We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent personal service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #276 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent personal service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

I stay here almost every time I visit NYC. Great value and Onelia at the front desk is an absolute delight to work with! Highly recommend this hotel for a centrally located place to stay in the city. Especially true if you're taking the Acela or other train as it is across the street from Penn Station

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronny Y, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. There is nothing better than getting great guest feedback. Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff, we look forward to passing on the positive feedback to them! We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Ronny Yagual
Guest Service Manager
Ryagual@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,482
    4,594
    1,841
    567
    348
See reviews for
3,048
3,718
552
1,235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,177)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Me and my Family stayed here for 5 nights,On arrivel we were greated by a very friendly staff member at the desk she was very very helpfull.The lady gave us an upgrade to a corner room 3218 and my gosh did we have some view of new york.Location is great Macys nearby and Times Square is a 10 minutes walk away.We used the Tic Tock dinner ever day very nice food.The beds were comfy and the room was spotless.We really enjoyed our stay at The New Yorker.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindadaly08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronny Y, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy that our staff was able to make your stay with your family special. Great feedback like yours gives us even more motivation to strive for the best. We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,

Ronny Yagual
Guest Service Manager
Ryagual@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Great central location, good price, but rooms are small and basic and the bathroom is very old fashioned. The two restaurants were good value and staff were very helpful. The 'free' business centre is only free to get through the door - you have to pay to use the computers! Good fitness centre.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank backtofebruaryrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronny Y, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I regret to hear that you were disappointed with your room on this occasion. In addition, please accept my deepest apology, as certain rooms in the hotel within the same accommodation category can be different sizes based on where the room is located. We would like to make this right, please reach out to us directly prior to your return so that we can give you the experience you deserve!

Sincerely,

Ronny Yagual
Guest Service Manager
Ryagual@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esterhazy, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Enjoyed our 4 nights at the New Yorker, very good location, helpful staff, clean rooms, would recommend it. The only thing missing was coffee maker in the room.
Tick Tock diner had excellent service and enjoyed the fact that it was open all the time.
Used the hop on hop off bus to get around but actually many places were within easy walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronny Y, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your recent comments as we strive to deliver impeccable service each and every time. Our location truly is one of the best, right in the middle of everything!
We hope to welcome you back to NYC soon!

Sincerely,

Ronny Yagual
Guest Service Manager
Ryagual@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

My wife and I recently stayed here for four nights. It was nice being greeted so quickly at the front door ( We drove) just as we stopped at the hotel. It was a relief to have valet parking. The car was taken away, from there and we were helped with our luggage and led to reception. This is a very busy hotel, but the reception staff was courteous and helpful. The staff was kind enough to give us a view of the Empire State Building (Awesome view) , but I think any room would have had a great view.

the room is smal but very clean. The bed is VERY comfortable.

Great location for many places including Times Square.

We just loved the atmosphere of Tick-Tock Diner and really enjoyed the great humour from our waiters.

Note: parking is $35.00 per day, but this rate seems to be the same regardless of where you want to park. Thankyou staff of the New Yorker Hotel. We really enjoyed our stay and would choose this hotel if / when we return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronny Y, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. There is nothing better than getting great guest feedback. We are happy to hear that our facilities and cleanliness met your needs and expectations during your stay. Our location truly is one of the best, right in the middle of everything! We hope to welcome you back to NYC soon!

Sincerely,

Ronny Yagual
Guest Service Manager
Ryagual@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Overall the hotel had a very aged look. I would not stay again there out of my own choice. The location is close to Penn Station so its pretty central, but the rooms are tiny and just getting in and out of the bathroom is a headache.

Pros:-
- comfy bed

Cons:-
- tiny rooms
- dirty carpets
- old elevators
- overall aged look

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sankoshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youghal Co Cork
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed in the hotel on 7,8,9 Sept 2012.Staff were very courteous,room was small but spotless.Restaurant was fine. Bar prices were ave. for the area.Could not fault the hotel or staff in any way. Such a convenient place to stay.I would reccomend it to anyone and would not hesitate to stay there again.

Michael Youghal Co Cork Ireland

Room Tip: Email the Concierge in advance and request an outside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelBrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronny Y, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for the review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the kind words regarding our service, great feedback like yours gives us even more motivation to strive for the best. We look forward to your return! We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Ronny Yagual
Guest Service Manager
Ryagual@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#340 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,474 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,786 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#322 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#223 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,735 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,162 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#307 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Property: The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#172 Family Hotel in New York City
#177 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#215 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#221 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing