We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Ranked #40 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Newprt Beach
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We chose the hotel at the last minute, and didn't realize it was quite so far downtown. I was worried at first that it would be inconvenient, but it is actually very accessable to the Meat Packing District and Soho, the two areas we were planning to visit, at a much better price than hotels we normally stay at in those areas. The sevice was amazing from the valet, to the bell hop, and front staff.
The area around the hotel is fun and bustling, even at night, and the rooms, beds and bedding were extremely comfortable.
We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriCKenyon92625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear LoriCKenyon92625,

We are glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including our great staff. Thank you for posting and for your recommendation. We will look forward to your next stay...

Warmest regards,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    922
    430
    101
    38
    14
See reviews for
203
603
116
370
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We have just returned from a 9 night stay in this excellent hotel. Having stayed in midtown on two previous occasions we wanted a change, but were reluctant at being so far downtown. We shouldn't have worried, this is an ideal location for even the first time visitor to NYC, the hotel is two streets from Fulton Street subway, which has almost every line running through it, or a further street to get to City Hall subway for another very useful line.
It is also useful for the East river ferry, this will get you up to midtown for $4, and in our view is the best $4 you could ever spend in New York.
The hotel staff are excellent,fom the front desk, to the doorman, to the staff in Felice restaurant. We have had larger rooms in Manhattan, but these are perfectly adequate. Apart from sleeping we spend very little time in them. Clothes storage is minimal, especially if you are in a twin double. We found the air conditioning in the room to be alittle on the noisy side, but not enough to keep you awake.
I do feel that a hotel of this caliber should offer in-room tea and coffee, we have stayed in budget hotels that offer this.
There are plenty of places to have breakfast as most workers in the financial district tend to have breakfast on the way to work.
During the week the area is buzzing, from early till late, restaurants and bars are lively. At the weekend it is bit quieter, which is a pleasant change.
As can be seen from previous reviews on choosing this hotel you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joseph m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for your recommendation and kind words regarding our staff, joseph m. We all hope you will be returning soon to Gild Hall on your next trip to New York City. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance in the future.

Warm regards,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stayed here over the weekend and absolutely loved Gild Hall. Complimentary Prosecco at check in was a nice touch and it spoke well towards the type of hotel Gild Hall is: boutique styling with the courtesy of a corporate, but very cool, parent company, Thompson. What this equates to is the ability to be unique, small and intimate while not carrying the associations of a spotty staff or maintenance record. Gild Hall brilliantly blends modern design with warm comfort, a feat not easily achieved. The room was fantastic - 12' + ceilings opened the space and the absence of the typical hotel "stock art" was well received by both parties. They do very well with the little space they had, but for an NYC hotel, and one downtown, the room felt spacious and well appointed. One thing that made a huge impact was the cleanliness of the bathroom. White pedestal sink was spotless and the water pressure and hot water will not disappoint. One thing though, the bathroom has a modern touch that maybe not everyone will appreciate: the wall between it and the bedroom is translucent, and you will see the figure of whoever's in there. So, it's not for the squeamish or overly private. Otherwise a fantastic, comfortable, clean and fashionable place for those that don't want the hustle, bustle and frenzy of a some of the larger design oriented stays. Also, many hotels like this try to make their lobby into a club (Tribeca/Soho Grand), probably to boost revenue. You won't find that here, which I personally find to be great. When I go home, I don't want to push through a bunch of drunk revelers, slamming bass, and have to show my keycard to a bouncer. Here its a nice quiet trip back to my room, past the friendly front desk staff and up to bed. Thanks Gild, you made for a great weekend.

Room Tip: We had a king deluxe room and I'll get the same again next time I stay. Large for NYC, quiet an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Brian1021,

Thank you for your amazing note! We appreciate your enthusiastic comments and look forward to your next visit.

Kindest regards,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Welcome to downtown NYC in the world famous financial area, near World Trade Center and Wall Street tourist sites. Everything you need is available at this hotel. The rooms are good, with drinks and a young crowd in house. A very good restaurant in the hotel, with a very good menu. Sports bar too. All the amenities that you need, and many more that you might want. Try it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodCurran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for your review, RodCurran! We'll look forward to your return....

Best regards,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

This elegantly appointed hotel is quiet on weekends, when the financial district shuts down and it becomes more residential. We like quiet, but if you want nightlife, you have to go only a short distance to other neighborhoods.
The room was nicely appointed and roomy for two. Service was very friendly and courteous. The only thing I would comment on is that we had only one robe and asked for another to be left n our room when we went out for the day. It was not there and we didn't want to call for one once we undressed for the evening. Why is a room for two outfitted with one robe anyway?
They use a scent throughout the hotel. I happened to find it nice, but it might be a problem if you have scent sensitivities.
We got a good rate on a weekend. I understand it is rather pricy at full price, which could affect the value rating.
It is conveniently located only a few blocks to several subway lines, and a nice walk to the Brooklyn Bridge (to walk over) and to the Seaport, which is scheduled for demolition and may be disrupted in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Debra G,

Thank you for your detailed review and your feedback. We apologize that your room was only equipped with one bathrobe. On another note, we are excited to hear how much you enjoyed our newly created and exclusive Thompson Hotel scent. We look forward to you visiting us again soon.

Kind regards,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

The Gild Hall is a boutique hotel. Great location for downtown, and close to my office. On this stay (my fifth), I have decided enough is enough.
The issues that I experienced were:
- Arrival and they had no note of previous stays (I was advised that they had changed their systems and lost data)
- Placed in a room with generator noise outside. Understandable after Hurricane Sandy, however there are no quiet rooms. If you arrive with jetlag - like me - you will also have insomnia
- Having reported the room issue at 03:00 on night two to Anthony at reception, no-one called back. Nor did anyone feel the need to contact me at any point during my stay. I stayed for six nights, mainly as I had unpacked and had meetings until late most days
- The next morning, after the early morning generator wake-up – I called down for breakfast at 06:30 when room service was due to start. The chef had not turned up, they would call me back. At 06:45 I called again (no call to my room). Still no chef. I noted that I needed coffee and asked for some toast. At 07:00 they called me and advised that the supervisor had decided that they could make coffee and toast. At 07:25 a bagel and coffee – and cheque - to be paid arrived. The bread for toast had not been delivered yet……
- The next morning I delivered two pairs of trousers at 06:45 for same day delivery. At 19:30 when they hadn’t arrived, I had to call reception. I was advised that the van had an accident and they would be delivered later. No note under the door…
- I then searched for the TV remote, it had been removed from the room. iI notified reception. 20 minutes later, another call to reception. After 30 minutes it was handed to me with no apology, just an "ok"?
Actually Gil Hall - NOT OK!

So there we have it.

Every day niggles which stressed and made me dread returning to the hotel. At more than USD 300 per night – you – and I – can surely find somewhere better.

Room Tip: Stay somehere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AbuDhabiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear AbuDhabiTraveller,

Thank you for also reaching out to me directly and giving me the opportunity to personally rectify the situation for you.

Warmest regards,
Bjoern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Lower Manhattan is a great place to stay on the weekend and Gild Hall was fabulous. Our room was clean and comfortable and everyone who worked there was pleasant and easy to work with. They really work hard to make you feel welcome and not just some random tourist. They offer valet parking but are quick to tell you to check out local garages for better rates. We stayed on the 11th floor by the elevator and it was extremely quiet (I am a light sleeper). My husband and I plan on returning!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waysidelynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear waysidelynne,

Thank you very much for your review. We are always proud to be considered "perfect". We look forward to your return visit...

Warmest regards,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#22 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#63 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#21 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#31 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#113 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel

Property: Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Address: 15 Gold Street, Main Entrance on Platt Street, New York City, NY 10038-4803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in New York City
#17 Family Hotel in New York City
#33 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#57 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen meets Wall Street at Gild Hall, Thompson Hotels' Lower Manhattan luxury lifestyle design property. Located on Gold Street in the heart of the financial district with nearby landmarks such as the 9/11 memorial, Freedom Tower, Brooklyn Bridge and Statue of Liberty, Gild Hall brings a new level of design savvy and service to Manhattan's most historic neighborhood. Designed by Jim Walrod, the unpretentious yet luxurious hotel offers 126 rooms and suites including meeting space for up to 15 people. Our rooms feature oversize leather-tufted headboards and elegant custom-designed furniture, topped with rich flannel throws and mahogany details, some adorned by dramatic chandeliers. Felice Ristorante & Wine Bar offers authentic Tuscan fare complete with one of the best Italian proprietary wines - bottled from Fattoria Sardi Giustiniani, the owner's vineyard in Lucca. Effortlessly blending classical European sensibility with American contemporary style, Gild Hall serves as a modern-day gentleman's club for the kings and queens of Wall Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gild Hall New York City
Gild Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing