We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a complete referb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #278 of 471 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I booked thru my agent in the UK as a 21st Birthday surprise for my Daughter, I e-mailed ahead and told them and was given a slightly bigger room which was very nice, However I didn't expect the £300 deposit they insisted on! That was a massive shock, apparently a standard thing in NY.
The room was adequate for an over night stay but when you're there for a week and can't store drinks, food etc as there isn't a fridge it was a bit of a pain. And worst of all no kettle or coffee maker!!
The rooms are cleaned on a regular basis and to a fairly good standard, bathroom was tired and the plug to the bath didn't fit.

I know America has a dreadful tipping culture but this was ridiculous! you dare not even ask the time in case they hold their hand out!
on our last day when we came to pack i discovered a bottle of perfume I had bought had been taken from the room, we went to the Manager who said there was nothing he could do!!!
he did however give me a free pillow when I told him how comfortable they were.
we then went to leave our suitcases as our flight was a couple of hours after check-out and were charge £4 per case!! how greedy is that after a week of our money!
Plus point....Good location.
would I stay there again? Probably not as there are far nicer hotels in NY with less of a money grabbing attitude!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms as high up as possible, they are a better standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CheshireJanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest;

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel.

We appreciate your feedback. The hotel does offer a Keurig coffee machine upon request. It is true the hotel does charge for storage of luggage.

Please allow me to apologize your bottle of perfume went missing from your room. I would like to discuss your stay with you further, please contact me directly at Brauch@nyhotel.com (please reference your review).

I look forward to your reply.

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11,941)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,978 - 4,984 of 11,941 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

I do business in New Jersey and find that commuting from the hotel is convenient -- easy access to train, bus or taxi. Lots of shopping and tourist sites are within short walking distance. The hotel rooms are small and a little dated -- not a lot of electrical outlets -- but clean and many offer views of the Hudson and surrounding buildings. A minimalist but crowded lobby offers great people viewing but the front office functions are a bit slow and not very customer service oriented. However, the attached diner is vintage New York -- even down to the surliness of the staff -- and offers a tasty, reasonable priced meal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel while you were in New York City.

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay. Please accept my apologies the service provided at the front desk was not at the level of service that is expected and experienced by most guests.

Please contact me directly at Brauch@nyhotel.com, to further discuss your stay (please reference your review).

I look forward to your reply.

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
6  Thank dsteele526
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 days. It was totally disappointed. I will never stay here again.
No minibar
No complimentary water, coffee maker (in old rooms)
Old and dirty bathtub
Doors are so close to eachother
Its sounds waking you up.
Wardrobe size is not enough for 2 people.
Good location i have to say that one.




Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Koray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel while you were in New York City.

Please accept our apologies you did not have a enjoyable stay as well as the room you were assigned. The hotel does offer refrigerators and complimentary Keurig coffee makers (and coffee) upon request.

I would like to further discuss your stay with you and would ask if you can reach out to me directly at brauch@nyhotel.com (please reference your view).

I look forward to you reply.

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 July 2014

After searching for New York hotels that were around 34th St, we found this one. What a nice find. The location is perfect for getting wherever you want to go and there is much to see in this area, (Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden etc.) When we got to the hotel, our reservation was lost; however, the person checking us in asked us to take a seat while she searched. She found our reservation which was a suite with two bathrooms, a living room with refrigerator and closet and a bedroom with 2 double beds, a closet and safe. There was a bathroom in each room. The room was very clean as was the lobby of the hotel. The hotel has a fitness and business center, a 24 hour diner and another restaurant and bar. We got free Wi-Fi in our room so we were able to use our computer. Everyone we met was friendly and helpful. The Concierge helped us with anything we wanted to know and do. We would definitely go back to this hotel. Although built in 1929, it has been updated, and our view was great!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel while you were in New York City.

We appreciate the valuable feedback and the positive review. I am glad to read the front desk was able to assist you with your reservation to ensure you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel when you travels find you back to New York City.

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Room and bath were small. Miss the tubs. Shower nice but steams up bathroom. Closet small. Comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel.

We appreciate your valuable feedback and thank you for the positive review. Based on your review you were allocated to our new Executive Room. We have removed the bathtubs from these rooms to create a more luxury shower.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Wyndham New Yorker when your travels find you back in New York City.

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#275 of 471 in New York City
5,004 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 471 in New York City
7,462 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#353 of 471 in New York City
20,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#329 of 471 in New York City
7,145 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#304 of 471 in New York City
5,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Address: 481 8th Avenue & 34th Street, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Green Hotel in New York City
#87 Family Hotel in New York City
#185 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#211 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#216 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £92 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing