We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, great location and exceptional staff. Best value in NYC.”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #68 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel in October for a few nights. It was my wife's first time visiting NYC so I wanted to make sure that we were in a great location. The Inn is located in the heart of Chelsea with access to great restaurants and sights nearby. It also offers very convenient access to subways to take you wherever you need to go. The hotel was very comfortable and the breakfast was simple, yet very well done. The staff was extremely friendly and understanding. Al took forty-five minutes during a busy time of the day to make sure we were comfortable getting around. He also made some time-saving suggestions that helped us to maximize our time looking around. We will return.

Room Tip: No elevator so make sure to plan on staying on a lower floor if you have any issues with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,093 - 1,099 of 2,173 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2012

My daughter and I stayed here in October while she was visiting local colleges. Wow - what a find! This is now our New York hotel of choice. The staff was friendly and helpful. Every day they put together a list of suggested outings based on current events. They also provided a written guide for nearby restaurants, and will help you decide on the best choice for your preferences. There's a 24-hour Cuban place that was outstanding, two blocks away. The inn is one block from the subway and a block or so the other direction to the stunning High Line park and Chelsea Market. The rooms are cozy (read small), but comfortable, clean, and very quiet. They even have a back patio and garden to enjoy in the warmer months. The complimentary breakfast is a great deal. This is the perfect hotel in the perfect location to enjoy all that New York City has to offer without breaking the budget. Jay, the owner, even took a personal interest in my daughter's college search. And Charlie the cat the made us feel right at home.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoseCityTraveler543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

My wife and I stayed here in November and had a great time. The guys could not haver been more friendly and helpful. Location is great and they make very helpful suggestions of stuff to do in a newsletter every morning. Rooms are comfortable and fun.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ns247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We stayed here for five nights last month. Forget about enormous soulless hotels and stay at Chelsea Pines Inn - the location is top drawer and the staff are outstanding. There are loads of great places to eat and drink locally. Give the guys behind the desk an idea of what you want to do and they'll come up trumps - their recommendations didn't miss a beat. The metro is just down the street but there are plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance. Steer clear of the usual tourist traps further north at night and hang around here - this area is a great retreat of an evening. The rooms are comfortable, well serviced and clean (if you need a 42" plasma in the room on a trip to NYC, you're doing something wrong) and don't be put off by the absence of a lift, there are some great guys to do the heavy lifting for you.
This place goes to a lot of effort to make sure you enjoy your stay. The complimentary breakfast, cookies and coffee are a lovely touch.
We're going back, that's all there is to it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkandDebC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Chelsea Pines in late September to celebrate our anniversary. Our stay was so enjoyable that we have rebooked for February. The staff and customer service way exceeds any other hotel I've ever stayed. Jay knew it was our anniversary and I had a vase of roses put in our room. It was so sweet and thoughtful.
The hotel location is fanstastic. The rooms are fairly large and well kept. It feels more like a quaint B&B than a hotel. The atmosphere is fun and laid back. If you need a snack or a glass of wine you just go downstairs to the little kitchen and help yourself!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sherry North room, which faces the back courtyard. I was a nice size room and very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wonderlust1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I totally recommend this hotel. It is our second time at this hotel and in this case was to celebrate our honeymoon. The staff is especially attentive. Help for any questions on the city. The hotel is central, safe and very well decorated. The rooms are cleaned every day. The breakfast is great, everything is there! Fruit, pastries, coffee (Nespresso), ... super complete! Not hesitate to choose this hotel for your stay in the city.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoseSanchez_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I have stayed at the Chelsea Pines several times over the last few years and each time has been quite wonderful. The hotel is in a very cool location with a host of very pleasant bars and eateries nearby (and an Apple Store one block away...). Rooms are spacious, clean, nicely furnished and, most importantly for me, very quiet. The breakfast bar is relaxed and always well stocked and, as for the staff...I can honestly say I've never experienced such a warm and welcoming atmosphere. Jay, Al, Daniel, Trey and all at Chelsea Pines go out of their way to make one's stay in Manhattan a delightful one. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennycolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#46 of 471 in New York City
955 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 471 in New York City
728 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#133 of 471 in New York City
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#127 of 471 in New York City
3,666 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#76 of 471 in New York City
676 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#311 of 471 in New York City
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £85 - £469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing