We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #278 of 471 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I just stayed at the New Yorker and wanted to point out the highlights -- I came into the city for the Bruno Mars concert - and wanted a hotel close by Madison Square Garden.

The hotel is a block away. The doormen were friendly upon arrival, the line for check in was getting long - so a nice woman but the name of Aniana helped to speed up the process from the Rewards desk. She was very welcoming and even more so did whatever she could to make my overnight stay easy & relaxing with a complimentary drink at the Tavern. Nice touch! The gentleman running the elevators was also very kind and everyone seemed to have smiles.

The rest of my stay included assistance from front desk attendee Afroza as well as the Manager, Michael Simms who both were extremely accommodating. Michael was able to upgrade my room and for that I was forever thankful.

I was so pleasantly surprised by all of the kindness & hospitality that the New Yorker offered, I would refer this hotel to others who are heading to the Garden and need an overnight accommodation -- and free wifi!

Thanks all :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Outdoorshowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel while you were in New York City enjoying the concert.

I have read your review and appreciate the positive comments you posted regarding your interactions with the staff. I am delighted to read the service level provided was as expected. Please be assured the staff will be receiving a copy of your review.

I hope we have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel if your travels find you returning to New York City.

Thank you again for the positive review.

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11,941)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,936 - 4,942 of 11,941 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was my first visit to NY and we stayed in the New Yorker for a week. Did not have anything to complain about (other than the NY voltage was lower than British, so could not straighten my hair...no big deal !!!) Loved the original Art Deco features in the hotel, very friendly staff, and ate mostly in the Tick Tock diner, food to die for. Will definitely come again. 10/10

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the top, great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Caron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel while you were in New York City.

I have read your view and would like to thank you for the positive comments you noted regarding your stay. I do apologize the voltage in New York City does not compare to what is in Britain. Please be aware the hotel was the home of Nicklaus Telsa during his final years and we actually house one of his original power plants.

I hope we have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel should your travels find you returning to New York City.

Thank you again for the positive review.

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Loved the Wyndham New Yorker. Super close to everything I wanted to do plus easy access to my work location for the week! Great stay!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
2  Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel while you were in New York City.

I have read your review and would like to thank you for the positive review. We are indeed in the center of it all. Less than a 5 minute walk to Macy's, Times Square, Broadway Shows, less than a 10 minute walk to the Empire State Building and a block away from Penn Station and Madison Square Garden.

I hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel should your travels find you returning to New York City.

Thank you again for the positive review.

Sincerely,


Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We recently stayed for a week at the hotel and would definitely stay here again. The assistance we received from the front desk, in particular from Samira, upon arrival and on subsequent occasions went beyond our expectations, and really made our trip very comfortable. Everyone was very pleasant and professional to deal with and all our questions were satisfactorily answered.
We originally chose the hotel based on its location, close to the venues we needed to go to every day. It is a busy area, but easy to reach by public transport and very convenient for the subway. Our room was quiet for such a central location, it had plenty of room for the four of us (2 adults, 2 teens) and a very nice view of the river. We saw some great sunsets.
We had to phone to get a coffee maker put in the room at the beginning of the stay, but it was brought right away.
The small bathroom was well appointed, clean and recently refurbished. The beds were comfy. The lobby area was welcoming.
We found many good, clean and reasonably priced places to grab a quick and healthy bite to eat in the area, e.g. IGK foods, Famiglia pizza, and others on 9th. Ave. between 35th. and 44th.

Room Tip: Our room was one of the larger double rooms. Westerly view was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank MBGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel while you were in New York City.

I have read your review and would like to thank you for the positive comments regarding your interactions with the staff. I am delighted the staff provided an exceptional level of service. Please be assured your comments will be given to Samira.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Wyndham New Yorker should your travels find you returning to New York City.

Thank you again for the positive review.

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I just wanted to rave about this fantastic hotel. It was so central to New York, and we had fantastic service during our two night stay there. I would like to mention 'Mohammed' who looked after us extremely well. We had a fantastic room overlooking the Empire State Building making our stay most memorable. Will definetly stay here again when we return to New York.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bertie2000dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel while you were in New York City.

I have read your review and would like to thank you for the positive comments regarding your interactions with Mohammed as well as your overall stay. I am delighted to know your interaction with the staff was as expected.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel should your travels find you returning to New York City.

Thank you again for the positive review.

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
2  Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The New Yorker is very close to many popular attractions in NYC. If you are taking the train into Penn Station, you are just steps away from this hotel. We were within walking distance to Times Square and Hell's Kitchen. The rooms were clean and updated, but be prepared for very close quarters.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel while you were in New York City.

I have read your review and would like to thank you for the positive review regarding your stay. We are indeed in the middle of it all, a few blocks away from Macy's, the Empire State Building, Times Square, Broadway Shows, Penn Station and most of mass transit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel should your travels find you returning to New York City.

Thank you again for the positive review.

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director Of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#275 of 471 in New York City
5,004 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 471 in New York City
7,462 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#353 of 471 in New York City
20,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#329 of 471 in New York City
7,145 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#304 of 471 in New York City
5,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Address: 481 8th Avenue & 34th Street, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Green Hotel in New York City
#87 Family Hotel in New York City
#185 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#211 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#216 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £92 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing