We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,958)
Filter reviews
1,959 results
Traveller rating
1,259
521
122
42
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,259
521
122
42
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe financial districtwall streetfulton street subwayfelice restaurantgold streetnew yorkboutique hotellower manhattanfrosted glassbattery parkquiet locationking suiteworld trade centerbathroom doorgreat boutiquefront desk staffvisiting nyc
Filter
Updating list...
1,299 - 1,304 of 1,959 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We chose the hotel at the last minute, and didn't realize it was quite so far downtown. I was worried at first that it would be inconvenient, but it is actually very accessable to the Meat Packing District and Soho, the two areas we were planning to visit, at a much better price than hotels we normally stay at in those areas. The sevice was amazing from the valet, to the bell hop, and front staff.
The area around the hotel is fun and bustling, even at night, and the rooms, beds and bedding were extremely comfortable.
We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoriCKenyon92625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear LoriCKenyon92625,

We are glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including our great staff. Thank you for posting and for your recommendation. We will look forward to your next stay...

Warmest regards,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We have just returned from a 9 night stay in this excellent hotel. Having stayed in midtown on two previous occasions we wanted a change, but were reluctant at being so far downtown. We shouldn't have worried, this is an ideal location for even the first time visitor to NYC, the hotel is two streets from Fulton Street subway, which has almost every line running through it, or a further street to get to City Hall subway for another very useful line.
It is also useful for the East river ferry, this will get you up to midtown for $4, and in our view is the best $4 you could ever spend in New York.
The hotel staff are excellent,fom the front desk, to the doorman, to the staff in Felice restaurant. We have had larger rooms in Manhattan, but these are perfectly adequate. Apart from sleeping we spend very little time in them. Clothes storage is minimal, especially if you are in a twin double. We found the air conditioning in the room to be alittle on the noisy side, but not enough to keep you awake.
I do feel that a hotel of this caliber should offer in-room tea and coffee, we have stayed in budget hotels that offer this.
There are plenty of places to have breakfast as most workers in the financial district tend to have breakfast on the way to work.
During the week the area is buzzing, from early till late, restaurants and bars are lively. At the weekend it is bit quieter, which is a pleasant change.
As can be seen from previous reviews on choosing this hotel you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joseph m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for your recommendation and kind words regarding our staff, joseph m. We all hope you will be returning soon to Gild Hall on your next trip to New York City. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance in the future.

Warm regards,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stayed here over the weekend and absolutely loved Gild Hall. Complimentary Prosecco at check in was a nice touch and it spoke well towards the type of hotel Gild Hall is: boutique styling with the courtesy of a corporate, but very cool, parent company, Thompson. What this equates to is the ability to be unique, small and intimate while not carrying the associations of a spotty staff or maintenance record. Gild Hall brilliantly blends modern design with warm comfort, a feat not easily achieved. The room was fantastic - 12' + ceilings opened the space and the absence of the typical hotel "stock art" was well received by both parties. They do very well with the little space they had, but for an NYC hotel, and one downtown, the room felt spacious and well appointed. One thing that made a huge impact was the cleanliness of the bathroom. White pedestal sink was spotless and the water pressure and hot water will not disappoint. One thing though, the bathroom has a modern touch that maybe not everyone will appreciate: the wall between it and the bedroom is translucent, and you will see the figure of whoever's in there. So, it's not for the squeamish or overly private. Otherwise a fantastic, comfortable, clean and fashionable place for those that don't want the hustle, bustle and frenzy of a some of the larger design oriented stays. Also, many hotels like this try to make their lobby into a club (Tribeca/Soho Grand), probably to boost revenue. You won't find that here, which I personally find to be great. When I go home, I don't want to push through a bunch of drunk revelers, slamming bass, and have to show my keycard to a bouncer. Here its a nice quiet trip back to my room, past the friendly front desk staff and up to bed. Thanks Gild, you made for a great weekend.

Room Tip: We had a king deluxe room and I'll get the same again next time I stay. Large for NYC, quiet and looking up at 12' ceilings and nice appointments is a nice way to wake up.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Brian1021,

Thank you for your amazing note! We appreciate your enthusiastic comments and look forward to your next visit.

Kindest regards,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Welcome to downtown NYC in the world famous financial area, near World Trade Center and Wall Street tourist sites. Everything you need is available at this hotel. The rooms are good, with drinks and a young crowd in house. A very good restaurant in the hotel, with a very good menu. Sports bar too. All the amenities that you need, and many more that you might want. Try it.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RodCurran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for your review, RodCurran! We'll look forward to your return....

Best regards,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This elegantly appointed hotel is quiet on weekends, when the financial district shuts down and it becomes more residential. We like quiet, but if you want nightlife, you have to go only a short distance to other neighborhoods.
The room was nicely appointed and roomy for two. Service was very friendly and courteous. The only thing I would comment on is that we had only one robe and asked for another to be left n our room when we went out for the day. It was not there and we didn't want to call for one once we undressed for the evening. Why is a room for two outfitted with one robe anyway?
They use a scent throughout the hotel. I happened to find it nice, but it might be a problem if you have scent sensitivities.
We got a good rate on a weekend. I understand it is rather pricy at full price, which could affect the value rating.
It is conveniently located only a few blocks to several subway lines, and a nice walk to the Brooklyn Bridge (to walk over) and to the Seaport, which is scheduled for demolition and may be disrupted in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Debra G,

Thank you for your detailed review and your feedback. We apologize that your room was only equipped with one bathrobe. On another note, we are excited to hear how much you enjoyed our newly created and exclusive Thompson Hotel scent. We look forward to you visiting us again soon.

Kind regards,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews