We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel at a good price, book the room class you actually need there aren't roll away beds.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Ranked #34 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed her with some friends for a weekend of eating and drinking. Got a very good price on priceline. Hotel is modern and clean. The bar downstairs is hip but not open super late so across the street at Harry's is a good bet for quick food and late night drinks. Overall a good experience. If you are looking to walk to NYC attractions this may not be your best bet (as it is in the financial district) but the subway is very close and easy to use to get to most spots.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThompsonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2011

Dear utilant,
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us; we love hearing from our guests. We appreciate your kind words in reference to the quality and cleanliness of Gild Hall and we’re grateful to hear that you and your friends had an enjoyable weekend of eating a drinking. Again, we thank you for your feedback and look forward to serving you in the future.

Regards,

Timothy Hayes
Guest Relations
Thompson Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,335 - 1,341 of 1,667 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed here for a recent business trip and was impressed by the hotel. It is in the perfect location for people who are working in the financial district. The hotel feels like a stylish boutique option against the large traditioonal hotels, the lobby is set out like an Alpine lodge and the whole hotel feels quite cool. The only issue was that I originally boked the room next to the penthouse and the soundproofing was not good. However, the front desk moved me the next night and this room was much better.
The rooms are comfortable and have all the modern technology you would expect. Overall a good hotel at reasonable rates.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thompj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThompsonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2011

Dear thompj,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us; we love hearing from our guests. We appreciate your kind words regarding the location and aesthetics of Gild Hall and we hope that these attributes made your stay both convenient and enjoyable. As well, we apologize for the inconveniences that your original room may have caused, but we’re glad that we were able make the necessary adjustments in order to provide you with a superbly comfortable stay.

We hope we’ve made you a fan of Thompson and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Regards,

Timothy Hayes
Guest Relations
Thompson Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We stayed for 2 days in the suite for a wedding at south street seaport. Very well decorated and clean room. The price was pretty pricey, but I suppose it's pretty much the same anywhere in that area. The staff was very nice and attentive. The only complaint I have is the breakfast available for $10.00 a person was aweful because there was not much to pick from and no silverware or napkins were available and the coffee was horrible. But I didn't stay there for the breakfast so really not hardly worth mentioning. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathyfletchall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThompsonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2011

Dear kathyfletchall,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us; we love hearing from our guests. We’re pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at Gild Hall and we appreciate your compliments regarding our staff.

We apologize for the poor breakfast experience, yet we assure you that this is not our standard. We value your feedback and we’re glad you said something -our goal is to provide exceptional service throughout all aspects of your stay and we’re confident we can make the necessary changes to make your next breakfast remarkable.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we looking forward to serving you soon.

Regards,

Timothy Hayes
Guest Relations
Thompson Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We had a great time at Gild Hall. The service was wonderful. The rooms weren't large but it was to be expected in NYC. The decor of the hotel was very chic. The kids had a wonderful time playing checker in the cool lobby. The only unusual thing about the hotel was that you could see into the bathroom because the door was cloudy glass. We would definitely stay at any Thompson Hotel again.

Room Tip: We called the hotel directly for the $199/night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Family_Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThompsonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2011

Dear 4Family_Traveling,
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us, we love hearing from our guests. We’re pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay at Gild Hall and we appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and decor. We hope we’ve made you a fan of Thompson and we look forward to providing you with another exceptional stay in the future.

Regards,

Timothy Hayes
Guest Relations
Thompson Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Was so happy to visit the big apple !
They gave me a room near the elevator on the 3rd floor ! (not my choice)
Loved the room but problem with window between room and bathroom (no intimicy)
On saturday night, they decided to play very loud music right beneath us, in the bar, until 4 AM ! We were not able to sleep all night ! What were they thinking ?

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kovie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThompsonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2011

Dear kovie2011,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us; we love hearing from our guests. We're sorry to hear that your recent stay at Gild Hall did not exceed your expectations, yet we're confident we can address your concerns and provide you with an improved visit in the future.

We're proud to host exciting and vibrant events for our guests that create buzz and provide unique experiences for our patrons. Yet, we try to accommodate guests who are seeking a quiet escape by either allocating guests away from elevators, moving them to higher floors or by providing complimentary upgrades, if possible. As well, we update guest preferences for future reservations to ensure convenience and a flawless experience during their next visit.

In addition, we would like to invite you to contact us -please send a message to ThompsonHotels or contact the hotel directly. Again, we appreciate your comments and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Regards,

Timothy Hayes
Guest Relations
Thompson Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

I stayed here to visit family, one of whom lived close by, which is why I chose it.
Hotel itself is fine for what it is, a bit quirky and unsure of its identity, but fine for a two night stay. Problem was the bed, a narrow, lumpy, non-flexible or springy mattress on a platform, triggered already strained joints and back, causing a lot of pain. I called the front desk in the middle of the night to see if they had anything else. They didn't and didn't seem to care much about my predicament. Next night I was upgraded to a suite, which was truly lovely of them and in itself, but the bed was the same. No sleep for two nights. If this is not an issue, it is an adequate hotel. Good coffee in the breakfast area. Some staff very nice.

Room Tip: Get the largest room you can with high ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waterwoman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThompsonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2011

Dear Waterwoman10,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we love hearing from our guests. We are sorry to hear that your recent stay at Gild Hall did not exceed your expectations, yet we’re confident that we can address your concerns and provide you with an improved stay in the future. Each of our beds are specifically designed for Thompson Hotels, however, we aim to replace them every three years and are currently in the redesigning process. Unfortunately, we did not have these new beds ready for your recent stay.

To further address your concerns we would like to invite you to contact us -please send a message to ThompsonHotels or contact the hotel directly. Again, we appreciate your comments and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Regards,

Timothy Hayes
Guest Relations
Thompson Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

It seems that experience depends on the price you pay, as you pay more you expect more, but in NY more could mean a thousand dollars per nigth. If you have stayed in a hostel en NY you know the diference, all the other average hotels are similar to Gild. Gild is clean, friendly, close to tourist places, metro station, grocery stores if you want a botle of water and food places. Neighborhood is secure but many streets under repairment.

Room Tip: This was a travelzzoo special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergio19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#25 of 469 in New York City
474 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#11 of 469 in New York City
500 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#4 of 469 in New York City
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#69 of 469 in New York City
662 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#14 of 469 in New York City
694 reviews
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#117 of 469 in New York City
2,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel

Address: 15 Gold Street, Main Entrance on Platt Street, New York City, NY 10038-4803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in New York City
#17 Family Hotel in New York City
#32 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#57 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £151 - £448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen meets Wall Street at Gild Hall, Thompson Hotels' Lower Manhattan luxury lifestyle design property. Located on Gold Street in the heart of the financial district with nearby landmarks such as the 9/11 memorial, Freedom Tower, Brooklyn Bridge and Statue of Liberty, Gild Hall brings a new level of design savvy and service to Manhattan's most historic neighborhood. Designed by Jim Walrod, the unpretentious yet luxurious hotel offers 126 rooms and suites including meeting space for up to 15 people. Our rooms feature oversize leather-tufted headboards and elegant custom-designed furniture, topped with rich flannel throws and mahogany details, some adorned by dramatic chandeliers. Felice Ristorante & Wine Bar offers authentic Tuscan fare complete with one of the best Italian proprietary wines - bottled from Fattoria Sardi Giustiniani, the owner's vineyard in Lucca. Effortlessly blending classical European sensibility with American contemporary style, Gild Hall serves as a modern-day gentleman's club for the kings and queens of Wall Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gild Hall New York City
Gild Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing