We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a safe bet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #274 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always a safe bet”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here every time but once that I've been in NYC, love its history and the way they've maintained its 'golden age' feel. The Tick Tock diner is a classic, serving some interesting takes on traditional comfort food. The hotel is neither economy priced nor outrageously costly...the rooms could be a little bigger but they only have so much space to work with in its original design. Nicely centralized and easy to get around from, staff is generally quite friendly and knowledgeable.

Room Tip: Try to go for a suite if it suits your budget, the space is really welcome and you can often get a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DFCson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,641
    4,792
    1,942
    596
    370
See reviews for
3,214
3,876
581
1,300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,281)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

It is always hard to find a hotel in NYC that is good and fits the budget. The Wyndham New Yorker is great because it is very comfortable, clean and the price is reasonable considering we were in Midtown and very close to Times Square and the shopping areas. It is conveniently located right off the subway station which was a bonus. The room is small and outdated but our view had the ESB so it was great for photos and totally felt the NYC vibe. The staff are friendly and when I needed a taxi, the bellman always flagged one down for me.
Would I stay here again? yes I would. Even though the rooms are small, it didn't matter because the bed was comfortable and we were out most of the time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlingen, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

First of all, let me just say this hotel is perfectly located just minutes away from Times Square, which was why we booked this hotel in the first place.
Me and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel for four nights. We booked the hotel through Priceline, and I found the price to be within budget and the location was perfect, and all the reviews I read about this particular hotel on tripadvisor helped me decide this would be the perfect hotel for us.
We arrived from la Guardia via a taxi. Check in was super fast, we arrived around 3pm and went straight up to our room which was on the 34th floor. I had e-mailed the hotel prior to arriving to request a room on a higher floor, so we wouldn't have to deal with all the noise from the city (which I read from other reviews, that can be really loud). The hotel responded to me and notified me that our room would be assigned upon check-in and they would do the best to accommodate our request. Well, the hotel did give us a room on the higher floor that had a great view of the city and the Hudson and it was very quiet BUT our room was super TINY!!! There was hardly any space around the bed to place our two suitcases among other things that we were bringing back to our room from shopping. This was very inconvenient but we didn't spend too much time in our room since we were out all day, we basically just slept and showered in the room so it wasn't a major problem. The room was spotless though, and cleaning service came every day to make our bed and replenish our towels, which was great! The bed was very comfy and warm, no complaints there! The bathroom was in need to an update. It looked very old, though it was always clean, it just could use a more modern look and there wasn't too much counter space for make-up, brushes, or toiletries.
The location is the best thing about this hotel, it's just minutes away from Times Square, restaurants and FUN, FUN, FUN! We walked almost everywhere. Times Square is very hustle and bustle, so be prepared to experience that as soon as you walk out the lobby doors and onto the sidewalks!
Wifi in the room worked great and came in handy to plan our days. The tick-tock diner was cute and although we never ordered food from there I did order their red velvet cake for a late night dessert and it was DIVINE!
All in all, we enjoyed our stay at the New Yorker hotel, and we would probably stay again if I needed to be close to Times Square. I would just request a larger room with more space.

Room Tip: Request a larger room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Across the street from Penn Station and very comfortable. Good food. Staff very helpful. The facility is undergoing renovation and that should update a lot. The renovation does not cause extra noise or bother. There is NYU student housing in the hotel which is a big plus for atmosphere.

Room Tip: Some rooms small with queen beds. Make sure you know what you are getting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill57687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014

It seems that reading the other reviews, some rooms are renovated and some are not. We were lucky enough to be in a renovated room, I suppose. Keep that in mind. Generally - recommend.

The rooms are super tiny, but functional. Ours was obviously brand new, since nothing was used - coffee machine, hair dryer etc. was still unused and/or in plastic wrap.

The location is better than excellent; had no problems with the staff and we even liked the diner in the building. Free wi-fi is always nice and having a brand new bathroom is always a plus, even if the water seemed to decide when to be hot or cold on its own (boilers still undergoing reno)?

The only reason I'm not rating 5 stars is because the room smelled quite a bit like paint and I thought they could've done a tad bit better job preparing it for first use (e.g. coffee maker clearly not yet prepped for use; painter's tape remnants on washroom door; small caulking pieces in shower etc.)

If you can get a renovated room, go for it.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

If I told you that a Queen-sized bed hardly fits the $400 per night hotel room you wouldn't believe me. However, its TRUE.

The room is so small, cramped and out-dated that it was hard to believe that this was a hotel in the US. There are some constructions nearby so don't expect your night to be a quiet one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theTruth_OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We spent 4 nights at the New Yorker and were very happy. The location is amazing. Used the metro all the time. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Tick Tock diner food was great and reasonably priced. The room was very small and decor tired but we only slept there and the bed was very comfortable. Shower and bathroom could be much better and not 4 star quality. As we had got a good deal with Betterbidding and Priceline I really cannot complain. Would recommend it.

Green Features: I like it when they give you the option for clean towels etc as I really don't feel they need to be changed on a daily basis.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pollysSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#95 of 467 in New York City
4,318 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 467 in New York City
18,450 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#151 of 467 in New York City
7,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#187 of 467 in New York City
9,553 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#259 of 467 in New York City
4,629 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#225 of 467 in New York City
4,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Property: The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#169 Family Hotel in New York City
#182 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#212 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#217 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing