this review, 14 June 2016
Thank you for your kind review. Since the time you stayed, Balducci's was replaced by Gourmet Garage. There is also a Trader Joe's, Fairway and many other places to shop for food. Of course I would be remiss if I did not mention Zabar's and Citarella's! It is a food lovers paradise around here!

Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 August 2003

I loved the Phillips Club. We stayed in a suite and it was delightful to have the Italian Grocery store next store, free laundry rooms, wonderful door men (Dino was a doll). The front desk staff wanted for a smile or even a positive disposition. The rooms were beautiful, clean and well cared for. I truly enjoyed the stay. It was great for travelling with my 3-year old twin boys as we were so close to the park.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Phillips Club, responded to this review, 14 June 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review! Your boys much be teenagers now and you must bring them for another visit to The Big Apple! We hope to see you again - lots of fun things for teenagers to do in NYC these days.

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#313 of 468 in New York City
5,891 reviews
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#378 of 468 in New York City
147 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#198 of 468 in New York City
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#59 of 468 in New York City
3,482 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#128 of 468 in New York City
2,353 reviews
Midtown
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
#306 of 468 in New York City
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phillips Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phillips Club

Property: Phillips Club
Address: 155 W 66th St, New York City, NY 10023-6501
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in New York City
#193 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phillips Club is a unique residential-style hotel in the heart of Lincoln Square - 1 block from Lincoln Center, 2 blocks from Central Park. We are surrounded by theaters, lovely boutiques and the area is a gourmet lovers paradise! Accommodations start at 400 square feet (twice the size of average hotel rooms) with full kitchens. Guests receive access to one of the best fitness locations in the city - Equinox, with a swimming pool, running track, outdoor lounge area and indoor cafe. The subway is half a block away and we are walking distance to many of New York's sights! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Phillips Club Hotel New York City
Phillips Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing