We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, classic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #275 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Shenandoah, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great location, classic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I absolutely loved this hotel. It's in a great location within walking distance from Penn Station. The rooms are small, but they're nice and clean. It's a classic hotel with awesome architectural details.
Every staff member we interacted with was professional, kind and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trsces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel while you were in New York City.

We appreciate your valuable feedback and positive review. Please be assured it will be shared with all the staff. We are delighted to read our staff is living up to the service standards we expect to be provided to all guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel when you travels find you returning to New York City.

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,488
    4,597
    1,843
    567
    348
See reviews for
3,052
3,722
552
1,236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,178)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The New Yorker for 7 nights and we were very impressed with the hotel. We initially checked into a room on the 8th floor. Whilst the room had been renovated it was very small and the windows looked out onto a back alley and other buildings. Barely any natural light, it wasn't very nice. We spoke with Angel at the front desk and he changed us into an older unrenovated room on the 22nd floor looking out over the Hudson River, and whilst it was a bit tired it was much better. We could open the windows to let in fresh air and it was slightly bigger.
The staff we dealt with at the hotel were all very helpful. From the security staff to the young guy with the NY accent who helped us book a hop on hop off tour.
Hotel location is right across the street from Penn Station and walking distance to Times Square and other Midtown restaurants, Broadway etc. The Tik Tok diner downstairs is a great place for breakfast as the hotel doesn't have its own restaurant or room service.
Would highly recommend this hotel for anyone on a trip to New York.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank HaleyDarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel while you were in New York City.

We appreciate your valuable business and the positive feedback. Please be assured it will be shared with all our staff. Thank you for recognizing the service you were provided as we continuous look for ways to ensure all our guests are having a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel when your travels find you returning to New York City.

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Considering the fact that New York is the City that NEVER sleeps, it often feels pointless spending hundreds of your hard earned dollars on a place to sleep! Who goes to NY and just sits in their room? Exactly! All you need is a clean and comfortable place to stay, good service when you need some help and a easy-to-access location.

The New Yorker was all of these things. The rate I got was fantastic for NY which is one of the most expensive cities in the world for hotels. I have spent similar amounts and ended up in flea pits! Its location makes this hotel perfect. Right across the road from Penn Station, so getting from any airport is a doodle. Right in the heart of Midtown with every worthy attraction a walk away. You can get anywhere from 34th Subway.

The hotel was once a landmark hotel with lots of history and they have done a decent job to keep it looking nice and neat. Sure there is no room service but again - with so many places to eat in NYC whats the point! The on-site 24hr TickTok Diner is great and the lovely Maria and the rest of the staff are great!

The only issue I had, which I do not take personally was a rather grumpy receptionist who when it was my turn to check in, totally blanked me and called forward a guest who got there 5 minus after me.

I did spill a glass of Port on my t-shirt during a spot of turbulence on the flight so she might have mistook me for a hobo - but her tone was off-handed. Tied arguing that I had pushed in. (I'm British - we invented queuing!) Fortunately the other guest clearly knew that I was next even if she didn't. She maybe was having a stressful day we're only human after all!

All the other staff were great, helpful and friendly.

Apart from having an argument upon 5 minutes of walking into the hotel - I would recommend this place to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mikeijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel while you were in New York City.

We appreciate your valuable business and your positive feedback. Please be assured we will share your review with all the staff.

Allow me to apologize regarding the receptionist who did not recognize you while you were waiting to be assisted. I would like to know more and would ask if you can contact me directly at brauch@nyhotel.com at your convenience.

I look forward to your reply.

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

A friend and I had the pleasure of staying in your hotel while visiting New York City for a Road Scholar program. The room was fine except for the bathroom; it was much too small for two women to get ready early in the AM. We spoke to Mohammad, at the reception desk about the problem and he found us a room with two bathrooms. This was a great solution to the problem and made our visit much more enjoyable.

Wilma Neis

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel while you were in New York City.

We appreciate your valuable business and positive feedback. We are delighted to read Mohammad was able to provide you the service we expect from him and the rest of the staff. Please be assured he will be given a copy of your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel when you travels find you returning to New York City.

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My father and I stayed at the New Yorker for 4 nights from 19th June to 23rd June. We were greeted upon arrival by Mohammed on reception who was very friendly and kindly gave my Dad a birthday card when he found out we were celebrating his 60th. The reception area of the hotel was lovely in an Art Deco style.

The rooms were ideal. Although the view from the room wasn't great, It didn't matter too much as we didn't spent too much time in the room. The beds were really comfy and the coffee machine was just what we needed after a day walking around the street of new york.

All the staff in the hotel were really helpful and friendly and I would definetly recommend this hotel. It is also really well placed, not far from Times Square, in order to be able to explore the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josaphine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel while you were celebrating such a special occasion in New York City.

We appreciate your valuable business and thank you for the positive review. Thank you for noting the stellar service Mohammed delivered upon arrival. I am delighted to read he provided you the service level we expect all our staff to provide to all our guests. Please be assured he and the rest of the staff will be shown your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel when your travels find you returning to New York City (maybe for your dad's 61st birthday?).

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#343 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,526 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#146 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,791 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#321 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,737 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,178 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#305 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Property: The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#172 Family Hotel in New York City
#177 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#215 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#221 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing