We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Started bad, ended good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manhattan Broadway Hotel
Ranked #425 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Reserved 3 rooms, were told they overbooked. Had to squeeze into two rooms. Got money back for one room, but no discount for others. Rooms were small but clean. Would recommend if they can get reservations on track. Great location. Second time in New York, both times i was only in room to sleep and shower, why would I want to spend more time in room, when I can be out in New York City. I would stay again.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank crazy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (702)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

225 - 231 of 702 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

I booked this hotel with Expedia.com and in all honesty, the site should be embarrassed to be partnering with this business. There should be some kind of screening process for any hotel to be included on these accomodation sites!! The room was $250 for one night, booked during the time of the MLB All-star game because I had a business conference that following morning.

The photos displayed for this hotel are beyond "gross representation" of this 3rd world hostel. It is not a hotel, it is a building that someone converted by finding mattresses, bed frames and sheets from the salvation army. Your towels will proudly display signs of use from those before you. The "beds' were mis-matched mattresses on top of shotty "frames". The pillow didn't even have pillowcases. One blanket had stains, the other was a cut-up piece of fabric. The "desk manager" was a sleaze-ball living in denial that the rooms in this hostel are "clean". When we demanded a refund, we were told he could not do that because we were upstairs too long (30 minutes max, as we were scrambling to find another room elsewhere), and that in that time he could have booked the room for someone else. Mind you, this was 11pm at night on a Tuesday. When I said I would call my bank, he laughed and told us "Good luck with that, we already have your money."

It might be a good price/room for someone from a 3rd world country, but for anyone looking to not get bed bugs, lice or carry some roaches back to their own homes, it's a scam of the highest level. They will run your card and have you sign a form before viewing your room to ensure they have your money whether or not you can stomach spending the night in this run-down roach motel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Andresa0721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This hotel was an entire deception, for 30~ buck I decided to get this one over some others but the quality is on the floor:

- Tiny and Stinky (very, very... VERY stinky) room
- Flies in the bathroom
- Low maintenance
- 15in TV with 5 channels and bad reception
- Horrible bathtub

Room Tip: Spend a little more money and you will get something way better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mat060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel, everything was perfect from our room to the hotel service. Would definitely return. The location was very convenient for our travelling needs such as shopping, sightseeing. This was the Perfect NYC location!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tawat Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I've stayed with my son at the said hotel for 5 days. As anticipated, I am not expecting a 3-4 star service but considering the location, it's just fantastic. Whatever personal requirements are at the door-step ...... Hotel staff are quite helpful and don't expect to have meals (you'll have plenty to choose from)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZainHaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I stayed at Manhattan Broadway Hotel and was impressed by the friendly staff and attention to detail.. The rooms were cozy and linens perfectly maintained. My room was cleaned daily by the super attentive house keeping staff. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking for that perfect NYC location, a clean and comfy room, and a worry free, relaxing stay..

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My sister and a friend booked this hotel for our three night stay in NYC. When we first arrived and saw the outside of the hotel we were not sure we were going to stay. It was scary looking. The front desk person David was very nice and gave us the option to view the room and if we decided not to stay he would not charge our credit card. We were three women who needed our own beds. Our room had a bunk bed and a single bed. The room was small but clean. The A/C worked. We decided to stay and in the end we had a good time. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. The location was perfect. We could walk out our door to a fresh slice of pizza or walk to Macy's. Just be aware this is a no frill hotel. If you want coffee you have to go next door to the Asian bakery. The maids cleaned the room everyday and left clean towels daily. If your looking for soft comfortable towels and sheets go a fancy hotel. If you want a clean safe hotel to lay your head and save money for other parts of your trip cinsider this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice8231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#389 of 473 in New York City
660 reviews
Midtown
Americana Inn
Americana Inn
#378 of 473 in New York City
752 reviews
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#400 of 473 in New York City
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#236 of 473 in New York City
5,072 reviews
Midtown
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Amsterdam Court Hotel
#346 of 473 in New York City
3,322 reviews
Chinatown
SoHo Garden Hotel
SoHo Garden Hotel
#376 of 473 in New York City
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manhattan Broadway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Broadway Hotel

Address: 273 W 38th St, New York City, NY 10018-4416
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #425 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £52 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Manhattan Broadway Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourist class boutique hotel, economically priced, clean, well appointed rooms. - Heart of Midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Manhattan Broadway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Broadway Budget Hotel
Hotel Manhattan Broadway
Manhattan Broadway Hotel New York
Manhattan Broadway New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing