We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous - as always”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #274 of 469 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Let me begin by saying that this was my umpteenth holiday visit to the New Yorker Hotel.

I've stayed there when it was a Ramada, plain-old New Yorker and now it's part of the Wyndham chain.

Each time, it's been great and this visit was certainly no exception.

From a friendly checkin, great support from the transport staff, right through to the housekeeping staff, the hotel staff were all superb.

The location is great. It's on top of Penn Station for access to the subway. 42nd street is 10 minutes away on foot, as is the Empire State Building.

Are the metro rooms small? Of course they are. Do I go to New York to stay in the room? Heck, no. It's clean. It's superbly located. It's friendly.

If you're looking for a base for a New York holiday, book this place.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank uktrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker while you were in New York City.

We appreciate your loyalty to the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel. I am delighted to read your positive comments regarding your stay. Please be assured your review will be shared with the entire staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel when your travels find you returning to New York City.

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11,598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,563 - 4,569 of 11,598 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

this was the 2nd time we had been here due to our experience of it last time ( 2012). it has a good location, 10-15 min walk to times square, 5 to empire state and approx. $10 ride to Greenwich village.
the hotel is clean, rooms comfortable , staff helpful. It has an art deco lobby which is very pleasing on the eye and reminds you of days since passed, though not shabby as it was renovated a few years back. we used the tick tock diner for breakfast as it was convenient and reasonable, they did cereals to American fare not bad at all. it also had a restaurant but we never used it so cant comment , looked nice though. all in all a great stay will stay here again when in the big apple.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Keeno62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker while you were in New York City.

I am delighted to read your positive comments regarding your stay. Please be assured your review will be shared with the entire staff.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel when your travels find you returning to New York City.

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

we had a great time in the big apple. the hotel is in a great location…centrally located. empire state building down the block. you can pretty much walk anywhere you need to get. the staff is very friendly. the issues are that the rooms are very very small. smaller then a dorm room. queen bed square in the middle with not a lot of room to go around. not a lot of closet, storage for clothes and luggage. bathroom almost as big as the room. great pressure in the shower. the noise level in the hallways is very high as well throughout the night. we didn't care much about the negatives but if a room is important you may want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank havefun135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker while you were in New York City.

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay. The Wyndham New Yorker Hotel offers different sizes of rooms (including Queen or Double/Double suites and Premium Suites with a kitchenette and dinning table) at various price points. I am delighted to read your interaction without our staff was as expected. Please be assured your review will be shared with the entire staff.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel when your travels find you returning to New York City.

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed 5 nights here in mid July with my wife and 2 teenage daughters. Very comfortable rooms. Staff were all helpful and kind despite being a very busy hotel. We used the adjoining Tick/Tock Diner a few times for breakfast which was great food and great service. Great central location.

Room Tip: Check room size when booking - rooms were slightly smaller than we had expected but fine - if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank teddscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker while you were in New York City.

I am delighted to read your positive comments regarding your stay. Please be assured your review will be shared with the entire staff.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel when your travels find you returning to New York City.

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Very small room, but acceptable for sleeping only. Room and hotel is clean, personal is friendly and upgrading our room wasn't a problem (because first room was way too small). I w'd recommend this hotel, if you need a central hotel in Manhattan, if you want a little bit more than a bed than go for something else.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank den B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker while you were in New York City.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay. The Wyndham New Yorker does offer various room types (including Queen Suites, Double/Double Suites and Premium suites with a dinning table) at various price points. I delighted to read your positive comments regarding your interaction with the staff. Please be assured your review will be shared with the entire staff.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel when your travels find you returning to New York City.

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel was in the perfect spot. Not too far to walk to either the Empire State Building or Times Square. We had a room on 26th floor which had a great view of the Empire State Building. Night time was a little noisy with siren s going off all night but thats to be expected in such a large busy city. Room was of an adequate size which included 2 double beds and 2 arm chairs. The only problem was having 4 large suitcases and where to put them.
Staff were very polite and the concierge was very helpful.
If I visited New York again I would book this hotel again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank lorraine_conrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker while you were in New York City.

I am delighted to read your positive comments regarding your stay. Please be assured your review will be shared with the entire staff.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel when your travels find you returning to New York City.

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This side of Venice and Paris, I have rarely enjoyed such a small hotel room in a 4 star hotel. Not for the claustrophobic traveller... Las Vegas this is not. This being said, the accommodation was most acceptable, centrally located, especially with a sizzling Priceline deal. The 28th floor room was recently refurbished, with a spectacular skylight view, the bedding was top-notch, even if you could not waltz around it, elderly but well tuned-up bathroom with swell toilettries. On the minus side: scratches on the furniture -already?- and holes in the only chair covering, invading corridor noises. Respectful, attentive staff. For a single voyager on a budget, the New Yorker is a smart choice.

Room Tip: Try to get a renovated room with a skyline view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Torontonian54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel while you were in New York City. We are indeed in the perfect location for any guest (Penn Station a few feet away, Macy's one block away, The Empire State Building a couple of blocks away and Times Square a 10 minute walk from the hotel or a 2 minute cab ride away).

I would like to investigate your reservation and room you were assigned but do not have your contact information, please email me at Brauch@nyhotel and reference your review.

I hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel when your travels find you returning to New York City.

Sincerely,


Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#103 of 469 in New York City
4,407 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#353 of 469 in New York City
19,281 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 469 in New York City
7,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#265 of 469 in New York City
4,807 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#198 of 469 in New York City
9,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Green Hotel in New York City
#168 Family Hotel in New York City
#181 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#211 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#216 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £121 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotelopia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing