We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #278 of 469 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was our first time in this hotel, although we have stayed at a Wyndham hotel in the past. Our stay was for three nights. A room recently renovated was assigned to us with two double beds. The room size was ok, was clean and well decorated. The beds were comfortable. The location is great, just steps away from Penn Station. In general, we had a great experience and definitely would recommend this hotel to our friends. Check-in experience was great. Muhammed provided us a great service. Was very friendly and was very helpful. Room service staff were very friendly and courteous. We had a problem with our security box, security personnel was very responsive and the situation was solved immediately. We would definitely stay again...thanks for your excellent service.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vanessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11,724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,884 - 4,890 of 11,724 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I have just got back from here after a holiday with my boyfriend in NYC (NYC is amazing by the way). If you are doing New York properly then you won't really be in your hotel that much, and I think the few negatives reviews I've read about this place are from people who spent too much time in their room. Yes the rooms are small, but all hotel rooms in NYC are small. There was plenty of room for us (and our shopping) and there was a large cupboard that fitted both our suitcases (which we could access without taking them out again). Rooms were very clean and bed was comfortable. We just got the standard room and this was fine (if you have a kid I would get a bigger one though)
Hotel has an Art Deco/40s feel which I thought gave it a charm. The only slight grumble I would have is the shower as the temperature was hard to get right, but this was only on a few occasions (we stayed for 6 nights)
It is not the kind of hotel where staff are on call and waiting around for you - it's a busy city hotel with 34 floors - people are going in and out all the time, but they ask to see your key card before going up for security.
We had breakfast most mornings at the diner attached to the hotel - we didn't need lunch after this! A real American style diner and very quick and efficient. Be careful as I've put on a good few centimetres round my waste - but the bacon was worst it.
Location couldn't have been better - Empire State is a short walk and there are loads of shops near by.
Outside the hotel are men selling bus tour tickets (in yellow shirts) we were a bit unsure but got one anyway (holiday spirit) and I couldn't recommended this enough. It included a ferry ride of the coast (to Statue of Liberty too) and buses to all the attractions - £30 each for 3 days. Well worth it.
I would stay here again and have recommended to some work colleagues who are going on holiday to stay there. At the end of the day it's New York - do it properly and you'll just be going back to recharge. Have fun (and I'm jealous as I want to go again)!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Burger2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I love staying at older hotels that have lots of character and charm, the Wyndahm New Yorker has plenty of both. Built in the 1920's, the hotel retains much of the Art Deco décor even though it was recently totally renovated. The room furnishings and carpeting are new and very well kept. The location was perfect as we arrived from Penn Station and were attending a show on Broadway and could walk to and from each. The hotel has two restaurants we ate at both and everyone in our party enjoyed the food and service. The bar looks out onto 8th avenue and it is a perfect location for people watching. Our suite was small but the breathtaking view more than made up for that. I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggiefrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The standard rooms are small, as we found out when the two of us and our 2 suitcases would scarcely fit into the 1st room offered. There wasn't quite enough room to walk around the bed even. We asked to change and were offered a slightly larger room with a much better layout so we could walk around the each other.
The hotel is well located if you want to go shopping in midtown and very convenient for the penn stn subway for trips uptown and downtown.
It's a short walk to Macy's and about 10 min walk to time square.
As it's close to penn stn it's always busy on the street outside and is not comfortable to walk in the streets nearby and for that reason I don't feel I'd stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cands1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The hotel is very clean, confortable, has a good localization and is a good option in NY
The hotel is very clean, confortable, has a good localization and is a good option in NY
The hotel is very clean, confortable, has a good localization and is a good option in NY
The hotel is very clean, confortable, has a good localization and is a good option in NY

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renata_de_Menezes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We did an all round trip from East Coast to West Coast and started in NYC!

We arrived on the 21st December 2013, and were travelling as a group of three friends. We travelled from London and so arrived quite late in the evening, around 22:00. Check-in was really quick and on arrival we were upgraded to a room with a view - which was cool. We could see the Empire State Building from our room, which looked absolutely stunning at night!

The rooms were comfy, with a TV and a bathroom which is slightly dated, but nevertheless fine. The room was always cleaned to a very high standard, and the cleaning and hotel staff were always very helpful and friendly.

Breakfast was not included in our room price, however just below the hotel is the Tick Tock Diner - open 365 days a year and 24/7! - even on Christmas Day which was very convenient for us! Their food was really good again service was brill.

The New Yorker Hotel is centrally located and perfect for a city break to New York. Honestly, we could walk to the Empire State Building, Macy's (and other shops/attractions) and also Penn Station is located just across the road. We also went to see the Nets v Pacers game at the Barclays Centre which was about 20 mins on the Subway!

New York is amazing during the Winter Break, and although this is not a 5* hotel, it has very high standards. The New Yorker Hotel will definitely be my first choice when I return to NYC!

Room Tip: A room high up to get a view of the Empire State!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Raphyy_Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#136 of 469 in New York City
7,343 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#270 of 469 in New York City
4,878 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#355 of 469 in New York City
19,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#282 of 469 in New York City
5,443 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#328 of 469 in New York City
7,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Address: 481 8th Avenue & 34th Street, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in New York City
#168 Family Hotel in New York City
#184 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#211 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#216 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £108 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing