We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #278 of 469 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I guess everyone has there own expectations, but I was very pleased with our stay at the New Yorker..... the location was perfect for a first timer in NYC (corner of 8th Ave & 34th St).... It is directly across from MSG... Broadway, Time Square, Macy's, the Empire State Building and Penn subway station are all within a 5-15 min walking distance.... I think we paid about $300 a night during one of the busiest weekends in New York (Dec 6-9) and for what we wanted it was by far the best price that we could find.... Our room was on the 28th floor, had two queen beds and honestly, I was quite surprised at how nice & big the room was... much better than what I was expecting... I will say that the bathroom was small, dated, without a fan and the four taps in the shower totally confused me at first lol, but it was functional and clean...... we had free Wifi and there was no issue with our connection... our room was cleaned everyday... I found the place resonably quiet considering where we were located...... Oh... and I absolutely love love the diner at the hotel 'Tick Tock' (I think)... best cheesecake ever!... we ate a few meals there and the portions were great, menu was written for me, price was the best around, service was fast and friendly... We made the mistake of going to TGIF across the street the first night and paid way too much for what we got.. definitely would've been better off at the diner.... I would definitely stay at this hotel for future visits

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thurbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11,721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,428 - 5,434 of 11,724 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Just home after a 4 night stay at the New Yorker . We had booked 3 rooms for our large family and Mohammed on reception did his utmost to provide us with great rooms. My room was on the 27th floor with a fantastic view of the Empire State Building. The room was a reasonable size, the bathroom a little tired and as mentioned by other reviewers the water could run hot/cold in the shower. The hotel is ideally situated really close to everything especially the subway, Times Square, Macy's. We didn't eat here but found a couple of delis just round the corner that did a great breakfast. We also found Lucy's bar just across the street which served great cocktails. We had a fabulous time and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank NicJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We booked our room with Anthony Travel, Inc. for a king bed. We were given a tiny room and a tiny queen bed. The room was so small that the door hit the TV every time it opened. At first I was afraid it would break but then I figured they arranged the room that way and was there problem. The service was ok.

Room Tip: If you want room to move in the room go to another hotel. It is NOT big enough for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllenNYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The decision to stay in The New Yorker Hotel as it provide a good view of either the Hudson river or the Empire State building and is reputable. During our reservation, we opted for the view room that overlook the Empire State. However, upon our arrival we realized that there is renovation of the hotel just right outside of our room window. Although the view was not obstructed, it still spoiled our expectation (our picture taken from the room contained all the scaffolds of the constructions) from the room as we paid so much for it.

Our biggest concern is our privacy and the noise made from the construction. We requested a change in room that is not affected by the construction (view room overlooking the Hudson river). We were told it was not available and try again the next day. To our surprise, our request was not even noted down and we have to repeat our problem on subsequent tries. We feel that they seems insincere/not helpful with our request. This disappointing service actually comes from a reputable hotel.

Indeed, there is workers and noises right outside our window on the third day of our stays. Since we have gave up trying to change room, we have to keep our curtain shut and be out of our room after 9am to avoid the noise for the rest of the 3 days.

Hence, we feel that the hotel should have the responsibility to inform their customer of such incident so that we can make a changes to our room selection earlier. Or even not open those room for reservation.

Other than that issue, the room is small (i guess this is typical in NYC). The queen bed is pretty small too. No in room complimentary coffee/tea (i guess you can request for it?). However there is a 24hr diner located at the lobby for food and drinks. No fridge in the room (it was fine for us as we went in winter).

Room is clean and hotel is well located.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimNg_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Our second visit in 4 years and we wouldn't consider anywhere else in Manhattan! For our 5 night stay we were given an upgrade to the 37th floor (corner) and the views were... well, we could see EVERYTHING! There is nothing like lying on the comfy bed looking out at the Empire State Building and watching the snow fall. The room is small, but cosy and charming and well heated. The bathroom is small and lacks space to put toiletry bags etc and the water temperature in the shower (over the bath) can be a bit inconsistent, but we worked with these minor issues and they didn't affect our wonderful stay. Excellent service, terrific location close to transport (Penn Station below), shopping and walking distance to most tourist attractions... in fact, anywhere! And for the price, you can't do better than this in Manhattan! The look and feel of The New Yorker takes you back to a time of romance and charm of years gone by, it's a classic which is why we love it. So if you're looking for modern and sterile lodgings, then this probably isn't for you. The appeal of The New Yorker draws us in and we will continue to come back.

Just to note, there is no in-room dining but the hotel is serviced by a 24 hour Tick Tock Diner off the foyer as well as another restaurant/bar. We didn't use the restaurant and were not impressed with the Tick Tock Diner (that's for another review).

Room Tip: The highest floor possible and you choose the view... but you can't beat the city skyline!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ForeverYoung50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Loved the location and the room was excellent. We were traveling to NYC for the first time and booked directly with the hotel. The rate was competitive and it was close to everything. There was a subway stop right beside the hotel going uptown and downtown so if you go buy a week pass. Jeanette and her manager were awesome at check in and both made us feel they cared.

Room Tip: We stayed in a handicap accessible room that had tons of room and ours had a street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I love the style of this hotel with the art deco look. At check-in and check-out the staff member who helped me was friendly and the hotel was clean. The room was a decent size and quiet for the most part. I didn't really hear other people talking or walking above me but then at night I'd randomly hear a cough or something from the room above me. Odd. I wasn't bothered by any street noise. The location is great, especially if you are traveling to NY by train. The hotel is right across the street from Penn Station. Lots of restaurants and shopping near by. Easy access to multiple subway lines.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveshak22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#136 of 469 in New York City
7,339 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#270 of 469 in New York City
4,877 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#355 of 469 in New York City
19,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#282 of 469 in New York City
5,442 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#328 of 469 in New York City
7,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Address: 481 8th Avenue & 34th Street, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in New York City
#168 Family Hotel in New York City
#184 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#211 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#216 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £108 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing