We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't be beat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #31 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't be beat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

The next time you are planning to get stranded during a hurricane, this is the place to be. The staff could not have been more attentive and thoughtful -- including venturing out into the storm to find playing cards to help us pass the hours. We were fed, pampered, cared-for, and then given assistance in transferring to other hotels when the power did not come back. The location is terrific, the rooms are spotless, and the staff can't be beat. Before the storm, they helped us each day with great restaurant tips (and reservations). We can't wait to get back!

Room Tip: No elevator, so higher floors give you a good workout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LATraveller90027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,658
    304
    68
    15
    18
See reviews for
277
1,061
251
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

fantastic hotel in new york,a wonderful stay fabulous sercive,very helpful at the front desk,lovely breakfast and the ambience is just perfect,i noticed the attention to details in this excellent hotel.the staff polite and welcoming

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susanna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

From the beginning of our stay until the end, we where made to feel like VIP's. Everyone at the Hotel including Charlie Chaplin (The Cat) made us feel Welcome. The complimentary breakfast was fantastic and we loved the little courtyard.
The whole Hotel was spotlessly clean. We can't wait to go back. Thank you everyone at Chelsea Pines

Room Tip: We had a lovely quiet room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josie45Brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

My wife and I stayed here during Hurricane Sandie last week and the whole team - Jay, Rumel etc - could not have been more helpful in very testing circumstances. The night before the hurricane they laid on a fantastic spread of sandwiches and other food and drink, then more food in the afternoon as everywhere was closed. The hotel lost power around 8pm, but this didn't dampen spirits as they had laid on yet more fantastic food. An some wine! They made sure everyone had a torch, and also provided coffee and tea via a gas stove. I was astounded how much effort they'd made ensure people were looked after. Even when they realised they wouldn't be getting the power back any time soon, they connected their mobile to their mac (as the Wifi was obviously down) to help book people into other accommodation. You don't get this kind of service at a big hotel, which I found in the hotel we moved to.
The inn itself is really well placed, being a short walk from the High Line, Chelsea Market (this is a great place to grab something eat) and lots of really great restaurants and bars. Also the subway is only very short walk away.
The rooms were great too, with each room having a film star name (we were in Donna Reed) and some great vintage film posters.
We had a fantastic time there, which may seem a little odd to say given we lost power and were in a hurricane, but the service was truly amazing. You immediately feel at home there. Jay even sent a lovely e-mail afterwards checking we were ok.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back are a little quieter as they face onto the garden, and also back onto the gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spursfan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

What a great place to spend a few nights! I had come to NYC solo in early September for 5 nights and decided to split it between 2 hotels in 2 different neighbourhoods- 2 nts Midtown and 3 at Chelsea Pines. I tend to do ALOT of research online before making any bookings and I have to say that the favourable reviews of Chelsea Pines are bang on. The location, oh the location! Steps away from fantastic shops, restaurants, Chelsea Market, The High Line park, The West Village, The Meat Packing District and Chelsea. I do alot of walking in my hometown so I was more than happy to explore this vibrant area on foot and when I needed to get anywhere further away, I hopped on the subway (A-C-E lines at 14th & 8th) or grabbed a cab. Jay and the staff were familial and I felt welcomed and cared for the entire time. My room- a deluxe room on the 1st floor was surprisingly quiet and comfortable with great attention to detail and style (loved the vintage film posters). Breakfast was well stocked and served in the main floor kitchen that offered 3 different seating areas- indoor, atrium and also a quaint outdoor courtyard. Each morning there was an info sheet slipped under the door that had helpful hints on things to do in the city and they also give you recommendations on places to dine in the area (Momofuku in the East Village- yum!). Last but not least to the resident feline in charge- Charlie Chaplin- you were the best stand-in for my cat back home and I thank you for keeping me company. Meow.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klf02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Chelsea Pines Inn. Fabulous service; very helpful at the front desk; lovely breakfast and the ambiance is just perfect. Location couldn't be better.
I hope they weathered the storm..

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GusCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

The more time I spent here, the more I noticed the attention to detail in this excellent hotel. We had a nice quiet room with a wonderful shower. The breakfast was fine and the staff polite and welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freeway_Doggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#35 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#317 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Property: Chelsea Pines Inn
Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#10 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing