We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal hotel for a exploring New York over a weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #273 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal hotel for a exploring New York over a weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My father and I stayed at the New Yorker for 4 nights from 19th June to 23rd June. We were greeted upon arrival by Mohammed on reception who was very friendly and kindly gave my Dad a birthday card when he found out we were celebrating his 60th. The reception area of the hotel was lovely in an Art Deco style.

The rooms were ideal. Although the view from the room wasn't great, It didn't matter too much as we didn't spent too much time in the room. The beds were really comfy and the coffee machine was just what we needed after a day walking around the street of new york.

All the staff in the hotel were really helpful and friendly and I would definetly recommend this hotel. It is also really well placed, not far from Times Square, in order to be able to explore the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josaphine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel while you were celebrating such a special occasion in New York City.

We appreciate your valuable business and thank you for the positive review. Thank you for noting the stellar service Mohammed delivered upon arrival. I am delighted to read he provided you the service level we expect all our staff to provide to all our guests. Please be assured he and the rest of the staff will be shown your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel when your travels find you returning to New York City (maybe for your dad's 61st birthday?).

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,444
    4,540
    1,815
    548
    344
See reviews for
3,000
3,675
544
1,223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,142)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Location of the hotel was fantastic - walking distance to Times Square and easy access to subway stations. However upon arrival, the valet staff was quite unwelcoming to say the least. The unloading of our vehicle was rushed (valet just took everything out of our car and left us standing in the street scrambling to get all of our stuff out - crazy busy street I might mention). While we were checking in, the valet pushed the cart with all our luggage over to the side - no process explained here. We got up to our room and thankfully our luggage arrived with the bell man pretty quick.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel for its location - definitely could use a few improvements with their customer service though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carly_t04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel while you were in New York City.

We appreciate your valuable business and feedback. Please accept my apologies for the lack of service you received when you arrived to the hotel. Please be assured your comments are being reviewed and necessary steps will be looked at to ensure the same issue does not arise in the future.

I would like to discuss your stay with you further, at your convenience, please email me directly at brauch@nyhotel.com (please reference your review).

I look forward to your email.

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D.C.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Got a great conference rate which made up for the dated bathroom, slow wifi and elevators. Staff very friendly, patient and accomodating. If want to avoid tourists this is not the hotel for you. So while the facility lacks charm the price can't be beat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soccerandsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel while you were attending a conference.

We appreciate your valuable business and thank you for the positive feedback. I am delighted to read the staff delivered stellar service as expected.

Being on 34th street right across the street from Penn Station as well as a block away from Macy's does make the hotel quite busy.

Please accept our apologies for the dated bathroom in the room you were assigned. The hotel does provide 2 levels of Wi-Fi service, complimentary limited service and a premium higher bandwidth service. The hotel does have 12 guests elevators to service our 1024 hotel rooms.

We look forward to your return your visit at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel when your travels find you back in New York City.

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

stayed at new yorker hotel in new york city. arrived by train at penn station. 3 minute walk to hotel.
quick and easy check-in. super room although small but standard for new york. location was fantastic as we were close to everything, times square, central park, a few blocks away from the empire state building and any eatery you need for breakfast lunch or dinner. we had breakfast at the diner in the hotel which was excellent.loved new york and all it has to offer. booked this hotel through trivago and payed $232 us. what a deal. we walked to juniors, angelo's pizza, carnegie deli, club a steak house among many others. all were excellent. also booked viatour day trip leaving from empire state building to the new 1- world trade center including double decker bus and water taxi. well worth it.
we are planning on returning in the fall.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LOUIS M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel while you were in New York City.

We appreciate your valuable feedback and the positive review. I am delighted to read the service you were provided was as expected and you had an enjoyable stay. Please be assured your review will be shared with all the staff.

We look forward to your return visit at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel when your travels find you back in New York City.

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#339 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15,723 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#143 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,696 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#326 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#277 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,000 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#217 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,650 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#192 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Property: The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#173 Family Hotel in New York City
#175 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#222 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing