We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the location but time the Gracie had some modernisation.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gracie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gracie Inn
Ranked #60 of 74 New York City B&B and Inns
Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love the location but time the Gracie had some modernisation.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2009

We stayed at the Gracie for a second time. Love New York and the location of the Gracie. We stayed in the large penthouse suite. The place has deteriorated a lot over the last year and is in desperate need of some TLC.

There was 6 of us on a 'girlie' week in NY, we enjoyed the holiday and did overlook the problems with the room. As we were out most of the time it wasn't a major problem but the room needed a good cleaning, the floors rug on the carpet needs replacing as it is very old and dirty. It was full of dog hairs as the previous occupant had a dog staying with them.

The bathroom needs replacing, the sink was loose on the wall and the hot water pipe in there makes it much too hot. The beds in the twin bedroom need replacing, we had to knock the legs in place each morning.

I would recommend the location, the Upper Eastside is a brilliant place to stay, with lots of fabulous restaurants and pubs. The people in the area were so friendly we found everyone really approachable and chatty. Once again I loved my stay in New York but think it really is time the owners of the Gracie spend some money on modernising what could be a lovely inn.

  • Liked — LOCATION!!!
  • Disliked — Cleanliness / Rooms need major overhaul
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrlpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    36
    15
    25
    66
See reviews for
43
48
25
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2008

We booked the Inn through its web page reservation scheme,
They requested the usual credit card info and this was one of the problems.
Upon arrival, the "scruffy" impression expressed by review´s we had seen was confirmed. The shades on the entrance were broken. The front desk never had the lights on (you had to guess if anyone was in there, when they were!).
Breakfast was OK, Wi Fi was OK.
What was unacceptable was the dirt under the bed, the rugs were full of muck as if the area had not heard of a vacum cleaner for some time. This frankly contrasted with the daily changing of linen which was fine, both bed and bathroom.
The bathroom showed fungi around the tub, a towel functioned as curtain in the window, supported?? by two rusty nails! and there was dirt/dust around a pipe which apparently goes through the bathroom from floor to floor and which I easily cleaned with toilet paper. The cleaner´s do not appear to notice that.
What really finally dissappointed me was a surcharge of 28 dollars when we arrived home which had been made on the day of arrival (we stayed over a week) and which did not agree with the bill/receipt they provided when we left. This was all very irregular and they never answered my e-mails claiming about this, nor did they provide an explanation. We never used other services which could have been charged.
I have also not found a "fair trade committee" or similar organization in NYC to denounce this.
The hotel is not that inexpensive and even if lower than others, this does not justify the uncleanliness and the administrative irregularities.
Definitely, difficult to recommend.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cleanliness (lack of) and administrative irregularities
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucho10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2008

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights while on our honeymoon. We had to laugh at the size of the room. It's definitely nothing like the pictures that Expedia show if you click those here. Nothing at all! The "suite" is small with a flat old/dirty futon in the living room. The "antiques" are actually just old beat up furniture. The bathroom was clean, but just very old looking. There's a pole in the bathroom that is extremely hot and makes the bathroom very hot overall. The kitchen was so tiny it was funny. We didn't use it, didn't need to, so it was fine. The bed was set away from the wall because it was too big for the room, but it was comfortable.

The window air conditioning unit works great in the living room, but the bedroom stayed hot both nights. Breakfast is your choice of coffee/juice and either bagels, muffins, croissants, or toast. Not exactly our idea of breakfast, but we weren't expecting much so it was okay. The guy at the front desk was friendly enough and he even let me use his computer the day we left when I needed to check our travel plans.

There were a lot of great looking restaurants all around the inn, and there's a convenience store on York Ave just around the corner. We went there twice and were thankful to have it close by. Great neighborhood overall and we had a nice quiet stay. Just don't expect the "antiques" that they describe or the pictures you see here unless they are pictures taken by actual guests who stayed.

  • Liked — Locaation
  • Disliked — Old beat up furniture, futon
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worktravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia/Df - Brasil
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2008

My husband and I stayed at Gracie Inn for 14 days last May. We had a very good experience. The staff was very gentle and helpful, the location is great, near several restaurants and markets. The room is not so big, but it has a little kitchen that is very useful. The furniture could be renewed, and the room could be more clean, but it is confortable and the place is very quiet. It is not a cheap hotel, but the room has space for children. It was a very good choice.

  • Liked — The neighborhood
  • Disliked — The price
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Cristiane_Brum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston,MA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2008

The room was a postage stamp and the description of it being a suite was a bad joke. The furniture was certainly not antique but rather simply old, beat up junk. The walls were dirty. The woodwork in the bathroom was badly water stained. The pipes were stained. The whole impression was really grim. There was no one there at what would pass for a front desk when we arrived. A call did tell us where the keys were. A further call for information as to breakfast went unanswered. We never did see breakfast. Wi-Fi access might have been fine if we were given an access code but again there was no one to contact to give us the code and it was not provided with the key. . The claim that it was within steps of Gracie Mansion was a total fraud. It was on a side street over a dry-cleaning store, steps away from a major avenue and quite distant from Gracie Mansion. That the front door remained unlocked and that there was no one present at the front desk created a real security issue. Anyone could enter and prowl the hallways. All in all not a pleasant experience.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — appearance, location, total absence of staff.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Commadore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#364 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Upper East Side
Oakwood at the Blake
Oakwood at the Blake
#399 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#281 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#227 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#266 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#65 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gracie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gracie Inn

Property: The Gracie Inn
Address: 502 E 81st St, New York City, NY 10028-7004
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Gracie Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please see critics reviews in Frommer's New York with kids 2009 and 100 Best Little Hotels New York 4th Edition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Gracie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gracie Hotel New York City
Gracie Hotel New York City
Gracie Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing