We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Middle of Manhattan, middle of everything” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #273 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Middle of Manhattan, middle of everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Though there is currently exterior construction, one step into the hotel's lobby shows you what a classic, older hotel should look like: plenty of seating, a wide, welcoming front desk, a diner and restaurant attached, an art deco feel, and a lively vibe.

Check-in was simple and fast, and there were plenty of elevators to get to one's room.

I was on the executive floor (5th, I think) and the rooms were renovated and beautiful. They were small rooms but I've been in much smaller in New York City. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the TVs new and crisp.

I had to work from my room for a bit and the desk was large, at the window for people watching, and with plenty of outlets to cover today's business traveler.

There were two free waters at the desk too, a nice bonus.

The bathroom was clean and the shower's water pressure powerful.

The location is perfect. Minutes from Penn Station, a short walk to Times Square and near enough train stops to get you anywhere.

If you need the right Manhattan location, and a comfortable room in a classic building, I recommend the Wyndham New Yorker.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markrotoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel while you were in New York City.

I have read your view and would like to thank you for sharing your positive experience. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. Please be assured your comments will be shared with all the employees.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel when your travels find you returning to New York City.

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,446
    4,542
    1,816
    548
    344
See reviews for
3,000
3,679
545
1,223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,143)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

The room was small but clean and the beds were very comfortable. The hotel's location in relation to Penn Station was very convenient since that is where our trains in and out of the city arrived/departed. We easily walked to the hotel. We tried both restaurants attached to the hotel and they were ok, not great, but the service in them was friendly and welcoming. We sought the assistance of the concierge desk for directions 3 times. They did not seem knowledgeable and ultimately we found it more reliable to ask passers by (who were friendly and eager to help always!). We will definitely return to the Wyndham.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel while you were in New York City.

I have read your view and would like to thank you for sharing your positive experience. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay at our centralized location.

I would like to investigate your interaction with our concierge but do not have your contact information. Please email me a brauch@nyhotel.com and reference your review.

I look forward to your email reply and welcoming you back to the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel when your travels find you returning to New York City.

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here for the NYC week of our honeymoon, and we loved it. We got a newly renovated room, so newly renovated it hadn't been used before us. Very helpful staff (recommendations, taxis, help with how to get to sports arenas), very nice and clean. The hotel itself looks very good.

As expected, the room wasn't particulary big, but we only used it for sleeping, showering and watching tv at the end of each day, so we got every need covered. We weren't in NYC to stay in our hotel room. Comfortable beds, great bathroom, big tv. The city sounds are negligible. You get free wifi for one device, anything more you have to pay for it.

The location is perfect. The subway is literally outside the door, the MSG is on the other side of the intersection, Empire State, Macy's etc. is just down the road. Because of it's location, nothing on Manhattan (sans Harlem) is far away. Short way to lower Manhattan, you are in midtown, and short way to upper Manhattan.

Breakfast is not included, but the Tick Tock Diner at street level takes care of that for you. Classic diner interior, and great food. Try their sweet potato pancakes. Fantastic! If you are staying for a long time and grow somewhat tired of their food, you could always go to Sergimmo's right nearby (9th ave. between 35th and 36th). Anyhow, you are in the middle of Manhattan, finding places to eat is no problem at all.

Recommended without hesitation!

Green Features: They share the same "towel practice" that many hotels have.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YetAnotherNorwegian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel while you were in New York City.

I have read your view and would like to thank you for sharing your positive experience. I am delighted to read the staff provided the service level as expected during your honeymoon. Please be assured your comments will be shared with all the employees.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel when your travels find you returning to New York City (hopefully for your 1 year anniversary).

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our room was basic and a bit small. On the first mirning our tolit backed up and went all overvto bathbroom floor, we reported it abd waited for two hours and nobody came so we went down to the lobby and afain reported it. It was fixed when we got back, but no apology from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo5262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel while you were in New York City.

I have read your view. I value your business and would like to investigate your stay but do not have your contact information. Please email me at your brauch@nyhotel.com and reference your review.

I look forward to your email reply.

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#339 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15,761 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,699 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#327 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#277 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,000 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#218 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,650 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#194 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Property: The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#173 Family Hotel in New York City
#175 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#222 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, TravelUp, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing