We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chelsea Pines Inn
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Soho Grand Hotel(New York City)
US$381
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$364
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$382
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$421
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$308
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Archer Hotel New York(New York City)
US$331
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$299
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,230)
Filter reviews
2,230 results
Traveller rating
1,743
354
83
26
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,743
354
83
26
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe high lineno elevatormovie postersgreenwich villagemeatpacking districtdaily newsletterrock hudsonbagelsnew yorkmovie starsflights of stairsevery morningsubway stationthe meat packing districthome from homefifth floorrestaurant recommendations
Filter
Updating list...
1,212 - 1,217 of 2,230 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The staff and owner Jay make this a great experience. Always a warm greating the the morning and a welcome back at the end of the day. Great breakfast. Had a great experience! Reservation process was smooth. The staff was always interested in what I had done everyday, where we ate and I felt that I was part of a warm family.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bakemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The value of Chelsea Pines Inn is not in big rooms nor in swish decor. It's in the daily greeting and chat with owner Jay, the "can't do enough for you" attitude of Rumel and other staff, and the general feeling of being welcomed like family each time you come home at night. These personal touches helped to make our first visit to NYC for our honeymoon a wonderful experience.
As for practicalities:
- ask the front desk and you shall receive - tickets to shows and tours, restaurant recommendations and bookings, suggestions for the best spots all over Manhattan
- it's right on the edge of the Meatpacking District with some amazing restaurants and bars (Pastis and Spice Market were fabulous)
- just down the road is the start of the Highline Park - a peaceful oasis above the street hussle and well worth a visit for unique views of west side living
- great subway access - less than 2 blocks to 3 subway lines which take you directly to Central Park, Liberty and Staten Island ferries, Times Square, Lincoln Centre, Twin Towers Memorial, Downtown, East Village, Brooklyn, Harlem, The Bronx, Queens and JFK Airport.
We stayed for 10 days and cannot imagine a better home-away-from-home in NYC. Can't wait to visit again ... or for Jay to adopt us so we can move in permanently. Thank you Jay and Rumel!

Room Tip: We were in Rock Hudson - a great room but at the top of four flights of stairs. Great to burn calories after indulging in the Meatpacking District's fabulous restaurants - not great if you indulged in too much wine.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SalenaJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We first thought about staying at Chelsea Pines Inn because of its location and because we prefer to stay at places where the owners are around. We are glad we chose CPI. Our experience with Chelsea Pines Inn was no less than excellent from beginning to end. The reservation process was easy, and the (excellently designed) website lets you know exactly what to do and how to do it. A personal e-mail message with was sent to follow up on our reservation about two weeks before we were scheduled to stay even though our reservation was made months before. We have had experiences with other places where you make your reservation and other than original automatic acknowledgment of your reservation, you have the feeling people have forgotten about you. That is not the case with Chelsea Pines Inn at all.

Check-in was a blast. I know, when is that ever the case? Jay was very welcoming and gave us the lowdown on CPI and on things to do in the neighborhood (all good advice). He also offered advice about some of the things we already had planned, so we could make those experiences even better. This level of service provided by the entire staff (including Charlie the cat) was first-rate from the moment we arrived until the time we left. There is always someone on duty at CPI, and he is always ready to help.

The Continental breakfast in the morning reminded me of breakfasts at pension and small hotels I have stayed at in Europe: good roles, coffee, cereals, yogurt, berries, fruit etc. The variety of things offered is too large to list here. There was god coffee and iced tea and ice water and other things available throughout the day. It was great to come in from a day of sight-seeing --it was hot in NYC that weekend- and have something there to refresh you. The kitchen as well as the rest of Chelsea Pines Inn was absolutely spotless and clean. There is always someone cleaning something there.

The rooms and bathrooms were clean and nice and decorated in keeping with the tasteful and subtle old movie theme of CPI. We like old movies, so that was great. The inn is quiet and peaceful. The housekeeping staff was discrete and top-notch.

This post is already getting too long, but if you have read this far, you probably have figured out we liked the place, will stay there again, and have recommended it to anyone we thought had the slightest inkling of going to NYC.

Room Tip: If you want to spend a little more, get a room on the first two floors. There is no elevator, but your luggage miraculously appears in your room while you are checking in and in the lobby while you check out, so you only have to worry about hauling yourself up the stairs.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rxscabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

From the moment we walked through the door we were treated as long lost friends.

Everything local to the area was explained to us and shown on a map including preferred restaurants with notes and prices and how to get around this city economically.

Breakfast (included in the price) was above your usual B&B standard and we started each day on full bellies!

Gay owned and operated, the CPI welcomes all and not just the GLBTQI community.

We have recommended CPI to our friends and when we return again from Australia we will definitely be staying here

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frostydog007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012 via mobile

Every room is named after a well known actor or actress. I got the room named after Paul Newman. Nice and cozy little Inn. It's clearly noticeable that the building used to be a classic New Yorker Brownstone. Another positive aspect, it's near the 14th street subway station. They also have a business center in this hotel, where they have set up two computers for free use. The casual style and the very friendly and helpful employees make you really feel at home. Had a great stay, I'll definitely come back the next time I'm visiting New York City. Thank You!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendler-Philipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews