We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Fun”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #68 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2012

My partner and I could not have been happier with Chelsea Pines Inn. The stay started with the helpful and friendly staff, one person taking our bags up the flights of stairs to our room while another took the time to go thorough the area's restaurants and attractions. Our room on the back of the building was amazingly quiet, with a comfortable bed and surprisingly spacious bathroom. The room was typically small for a New York Inn, but really had enough space overall. I would not hesitate to recommend them.

Room Tip: Don't forget that it's a classic NYC walk-up before you pick a room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,238 - 1,244 of 2,191 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2012

Chelsea Pines Inn is a great quirky little hotel in the middle of a Chelsea street. The inside lobby is clean and modern. The rooms are an adequate size (I might have had to squeeze to get around the foot of the bed but it was never really any problem) but the beds are big and comfortable. The best part are the people running the place: Jay and Al were immensely helpful and pleasant and really made us feel at home. Everyone else from those running the front desk to those keeping the break area stocked (and it was always stocked with fresh items and little snacks) was absolutely courteous, professional, and happy to just chat about how things were going. Although the rooms are up some flights of stairs, the people working there moved our luggage for us. The noise from the street was never a problem, and I never heard anyone in any of the other rooms through the walls. The location was perfect for seeing local sights, and I have to agree with others here who say that the High Line is a must-see.

I would feel comfortable recommending this to anyone I knew, and I know they would come back raving about what a great place this was.

Room Tip: You're going to have to climb some stairs, so maybe ask for a lower floor room if that's a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hornsfan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

My week-long stay at the Chelsea Pines in May 2012 marked my second visit to this charming boutique hotel near the Meatpacking District, High Line Park, and Chelsea Market. This is a very personal establishment; every member of the staff team relates to each guest not just as a patron customer but as a friend. This personal touch really pays dividends when you come inside the door, morning noon or night, and you are greeted warmly with welcoming conversation (and the staff has the sense to leave you alone if you appear to be hungover or otherwise under the weather). The festive atmosphere is contagious such that all the guests feel like included family, and the breakfast room and deck leading outside give travelers a place to come together and share their experiences. The all-day breakfast room, by the way, is a real highlight with the thoughtful inclusions of the complete gamut of what a Continental breakfast can be: Nespresso machine, a smorgasbord of teas and other beverages, luscious fresh fruits, high-end yogurts, sumptuous breads and pastries, imaginative cereals, even peanut butter (a personal favorite). I also like the fact that one can use the hotel's refrigerator to stash a bottle of wine or nosh. The establishment's silver screen theme is amusing and entertaining (i.e., in which movie star's room are you staying? Sophia Loren's or Rita Hayworth's or Albert Finney's or ??) All in all, this place is unique, distinctive and memorable, and I look forward to coming back again and again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmpneyCrucis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I have stayed at Chelsea Pines Inn 4 times. Each time, I feel more welcomed and at home. The folks who run CPI couldn't be kinder, more helpful, and better conversationalists. Having said that, if you want privacy, you've got it.

And who can resist sitting on the back patio in good weather having a 'many-options' breakfast, reading the paper, and hearing the birds sing (yes, this is NYC!). The Inn is very clean and well run. And for those of us who miss our pets when we travel, Charlie Chaplin, the resident cat, helps fill that need.

Finally, the location is fabulous. At the end of the block is the subway. The Highline (a 1.5 mile walk) is a couple of blocks away, as is the Hudson River. Small neighborhoods like Soho, Greenwich Village, and Chelsea, to name a few, offer unique shopping opportunities and are a short walk away.

You get a very different picture of what NYC can be like staying at the Chelsea Pines Inn: friendly and slower paced yet all the things you want to do are easily accessible.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dulang723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I've visited New York a lot, but this was my first time to stay in the Chelsea/West Village neighborhood, and I LOVED it. Our room was small but immaculate, great bed, bath with toilet cubicle separated from the shower area. The highlight was the service, including encouragement to walk the High Line (a highlight of our visit) and help in getting reservations for the 9/11 memorial. Breakfast was VERY upscale continental, similar to what you get in a 3-star Italian hotel. Each person who helped us, from the owner, Jay, to the people who cleaned and maintained, had only one intention: warm hospitality. We were there as part of a Big Birthday celebration, and hotel staff helped family members surprise us with wine and chocolate-covered fruit. It's totally convenient to the subway, bus, and walkable to West Village and Chelsea, and even beyond. It was expensive, but fair market value for New York in that season.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineArizona_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Sadly, we only had one night at the Chelsea Pines, we loved it. The room was quite comfortable and the breakfast spread was great.
All of our interactions with the staff was very positive, especially Jay who went out of his way to help us with getting around town travel trips.
We are looking forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Everything was perfect! The staff is warm, friendly and helpful. The daily "newsletter" is full of great suggestions. The breakfast was delicious and healthy. The room was comfortable and charming. The location is ideal - an easy walk to the The High Line or Chelsea, a quick subway ride uptown. Every restaurant recommendation was outstanding. I can tell from other reviews that everyone gets this kind of personal attention. Thank you, Troy and Jay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#49 of 473 in New York City
970 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#36 of 473 in New York City
733 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#311 of 473 in New York City
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#129 of 473 in New York City
3,713 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#147 of 473 in New York City
1,996 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#142 of 473 in New York City
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £82 - £538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing