We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average - they charge for baggage storage, even for short periods!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #274 of 466 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Average - they charge for baggage storage, even for short periods!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Can't believe they charged us to store our bags for 90 min between check out and taxi to the airport after spending over $300/night on a room (I had called previously and no one gave me this info). One of the days we were there, we came back to the room at 4 and it wasn't made up. That's really all I remember...room was basic, updated, bathroom needed a bit of work. Good location. Staff - average.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,646
    4,798
    1,943
    597
    370
See reviews for
3,220
3,881
581
1,301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,281)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Nice hotel but staff not very sympatic. The room is average. The location is very good, close to a lot of tourism point. The hotel has hiden cost. Even after talking with the middle management to clarify the hiden cost, the top management did not return the call


  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Alain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was our first time in this hotel, although we have stayed at a Wyndham hotel in the past. Our stay was for three nights. A room recently renovated was assigned to us with two double beds. The room size was ok, was clean and well decorated. The beds were comfortable. The location is great, just steps away from Penn Station. In general, we had a great experience and definitely would recommend this hotel to our friends. Check-in experience was great. Muhammed provided us a great service. Was very friendly and was very helpful. Room service staff were very friendly and courteous. We had a problem with our security box, security personnel was very responsive and the situation was solved immediately. We would definitely stay again...thanks for your excellent service.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated rooms.
See more room tips
Green Features: This is a green hotel. Recycling was promoted at all times.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vanessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I have just got back from here after a holiday with my boyfriend in NYC (NYC is amazing by the way). If you are doing New York properly then you won't really be in your hotel that much, and I think the few negatives reviews I've read about this place are from people who spent too much time in their room. Yes the rooms are small, but all hotel rooms in NYC are small. There was plenty of room for us (and our shopping) and there was a large cupboard that fitted both our suitcases (which we could access without taking them out again). Rooms were very clean and bed was comfortable. We just got the standard room and this was fine (if you have a kid I would get a bigger one though)
Hotel has an Art Deco/40s feel which I thought gave it a charm. The only slight grumble I would have is the shower as the temperature was hard to get right, but this was only on a few occasions (we stayed for 6 nights)
It is not the kind of hotel where staff are on call and waiting around for you - it's a busy city hotel with 34 floors - people are going in and out all the time, but they ask to see your key card before going up for security.
We had breakfast most mornings at the diner attached to the hotel - we didn't need lunch after this! A real American style diner and very quick and efficient. Be careful as I've put on a good few centimetres round my waste - but the bacon was worst it.
Location couldn't have been better - Empire State is a short walk and there are loads of shops near by.
Outside the hotel are men selling bus tour tickets (in yellow shirts) we were a bit unsure but got one anyway (holiday spirit) and I couldn't recommended this enough. It included a ferry ride of the coast (to Statue of Liberty too) and buses to all the attractions - £30 each for 3 days. Well worth it.
I would stay here again and have recommended to some work colleagues who are going on holiday to stay there. At the end of the day it's New York - do it properly and you'll just be going back to recharge. Have fun (and I'm jealous as I want to go again)!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Burger2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks , CA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I love staying at older hotels that have lots of character and charm, the Wyndahm New Yorker has plenty of both. Built in the 1920's, the hotel retains much of the Art Deco décor even though it was recently totally renovated. The room furnishings and carpeting are new and very well kept. The location was perfect as we arrived from Penn Station and were attending a show on Broadway and could walk to and from each. The hotel has two restaurants we ate at both and everyone in our party enjoyed the food and service. The bar looks out onto 8th avenue and it is a perfect location for people watching. Our suite was small but the breathtaking view more than made up for that. I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggiefrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#95 of 466 in New York City
4,326 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 466 in New York City
18,514 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 466 in New York City
7,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#188 of 466 in New York City
9,565 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#262 of 466 in New York City
4,649 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#225 of 466 in New York City
4,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Property: The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#168 Family Hotel in New York City
#180 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#211 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#216 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing