We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy home away from home.”
Review of The Gracie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Gracie Inn
Ranked #59 of 78 New York City B&B and Inns
Panama City Beach, Florida
1 review
“Cozy home away from home.”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the gracie Inn from 12/31/13 to 01/03/14. I enjoyed my stay the hotel was fairly cost effective. The staff was friendly warm and inviting. The office dies tend to close on the early side. The manager daniel was very helpful a nd insightful about the different activities in nyc. The rooms are very cozy and home lije. Although some need a little more of a touch up. But for the price it was well worth the stay. I will be returning for the summer months.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank doflamingo989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    36
    15
    25
    66
See reviews for
43
48
25
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Have been here 17 times in two years. Great location near the heart of New York City. Perfect since I have family who live on the upper east side. Conveniently located 15 minutes from grand central. The Gracie Inn offers amazing views ranging from the east river to landmarks. Near distance to all transportation. The hotel is clean, warm, accommodating and feels like humble luxury. The free wifi and breakfast in the mornings made my stay easy and kept me going. I do wish my stay was during the spring when it was warmer since It snowed a few times during my stay. You can even call anytime you have questions and comments. I've had a long list of horrible hotel stays. This was not one. 4 stars overall. There are worst places to stay in New York.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hydr0gendi0xide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Excellent location, walking distance to supermarkets, restaurants and subway. Situated in a great safe neighbourhood.Staff were very helpful.Room was sufficient however more detail needs to be placed on cleaning as it did appear room wasn't cleaned before we arrived. In saying this we would stay at Gracie Inn again!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We were shocked at the run down and dirty condition of this way overpriced hotel. The atrocious details include: blood stains on pillow case, holes in the sheets, furniture is in very poor condition, filthy furniture-chair pads, freezer so iced over you couldn't possibly use it and the shower would not drain. All staff leaves at 7:00 p.m.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cre8v1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Wexford, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed at the Gracie the Friday after Thanksgiving,2013. Wow. Checked in after hours, so were just left a key. Got to the room and found...no heat, toilet dirty and a sign on it that it is out of order,only one towel, tub wouldn't drain and no TV service. Yikes! A call to management and they told us to "manage" until morning when someone would be there at 8. (I believe the staff all leave at 5 so they don't have to answer to guests) Manage till morning with no heat or toilet? Temp outside dropped to 20s overnight. At first they said, wait a little bit and the heat will come on, but when it didn't we called back. Tried to persuade the person to help us out and he hung up on us. Later found out, this happened to other guests that evening. No explanation was offered. Come morning, were told we would be refunded and we found another (wonderful) place. Arriving home, found out we still were being charged half price because "we stayed there 14 hours." I hear that the Gracie Inn used to be nice, but there is new management. How can a place operate like this and stay in business? .I will be contacting the BBB.

Room Tip: Don't expect to get the continental breakfast....
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Haven, CT
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We've stayed at the Gracie Inn several times before and always had a good experience. The Waldorf it ain't, obviously. We checked in early afternoon and didn't notice the unsatisfactory condition of the room until we returned to the hotel about 8 p.m. after spending the day in the city. This time, the room we stayed in was dirty, with dust bunnies all around. We found a soiled sock on the floor. We were promised a breakfast order in the evening to put in the box for the next morning, but we never got it. The television did not work at all. The room was very tired looking; the kitchenette is unsightly and dated. There is no one to complain to, as all staff leave before evening. All in all, a depressing and disappointing experience. Your hotel room should be a peaceful sanctuary from the craziness that can be NYC and it simply was not. Sad to say, but we wil probably not be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I do not want to repeat all the negative comments found below. They are all true. Five days and no room service. Had to ask for towels etc. Bed slips from wall and have to block it in order to sit in bed. 37 degrees outside and no heat. I am in bed reading in a heavy fleece. I have stayed here before and it used to be better. Anything would be better.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Penny1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#273 of 466 in New York City
849 reviews
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#382 of 466 in New York City
706 reviews
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#233 of 466 in New York City
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#70 of 466 in New York City
1,855 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#177 of 466 in New York City
884 reviews
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#235 of 466 in New York City
3,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gracie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gracie Inn

Property: The Gracie Inn
Address: 502 E 81st St, New York City, NY 10028-7004
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Gracie Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please see critics reviews in Frommer's New York with kids 2009 and 100 Best Little Hotels New York 4th Edition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Gracie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gracie Hotel New York City
Gracie Hotel New York City
Gracie Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing