We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I don't get it”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #32 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“I don't get it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

First of all, this place has an outstanding location -- steps from Meatpacking District, West Village and Chelsea. It's clean and relatively friendly. But definitely not the kind experience that warrants all these rave reviews. Service at the front desk was competent, but none of the employees I came in contact with made any effort to provide "above and beyond" the basics. Room was tiny, even by NYC standards. I had a first floor room that had cardboard filling in the space around the window air conditioner. (So much for security.) Bathroom was cramped. And overall, the decor was dated and felt like it had gone through a string of "home makeovers." Yes, rates were pretty cheap, but I honestly expected a bit more for the money. I've stayed in many NYC hotels, and this one (even with the low rates) isn't anywhere near the top of the heap. I honestly question all the "1 review" TripAdvisor entries ... something feels fishy. This definitely isn't one of the top 10 hotel experiences in the city of New York!

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor. You'll hear everyone else enjoying the breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank JoeFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,661
    309
    68
    15
    18
See reviews for
279
1,063
254
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Spent 3 nights here. Have stayed in other areas of town before, but the Chelsea neighborhood has such a great local feel. Jay and all the staff are very helpful and friendly, and make you feel right at home. The morning continental breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank USAtraveler077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

I learned about the Chelsea Pines Inn while researching our NYC vacation on the NYC Trip Advisor Forum. A poster referenced a very pleasant experience at the Chelsea Pines and reviews on Trip Advisor and Yelp backed up the claim. In fact I could find few negative reviews on either site. The positive reviews, location, proximity to transportation and value made it an easy first choice. Please note that Chelsea Pines does cater to gay couples. Being a straight couple I had called to inquire if we would feel uncomfortable residing there and was assured everyone was welcome. I can unconditionally say we were made to feel like family by the staff and the guests. Straight couples should not hesitate to stay here!
The common areas and rooms were CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN. The room was not only serviced daily in the usual manner but the toiletries in the bathroom, cluttered papers on the desk and clothes on the chairs were straightened and organized. A nice luxurious touch coming back from a long day of sightseeing. A daily breakfast buffet is served and not just doughnuts and coffee – juices, espresso, fruit, cheese, ham, bagels, oatmeal, cereal and fresh baked loaf breads. The staff manning the front desk was our private concierge. They were helpful in recommending restaurants, day planning and subway directions. The subway stops on the corner and within a block allowed us to go uptown, downtown, cross town and to Brooklyn without transferring. The easy accessibility allowed for a mid day rest break before heading out on the evening adventures. All rooms have wifi and an office is available with computers if you don’t bring your own. The neighborhood is quiet and safe. A CVS is nearby for water, snacks and forgotten items. A secure ATM is also nearby. A short walk away is fun shopping, restaurants, the Chelsea Market and the High Line. The rooms are European size (meaning smaller) but hey – it’s NYC. If you want to feel like you’re staying with family in the Big Apple, call Chelsea Pines and tell them “cousin” Bob and Rose from Chicago sent you.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chicagobob53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

This is the only property I stay at while in NYC. The staff is a breath of fresh air ~ always smiling, cheerful & helpful. The rooms are as darling as the resident cat Charlie. Soft sheets, thick towels & an impeccable bathroom ~ what else could a girl ask for! It's in the heart of Chelsea ~ close to Madison Square Garden/Midtown, Tribeca, Greenwich Village and much more. The neighborhood is full of wonderful restaurant options as well as ample access to the trains & other transportation. This is a must try!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We spent a short 4 days in early August as guest of Jay - who is the perfect host! This trip was a graduation present for my grand daughter and the whole staff of Chelsea Pines Inn went out of their way to make it perfect. From map directions to restaurant recommendations, we followed their advice and had a perfect vacation. The room was small, but very well appointed. The breakfasts were delicious and the wine and cheese reception in the evening was delightful. We definitely will return!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoiseCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

I've stayed at the Chelsea Pines about 10 times and have always had a great experience. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the complimentary breakfast is outstanding, there is a pleasant small garden area in the back, and the location can't be beat--it's on the boundary between Chelsea and Greenwich Village, a couple of blocks to Chelsea Market and the High Line Park, and less than 1/2 block from a major subway station. But what's most exceptional about the Chelsea Pines is the staff--they are friendly and knowledgeable about the city, and always go the extra mile to be helpful. During my recent stay at the end of July (2011), the day I arrived there was a very nice wine and cheese party, which was a wonderful way to get to know some of the other guests as well as Jay (the charming owner) and his staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VLS0426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

My 15 year old daughter and I recently took a fun mother/daughter trip to NYC. We booked a 5 day stay at the Chelsea Pines Inn, mostly because of the great reviews here. We had THE BEST time there! I have told everyone I know that this is the place to stay....

Here's why:

#1: If like us, you've never stayed in a 'small hotel' before, you'll notice an entirely different ambiance. It was so calm and relaxing to wake up here, and to return here at the end of a long day seeing the city. A completely different start and end to our days than I had ever experienced.

#2: The extras: The room was soooo much more spacious than the large hotel we stayed at in Times Square a few years ago. We stayed in the Paul Newman room, and loved the decor, bed linens, bathroom, everything. We hooked into the free wi-fi our first day to help with things in the City, and thereafter we were connected. No annoying finding the server each time, etc. Just like being at home. Did I mention it was F-R-E-E? Chelsea is a GREAT neighborhood, and there is a subway stop just 1/2 a block away -it is an incredibly convenient location.

#3: The cleanliness...I'll admit, like things cleaner than most people worrry about, and the level of cleanliness everywhere here is incredible. This is clean the way a well-kept house is clean. The rooms, the hall, the stairs, the lobby, the breakfast area.... all fastidiously clean.

#4: The breakfast ohmygosh, blueberry tea cake, fresh fruit, a ham and cheese plate, muffins, bagels, an amazing make-your-own espresso machine.... all graciously presented on pretty dishes. A really, really terrific start to the day for us. And all included as part of the bill.

#5: The staff -very, very special. Instead of hordes of stressed out staff bustling about, Chelsea Pines seems to runs smoothly almost invisibly. Everyone appears happy to be there, thrilled to help, and gracious way beyond the norm. Rumel is one of the most impressive young men I have met in a long time. He kept our room spotless (way beyond expectations), presented an impeccable breakfast every morning... I could go on and on. All we had to do was mention something, and he and others there jumped in as if they were our personal assistants, to help us with subway info, show tickets, etc.

#6: Charlie! ...If you like cats, look for Charlie -a wonderful, tuxedo kitty, who much to my daughter's delight, spent almost every night in our room!

We absolutely LOVED the Chelsea Pines Inn, and cannot wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bestyears_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#21 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#308 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Property: Chelsea Pines Inn
Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
#38 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing