We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little hamlet in the Big Apple”
Review of The Gracie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Gracie Inn
Ranked #59 of 77 New York City B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little hamlet in the Big Apple”
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Having stayed at dozens of Manhattan inns and boutique hotels, the ratio of quality and price is impressive. I had spent many nights here a number of years ago, when the rooms were a bargain, but the previous owners hadn't made facilities upgrades I see today. Also, the staff seem to adapt to my traveling needs and make a concerted effort to customize my stay. Overall, you aren't going to get the Four Seasons here, ie. 24 hr room service with spa, but you will get a clean room, with fresh linens, and great quality beds at a fraction of the price of a large hotel. It may be vanity, but I also like that the staff know my name by face.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curly348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    36
    15
    25
    66
See reviews for
43
48
25
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

The rooms are delightful, kitchen facilities are wonderful, Furniture was a pleasure to look at. Bed extremely comfortable. Daniel and all the people who work there are warm and friendly. Everything was neat and clean. Breakfast served every morning. Wish I could have stayed forever!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinkmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2009

The Inn is cozy, immaculate and has recently been entirely renovated. It has many amenities such as a kitchen in every room. The Gracie Inn is located in a residential street and yet it is close to many shops, restaurants and a lovely boardwalk by the East River. It is only 15 minutes walk to Central Park. This is the perfect place for those looking for a complete New York experience, off the beaten path.
The staff is efficient and helpful. Daniel, the manager goes out of his way to make the guests feel at home and he greets them with a unique bottle of NY water and a big smile. My European clients love it!
L.Santamaria
Rose Tours, New York City Tour Operator

Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank roseinharlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2009

I just finished a stay at the Gracie Inn this past week! I was pleasantly surprised by the coziness and country ambience of the Inn. It felt like a home away from home. The manager and staff were great with providing me some great info on things to do, places to go, and where to get some great food. If you like Italian try 'Arturos' just right up the street....Delicious! It wasn't the Palace, just a cozy place to stay and lay your head to rest at night. An exceptional value and the staff goes out of their way to make your stay comfortable. - Ross

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RHIPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

The location is great, the Inn needs TLC, lots of it. Rooms and bathrooms are in need of remodeling. Daniel and Blair are very nice and have very good plans for the Inn hope it turns out good. The Inn is an old Mansion with lots of characther and history can not beat the location......

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2009

I loved my stay at the Gracie Inn. The new manager, Daniel, is a pleasure & he made sure my requests were taken care of. It has a homey feel, as if you are staying in a furnished apartment. I will definitely stay there on my next NY trip. And the rates are reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portland14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lapeer, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2009

We were camping on Long Island and the rain made my girlfriend and I book another hotel in the city. The Gracie Inn Cost us $180 and it wasnt worth pocket change. The woman at the desk was very nice, as well as the manager. The housekeeper had forgot to clean our room so we were assigned a new room, surprise, he forgot that too. They said he was an immigrant from Russia so when they asked him if he cleaned he said yes. We waited on the stairwell for over an hour and were refused any discounts for our patience. We finally got into our cramped room with a lovely view of the bricks. The room had mold, the window wouldnt close and it was incredibly noisy. We had asked for our continental breakfast at 9 oclock. So at 7 the next morning Vladimir brought us our lovely breakfast. What was on the menu you ask? A great spread of a stale blueberry muffin, two pieces of rye bread, not toast, bread; and a little bit of orange and grapefruit juice. Atleast the juice was good. I highly recommend you stay away from the Gracie Inn, unless Sven is back in Russia. If you must stay there when you check in, ask if Alex is working, and if he is run very far away.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZJRuddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#260 of 468 in New York City
728 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#191 of 468 in New York City
868 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#70 of 468 in New York City
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#285 of 468 in New York City
820 reviews
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#385 of 468 in New York City
696 reviews
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#244 of 468 in New York City
3,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gracie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gracie Inn

Property: The Gracie Inn
Address: 502 E 81st St, New York City, NY 10028-7004
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Gracie Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please see critics reviews in Frommer's New York with kids 2009 and 100 Best Little Hotels New York 4th Edition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Gracie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gracie Hotel New York City
Gracie Hotel New York City
Gracie Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing