We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find, great people”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #55 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New England
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great find, great people”
Reviewed 30 April 2011

My husband and I needed to make a last minute trip to NYC. When I called CPI the night before our arrival I knew I had made the right choice. Everything was handled in a friendly and efficient way. Upon arrival we were offered a free upgrade and given the chance to look at both rooms. We actually kept our original because we loved the 4th floor location instead of being on the first floor.

Our room and all the common areas were immaculate and well maintained. Everything in the room worked, the bed was super comfy and the shower hot. Our room was small but we never were bumping into each other and we liked that we could sleep with the window open to the back courtyard. We appreciated the free wi-fi and really liked the 12 noon check out as it gave us lots of time to walk around the area before we had to shower and leave. Free luggage storage is available.

The breakfast included fresh and dried fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, cold cereals, bagels, english muffins and sweets. There were several kinds of juices as well as tea and coffee. The breakfast area was clean and well kept.

Staff members were all friendly and extremely helpful, offering many suggestions.

Overall, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bluewaterdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,681
    321
    74
    18
    20
See reviews for
287
1,077
263
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

For me Chelsea Pines Inn is one of those rarest of hotels which adds significantly to the enjoyment of my holidays. The welcome from Jay, the owner, and his unique staff (including the great housekeeping team) is hugely warm and friendly. The hotel itself is in a superb location in terms of both its immediate environs and ease of access to the rest of the city. The rooms are clean and hugely characterful with their dedication to movie stars richly illustrated with vintage posters. The expansive breakfasts will never leave you hungry. If you value a home from home experience then you will love the Chelsea Pines Inn. Although I have just returned from my latest trip, i'm already looking forward to my next stay in August!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NigelLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Big fun especially if you are a movie lover. Great array of film posters decorate the Inn and each room is adorned with posters of a particular film star. Great breakfast of fresh fruit, bagels, baked goods, cereal, etc. and love that there is coffee/tea and cookies out all day for a little snack. Seating area is cozy and includes an outdoor patio space. Very helpful staff. Slipped under our door was a terrific restaurant list and each day brought a different "Chelsea Morning" - a listing of several activities/events in the area and around the city and not typical tourist fare. Just wish I could stop humming the song! Very glad we found the Chelsea Pines Inn!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Debbie603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

We stayed at the Chelsea Pines in April while in New York for my son's wedding. Jay and his well trained staff were so friendly and helpful. The location (south Chelsea, north Greenwich Village) was good and there is a subway stop on the corner. The rooms are very clean (as is the entire guesthouse) and the breakfast (bagels, toast, fruit, cereal, juice, coffee) a bonus. There is much diversity among the guests, but everyone is made to feel welcome and comfortable. We would definitely stay there again on future trips to NY.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank greyhound3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We spent 6 nights at the Chelsea Pines and it was everything we had hoped for: a great location, minutes from the subway and on to the famous sights of Manhattan and walking distance to the tranquillity of the Highline Walk, Chelsea Market and Greenwich Village. The rooms at the Inn were cleaned and tidied to a high standard every day (quite a task in our room with 3 females and all the shoes, toiletries etc that go with them!) and there were plenty of fresh towels, and hot water. Breakfast is served in the kitchen/conservatory which is compact but works really well - you just help yourself along with other guests; there’s plenty of fresh fruit, bagels, yoghurt, cereal and a speciality bread of the day (what we would call cake) and of course plenty of coffee, tea and juice. We were spoilt for great places to eat: The Good Stuff Diner was fantastic – a classic New York diner – just a few blocks away; Bill’s Burgers were the best we’ve ever eaten and Two Boots Pizza was great for a slice ‘on the hoof’; then there’s numerous restaurants ‘on the doorstep’ serving food from around the globe.

This was a first visit to New York for 4 out of the 5 of us, and there was a lot we wanted to do (and did). It was great coming back (nearly said home – that’s how nice it felt!) to the Chelsea Pines at the end of a busy day sightseeing. The guys working there were friendly and helpful and seemed genuinely interested in our days. When we enquired about seeing a show on Broadway, a list was provided and our chosen show booked for us; they also booked us a table at a local Italian restaurant, which was really helpful on a busy Friday night. We had two birthdays in our family whilst we were there and on each occasion a beautiful vase of flowers and a card was left in the room for the girls. A newsletter posted under the door every morning gave a weather report, the speciality bread of the day and some interesting suggestions for things to do, that you would never find in a guide book. Sadly we ran out of time so we’ll just have to return to New York and when we do we’d definitely like to stay at the Chelsea Pines Inn. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Holly186406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

We also decided to stay here due to its amazing reviews and were not disappointed! Fantastic location, friendly staff, tasty breakfast we looked forward to every morning, quiet at night, great decor, free internet, very comfy beds and we loved the daily hotel newsletter! We will recommend it and stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CMatawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Don't come here if you want glitz and a full service hotel. Do come here if you enjoy some funk, some camp, and exceptional friendly service from a staff that is dedicated to making your stay in the big apple enjoyable.
From recommending and booking theatre tickets to going to to a store to buy lemon yogurt for us when that particular yogurt was gone, this little B&B Inn caters to its guests.
On the edge of Chelsea, the West Village, the Meatpacking district and a short walk to the Highline Park, Chelsea Pines Inn offers wonderful walking excursions, great food close by, and subway stops at the end of the block. Buses go by the door.
The staff is what makes this Inn a little treasure in a huge metropolis.

Room Tip: No elevator, rooms overlooking courtyard are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank apple126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#57 of 467 in New York City
845 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#125 of 467 in New York City
648 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 467 in New York City
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#124 of 467 in New York City
3,544 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#87 of 467 in New York City
619 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#120 of 467 in New York City
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Property: Chelsea Pines Inn
Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing