We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best place to stay in new york”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #35 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“the best place to stay in new york”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

this truly is the best place to stay in new york. i was in the city for work and had a fabulous suite at the 5th floor this time and it was simply amazing - spacious, nicely decorated and bright. the owner and the guys are extremely lovely, warm, funny, and helped me a lot in arranging my trip to boston. having lived in new york for some time a couple of years ago, the neighborhood around the village and union square is one my favorite ones - very vibrant and inspiring. already looking forward to coming back to this very special place with very special people -).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SilkeAstrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,663
    314
    71
    15
    18
See reviews for
280
1,067
254
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We stayed here in for only one night as we were in town for a musical. It's true the staff is warm and helpful and if your wife is Chatty Kathy like mine they will even sit and listen to her. Amazing! The breakfast nook is small and inviting with cookies and coffee in the afternoon when we arrived. Easy again to strike up a conversation with guests if you like that sort of thing. Feels like a B&B for sure. There are many places to walk in the surrounding area, restaurants, stores etc. We walked all the way up to Broadway and back for our show, easily doable if you are looking for exercise. Room small, clean, comfortable, and quiet. We will definitely come back next show we hit. Only downside is we had to leave and missed the Thur night wine and cheese party.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dp354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Well, the rooms are really small but this is NY after all.
But the location makes up for it. Lovely shopping and eating. So many things within the walking distance.
The staff is friendly and helpful. You can have coffee and lovely pastries or fruit the whole day long.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SylwiaAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I found out about CPI through TA, but ended up being a little apprehensive about all these glowing reviews. It just seemed too good to be true, especially with all the 1 review-reviewers. I'm definitely not picky when it comes to hotels and don't demand much, but still, the prospect of getting somehow conned by all these dashing reviews made me slightly queezy.
Shouldn't have had to worry one microsecond. It was great. It was cosy. It was everything everyone says it is. Phew.

We had the Donna Reed-room up on the fourth floor, which meant a hike up all those stairs. A pain at times, but I guess I can thank them for my now slightly more chiselled calves. The room was bigger than what I have come to expect in New York, the bed comfortable, and as we had a window facing the garden > zero noise. We entered with a smile on our faces, looking at the posters, sighing and being content about it all.

Breakfast wasn't amazing, at least if you're used to eating more along the likes of protein/porridge/rye bread. But those chewy bagels did do the trick.

The personnel was wonderful, asking about our day, having that "we care"-attitude, which truly made us feel welcome.

The locations is perfect, a couple of meters from (among others) the A-train, which is more than perfect when coming from JFK or going the A-train+M60-bus to LGA. The station has an elevator. Union Square, the Village, the Meatpacking District, Chelsea, all the best parts of New York are right there.

All in all, Chelsea Pines Inn felt like a home away from home. It's not a starched-white-linens-kind of place, nor is it overly shiny and new. But it is charming, it is clean, it has a personality. It is welcoming. And thus, perfect.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brightdawns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

On my previous visit to New York we stayed at a rather anonymous, ordinary hotel. The Chelsea Pines Inn is nothing of the sort - it is an interesting, vibrant place to stay in a wonderful part of the city. It was great to be so near a subway as well. Jay and his staff were immensely helpful and friendly and this added to our enjoyment of our stay.
Our room was very clean and spacious. There was plenty of choice at breakfast and it was interesting to meet and chat to the other guests.If you miss breakfast there is always something on offer throughout the day.
I hope to return to New York soon, and if I do I will certainly want to stay at the Chelsea Pines Inn.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the CPI at the end of October and it certainly lived up to it's reputation on Trip Advisor! As soon as we arrived our bags were taken to our rooms and we were told the cheese and wine night was about to start...perfect! Our room was fab, lovely comfy bed with the loveliest bedding, cool framed film posters, the cutest bathroom with a great shower and products, gorgeous roses and a card for my boyfriends birthday and spotlessly clean. The whole stay was perfect, great location right by the subway but we chose to walk, just 20 mins to Macy's! Great restaurants nearby; Green table in Chelsea Market, Dos Caminos Mexican and Buddakan all fab! Breakfast was great, loved the bread of the day, amazing bagels, perfect coffee and juices, ham, cheese, cereal, yoghurt etc etc and coffee and cookies available all day too free of charge! Staff were amazing and so friendly and helpful and Charlie Chaplin the cat who lives at the hotel is adorable and I wanted to bring him home, in fact we really didn't want to come home! We will definitely be back! Laura and Craig xxx

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LitttleLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stayed for 10 nights at the Chelsea Pines Inn in early October and experienced the best service in all of our travels. Jay and all of his staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. Our room was spacious and exceptionally clean. We enjoyed our plentiful breakfasts – good coffee and great bagels as well as cereals, bread, ham, cheese and yoghurt. Nothing was too much trouble for Rumel who made sure that there was always plenty to eat. We found the location to be perfect – close to the subway, Chelsea Markets and the Highline. Little touches like the daily newsletter under our door, coffee and cake available all day and the use of two computers and a printer in the business area were the icing on the cake! The Wine and Cheese Party on Thursday night was fabulous (Chelsea Pines are celebrating their 25th year). Thanks so much Jay for a wonderful stay. As we say – CHELSEA PINES IS NEW YORK!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoJo577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#301 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#50 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#77 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Property: Chelsea Pines Inn
Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing