We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chelsea Pines Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Watson Hotel(New York City)
US$208
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$212
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$308
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$347
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$313
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$515
US$412
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
NYLO New York City(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$322
US$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$310
US$243
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$204
US$171
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$210
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (2,219)
Filter reviews
2,219 results
Traveller rating
1,741
350
80
26
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,741
350
80
26
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe high lineno elevatormovie postersgreenwich villagemeatpacking districtdaily newsletterrock hudsonbagelsnew yorkmovie starsflights of stairsevery morningsubway stationthe meat packing districthome from homefifth floorrestaurant recommendations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,140 - 1,145 of 2,219 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2012

i so much love this place- i cannot recommend it highly enough!! spent some time there again for a conference-- not only that chelsea pines inn has a fantastic location directly in the middle of west village (for me, everything was in working distance!), with wonderful rooms each of them having a special movie theme, beautiful and clean bathrooms, a nice view, and a delicious breakfast-- it's much more than that: jay and all the people working there are so lovely and welcoming-- they truly care and have a big heart for their guests. as always, i felt much at home and greatly enjoyed the nice chats and all the support during my stay.
can't wait to be back next year!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilkeAstrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We have been to New York on a few occasions and seen many of its delights. But this time we wanted to 'live in' New York for the 10 days we were there. Chelsea is a vibrant area and Chelsea Pines is in an excellent location. A very short distance to the subway but better still is its proximity to the fantastic Chelsea Markets, the High Line and amazing eateries surrounding it. Our selections were made easier by the abundant information about the area including things to do from the staff. The term staff is a poor choice to describe these wonderful people who love their city and are so keen to share it. The co-owner Jay is an erudite, charming host who is readily available for an insight into his town. Daniel and the affable staff were superb. The days started with an included lovely breakfast and coffee was always available. A list of places to visit and places to eat is provided daily and these tips were gems. We climbed the narrow stairs to our colourful, movie themed room that was smallish for our long stay but was fun and always spotless. The ambience of the 'Inn' was tremendous and the outdoor courtyard where we enjoyed breakfast and afternoon coffee was a little oasis. I understand larger rooms are available so don't leave it too late to book. Bottom line...it is simply a well located, delightful place to stay, full of character from its staff to its multinational guests to the very chilled cat, Charlie Chaplin roaming the corridors.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OhJoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Thank you Jay (and the team) for a wonderful stay in beautiful Chelsea. Our stay with you made for a fantastic "debut" NYC experience. The breakfasts are awesome, the rooms extremely comfortable and the neighbourhood is amazing. But on top of all of that, the personal and friendly daily conversations with Jay gave us more of a NYC experience than any regular hotel or apartment could ever provide. Jay's recommendations on where to eat, drink, visit etc never disappointed. He even organised a small present for us after we got engaged during our stay..... we were very touched. All in all we cannot recommend the Chelsea Pines Inn highly enough - it trully is one of the best places we have ever stayed. We'll be back!!!! Cheers, Rob and Kathleen

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We travel a lot both for work and pleasure but we have never felt as welcomed as we did coming to Chelsea Pines Inn. The hotel has great location to get to know Chelsea, Mettpacking, Greenwich and The Highline Park. The staff is one of the friendliest staff ever. Highly recommended P.S. Don´t miss Bills Burger when staying in the Meetpacking District

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magnus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012 via mobile

Where do I start. First of all, I miss Charlie sooooo much! Jay (owner) is genuine and cares about his guests. Felt like Being at home. All of the staff are warm & gracious. Even though the last 2 nights, the young man who worked the overnight shift at the front desk until early morning was abrupt, seemed annoyed & 0 personality (I guess that's why it's called "graveyard shift"). The rest of the experience more than made up for it. Breakfast was wonderful. Fantastic homemade bread that Jay bakes fresh everyday. Loved the cozy room. Very clean! Slept like a baby. We stayed on 2nd floor in the "Paul Newman" room. Loved it! Wifi worked just fine. Every evening when we came in, Daniel greeted us by name. I love you Daniel! Come visit us in Dallas & bring Charlie! Rumel, you are solid gold for sure. So tentative & caring, Jay needs to give you a raise! And yes, the best part was Charlie waiting for us by our room. He slepted with us everynight. I miss his purrrring. It was our 1st visit to New York and Staying at Chelsea Pines Inn made it that much more special. It's all of the little things they do that makes it so wonderful. Excellent location. We highly recommend this place. We sincerely thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews