We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #273 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I always arrive at Penn Station, and the hotel choices in the immediate vicinity have been sketchy... especially the dreadful Hotel Pennsylviania. But this time we tried The New Yorker and were very pleased, especially as we got a good weekend rate via Expedia. It's just a block north of the station on 8th Avenue. The lobby has been restored to its former Art Deco glory, and our room (#3115) was small but comfortable and quiet. There were two of us traveling with overnight bags, so the small space was just fine. Two people with full-size suitcases would likely find the space a challenge. The bathroom was fine with an old-fashioned tub/shower and plentiful hot water and good water pressure. The low, round-seat toilet was a challenge for us oldsters with bad knees. There was an adequate closet with a safe and a small desk with chair. The queen-size bed was very comfortable--something I'm a stickler about. The wall-mounted flat-screen TV was appreciated. For such a large hotel, we were surprised by the friendly desk staff and quick check-in. Breakfast as the adjoining Tic Toc Diner featured abundant diner food--again with friendly service. We will definitely look to The New Yorker as our first choice in the future--if we can get a good rate. Escalating Manhattan hotel prices are preventing us from coming to NYC as often as we'd like.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingmar53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,487
    4,596
    1,843
    567
    348
See reviews for
3,051
3,721
552
1,236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,178)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Spent 4 nights here, in a standard queen room. Small, as befitting New York, but comfortable. No space to lay uit my yoga mat and practice, that was a disappointment. On the 33rd floor, without asking for it, which was great. No noise from the ongoing reconstruction during my stay but I wasn't in during the day and it was round the 29th floor. It's all a bit old and worn, but still has charm. The bathroom could be cleaner, but it wasn't offputting. The bed was really comfy. Staff very friendly. The pizza place across the street serves gruesome fatty pizzaslices, don't go there unless you need the extra triglycerides. There's the obligatory Starbucks at the corner, and a great deli just 1 block away when you take a left from the entrance, on the corner of 36th street (Amici 36) for your daily food needs. i thought that looked better than the restaurant in the hotel (Ticktock diner, didn't try it). Great location, if you don't mind walking a little you can get anywhere from central park to Bryant park. I will certainly consider this hotel again whenever I return to New York.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up but do realise that for those who are sensitive to it, you can feel the build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pmjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, and really loved it. The room was always clean, very quiet (we rarely heard the other guests in the hall) and a good size! The bathroom was tiny and a little dated (think 70s subway tiles) but who spends a ton of time in the bathroom anyway? It's New York City! The staff were very helpful, and kept the guests safe, requiring everyone to show a room key before being allowed in the elevator lobby at night. There are both a diner and a bar attached to the hotel, the dnier is 24 hours, which is helpful if you arrive late at night and are hungry.

The hotel is across from Penn Station, which makes it easy to not only get to, but to get around the city. It is also close to Time Square, Bryant Park, the High Line and Hell's Kitchen. There are a lot of coffee shops, restaurants, bars, and stores in the vacinity.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anya_at_large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st.louis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

My favorite place to stay during quick trips to New York.

Mohammad was a gracious and helpful desk clerk. He had me checked in and on an elevator in 2 minutes flat.

Room was fresh and clean and quiet.

Room Tip: book metro room on hotel web site.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mbalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Room was small and basic but very clean. Bed was really comfortable. A coffee maker and bottles of water in room would have been helpful. Good stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank jacobsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Spent 2 nights, room was clean but very basic. View was of an alleyway which was disappointing. Location was great, so central for everything. Ate in the Tick Tock Diner, was OK but very busy with too many tables squashed together. Impressed with the security checking key cards etc. Would stay here again for a short stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joycewoodford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Spent 4 nights here during our honeymoon. Mid-range hotel - highly priced, as all New York hotels are. Rooms are small and basic, as expected, but clean. Staff very helpful, and the location is fantastic for walking to Times Square and other attractions. We were upgraded to a city view room for our honeymoon. Certainly wouldn't mind staying again, but would look further for more affordable options first.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kittykitchnvegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#341 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,517 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,791 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#323 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,737 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#198 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,174 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#305 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Property: The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#172 Family Hotel in New York City
#176 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#215 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#221 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing